We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Dona Luisa”
Review of Hotel Dona Luisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Dona Luisa
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hotel Dona Luisa”
Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

This is a very clean and well organised small hotel. It is right on the beach and although no car park there is parking available in the surrounding streets. The people who run it are friendly and the breakfast is adequate although a little repetitive.
Our only problem was the quietness of the area, there isn't a lot going on so if you don't have a car you would feel a bit stranded, and although on the beach if the sun doesn't shine there is nothing to do and so we left early but it's okay for a couple of days and the hotel is clean and modern.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    48
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
91
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Sabinillas is touristy but still holds charm and remains very local. You will find typical spanish local shops including a spanish wool shop. Thank goodness it hasn't been totally taken over by tourists like its neighbouring port La Duquesa.
As for this family run hotel which was the first hotel in Sabinillas and opened about 16 years ago, it was renovated in November 2011 and it looks great, clean and modern. I stayed in a seaview room in October (great time to go and its quiet), room 113, with LG flatscreen tv, spacious bathroom with hairdryer, plenty of freshly scented towels and stylish wash basin. The room is adequate in size, with a spacious wardrobe (more hangers perhaps) and has a long mirror (essential for the ladies). The room is not luxurious or super stylish with expensive furniture, egyptian cotton towels, fluffy pillows with expensive bed sheets, throws and cushions, Molton Brown products and lots of luxury services on offer. What it does have which some 4 or 5 star hotels don't have is luxury in terms of setting and panoramic views. I had a tiny balcony overlooking the hotels cafeteria and the beach right infront of you where I watched the sunrise everyday to the sound of the sea. I could almost touch it. That is luxury!

The staff are very pleasant and chilled. The cafeteria is lovely and offers a simple menu of hot drinks, cold drinks and alcohol and they offer a small but delicious variety of snacks called toasties with iberian ham and manchego cheese, smoked salmon and soft cheese etc. They also offer continental breakfast and croissants.
If I had to be negative about anything, I would say, that the door to all rooms in the hotel are not easy to close, they are hard to shut and therefore noisy. Also, as beneficial as it is to have a fridge in the room the noise of the fridge going on and off is slightly disturbing when your trying to sleep.

All in all, everything is done with love and care. I wish this family continued success with the hotel and I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra11-3-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed here for a night when we first moved to spain and found that our furniture had not arrived yet. So we booked in peak season at very short notice and were surprised to find such a nice place.

Situated right on the beach promenade in Sabinillas, the hotel has a nice sea facing patio bar outside which serves meals and drinks. 1 Euro a beer makes it worth a visit.

We were given a free upgrade to a sea view room when we checked in, great value for 55 euros in high season. The room was a good size and had all the amenities you would expect. Bed was comfy and the bathroom was very modern and well equipped. The doors are all heavy and noisy so you did hear them all being slammed as people came in for the evening.

Breakfast was not included but is very reasonably priced and served on the patio. A continental breakfast cost around 2 euros.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room away from the stairs if possible. Try a higher floor if you are sensitive to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockinrodders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorca, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My partner and I have stayed here before and enjoyed the beach front location and great prices. This time we noticed our sea view room had been completely refurbished and the bathroom in particular was first class! We love the quiet location, free street parking, ease of access and the sound of waves on the beach in our room. The hotel is right on the promenade with uninterrupted sea views and nice balconies. The Internet access via wifi was very fast which makes all the difference for us. The prices are very reasonable and now they have a nice free breakfast, served overlooking the sea.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alastairsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clonakilty
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed for 7 nights and really enjoyed this hotel. Hotel is located on the seafront and is convenient to restaurants, shops, church and taxi rank. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was very clean and newly refurbished. We did not book a room with a sea view but nevertheless we had an excellent view of sea and streets. Room was large and comfortable having a large bathroom with a good shower and it was cleaned properly every day. Room had a nice balcony and the small fridge in the room was perfect for keeping a few bottles of white wine from the nearby supermarket cool for drinking on the balcony. Continental breakfast could be eaten in the dining room or promenade and consisted of toasted bread roll, cheese, ham, marmalade, orange juice and coffee & this got every day off to a good start. This hotel is excellent value for money and we plan to return to this hotel again next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmk89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed here and loved it. The owner was friendly, chatty(in Spanish) and made us feel most welcome. Great position right on the sea front and paseo and I loved the morning tostada's at breakfast time.

As far as the review by JoanaOC is concerned, I suggest that she either does not speak Spanish or was rude herself. Of course the hotel kept her passport as it is the law in Spain.

This hotel is great and you should try it, it more than warrants the 3 stars that it has.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel because of the good reviews. The first thing we noticed when we arrived was the difficulty in finding parking. The second thing we noticed was that the hotel receptionist refused to smile and asked us to come down later to collect our passports (which is always a little unnerving).
However, when we saw the room, we were delighted and we received our passports a little later.
What happened next will stay with us forever as a reminder of the worst treatment we ever received by a staff member in the hospitality sector anywhere.
The hotel was advertised with Wifi internet available so we asked the receptionist for the wifi passport, which he gave us. We entered the password but could not get internet so we contacted the receptionist. Only then, did he tell us that internet was not available in the rooms due to a technical problem but that it was available in the cafeteria.
We went down to the cafeteria with our lap top but still couldn't get internet so we called over the receptionist.
His attitude was that he had internet on his computer in his office and it was our problem if we could not pick it up on our computer.
We told him that the main reason we booked a room at his hotel is because it advertised that it had internet and this was very important to us as we required it for business reasons. We asked him when he thought the internet will be fixed and he said he could have someone out in half an hour to get it working. We said okay, we can wait one hour but otherwise we have to find another hotel. He said fine but you still have to pay for the room and got angry and went back to his desk (at this point we were only there 15 minutes).
We followed him to reception and politely explained that this was false advertising and that he was being very rude to us but he didn't care and said he was calling the police (and spoke to us like we were criminals).
At this point his colleague arrived and swiped our computer from us, entered some codes and got us internet. Even though he was more polite than his colleague, his attitude was now you have internet so what's your problem and we explained to him what happened and how rude his colleague was but he just smiled and left.

We went to our room very upset as we are respectable and respectful people who were treated like muck. Our major problem was not the lack of internet (which in itself would make our stay very difficult), it was the appalling way we were treated when we tried to address the problem.

Apart from that we had a nice evening in a local restaurant and tried to put the bad experience behind us.
Unfortunately, the bed in the hotel was very lumpy (making it difficult to sleep) and the breakfast (included in the price) was just coffee, orange juice and toast.

Room Tip: We would not recommend a room in this hotel as in our experience, the customer service is antagonist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jole70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis de Sabinillas
0.0 mi away
Don Agustin
Don Agustin
#2 of 2 in San Luis de Sabinillas
88 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apartamentos Manilva Green
1.7 mi away
Villa Erina Park Hotel
Villa Erina Park Hotel
#1 of 10 in Manilva
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
867 reviews
2.1 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Don Juan
2.1 mi away
Hotel Piedra Paloma
Hotel Piedra Paloma
#16 of 35 in Estepona
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Luisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Luisa

Property: Hotel Dona Luisa
Address: Calle Duquesa de Arcos 53., 29692 San Luis de Sabinillas, Manilva, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Manilva > San Luis de Sabinillas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Luis de Sabinillas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dona Luisa 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Dona Luisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing