We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb find - struck lucky with this hotel for the money & location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Dona Luisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Dona Luisa
Certificate of Excellence
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Superb find - struck lucky with this hotel for the money & location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

An excellent hotel, the rooms were spotless, all recently renovated. The room was far better than expected, above 3 star easily. Breakfast was basic but suitable. The. Booking site did say continental breakfast so no surprises.

Plan to return to same hotel, would have went back in August except accommodation organised already, will certainly return for a short break very soon.

Central location right on the beach, walking distance to puerto duquesa where there are lots and lots of bars, coffee shops and places to eat. Very relaxing location, it wasn't over run with tourists, quite like Monaco in its own way.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Jimmypirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    44
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
17
86
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

What a great find!

If you are looking for a relaxing family holiday with a real Spanish feel about it, then this would be the perfect setting! Sabinillas has not been spoilt by English/Irish bars, nor by endless tourist shops. It has some great Spanish tapas bars and restaurants, but there is a Burger King if you can't go without! There are some typically local Spanish shops, some larger supermarkets and a great Italian ice cream shop!

The hotel has recently been tastefully refurbished, and has a boutique style about it. Most rooms have a sea view and balcony. The hotel is family run, and they are very friendly. The receptionist is a lovley English girl who is fluent in Spanish should you need help! The gym had not been completed, but looked promising. Breakfast is served in the bar/cafe area.

Outside the beautiful long sandy beach is just a few steps away, and is so convenient to the hotel. The promenade has many bars and restaurants, and you can walk to La Duquesa port easily, which again has some lovely bars and restaurants.

A very relaxing break, and if flying into Gibraltar it is only about a 30 minute drive from the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank luv2holidayinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood Essex UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

This hotel has just been renovated since our last visit with lovely new bathrooms, with great powerful showers. It is excellent value, very clean ,excellent position. The staff are very polite and helpful.
They have introduced a continental breakfast, and small bar that overlooks the sea, all of which is very good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lynn03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We really enjoyed our 4 nights at this hotel. We had a corner room on the second floor, with a lovely view over the beach and the sea. The room was light, modern, comfortable and very clean, and had heating/air conditioning, a television with a good choice of Spanish channels, and a small fridge. We also had a balcony with chairs and a small table. The bathroom was immaculate, it looked like it had just been installed. The staff made us feel welcome, they were very friendly and helpful, and they spoke very good English. The hotel is right next to the beach and the Paseo Maritimo, and shops, restaurants and banks are close by. We had a great time and would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

We originally booked 3 nights at this hotel but loved it so much that we returned at the end of our trip for a further 4 nights. The family who own it speak perfect English and couldn't have been more helpful. The hotel is right on the beach with splendid views across the Med. The rooms are comfortable with modern bathrooms - there is Spanish TV, a welcome fridge and air con in the room. The town itself is a delight and has not been blighted by too many English - we quickly adjusted to the Spanish way of life and were able to practice our Spanish in the shops. They offer breakfast and coffee/drinks during the day but there is a proper cafe/restaurant next door if you don't want to wander far. We hope to return soon!

Room Tip: ask for a seaview with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank winchmoren21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis de Sabinillas
0.0 mi away
Don Agustin
Don Agustin
#2 of 2 in San Luis de Sabinillas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.1 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Don Juan
1.7 mi away
Villa Erina Park Hotel
Villa Erina Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manilva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Apartamentos Manilva Green
3.3 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
3.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Luisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Luisa

Property: Hotel Dona Luisa
Address: Calle Duquesa de Arcos 53., 29692 San Luis de Sabinillas, Manilva, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Manilva > San Luis de Sabinillas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Luis de Sabinillas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dona Luisa 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Dona Luisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing