We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hotel in a beautiful village”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Soglio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Palazzo Salis
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Soglio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2012

It has been a while since I staid at this hotel, but at the time I was not active on TripAdvisor, so I did not write a review. However, the (bad) experience has stayed with me, and I write this review now.

We stayed a weekend with another couple in the autumn of 2010. The town of Soglio is amazing and the building itself is great and has a lot of charm. The rooms are quite big (the ones I saw), but very cold, and the furniture a mixture of antique and something picked up from a jumble sale. The worst part of this place is the owner. Incredibly rude man. The service on a whole was non-existent. This place is not really a hotel, it is closer to a B&B.

We also dined in the restaurant one evening, and the food was very good, but overpriced - just like this place. The only reason I do not rate it 'terrible' is because of the charm of the village and the building that houses this "hotel". Can not recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2011

We just returned from 17 days hiking around Switzerland (6 adults)...and Soglio exceeded all expectations...what an amazing village. My friend Terry said it best...he said he has always wanted to "go back in time"...he said, "we did it." The village was just perfect, the hiking was amazing....and the Hotel Palazzo Salis is the place to stay. First, ignore the shutter island review/comments...very funny and creative, but off the mark. This place is old, historic and beautiful. If you're looking for a Marriott Marquis, then don't visit Soglio. If you want to expeience a village and a culture that has not be destroyed by "progress", then you'll love Soglio (and Guarda...spend some time in the Hotel Meisser as well!!!).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matt723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

The Palazzo Salis is a completely authentic and preserved old palace in the wonderful village of Soglio, at the small Italian end of Switzerland, a 45 min drive from St. Moritz. The wooden and painted rooms are all unique and did not really change since the 19th century, there is a beautiful park behind the building, and exquisite meals are served in the medieval dinner hall of the 1st floor. The whole small town of Soglio has been left completely untouched by mass tourism and yet has been a peripheric perl of tourism to the nearby Engadin for many decades, to be reached only with the yellow post bus or through the scenic hiking trail starting at Maloja. For day tourist: just stop here to have coffee and cake in the hotel's café.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LuKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

We were extremely disappointed by our room at the Palazzo Salis. We hoped to have one of the beautiful rooms on the web-site - all old panelling and antique furniture - and what we got was a dreary attic. The furniture could have come from a jumble sale, the bottom half of the door had been repaired with a sheet of bare hardboard, the bathroom was primitive, it was hard to see out of the small dormer windows, the flimsy curtains didn't meet in the middle. Everything had been done on the cheap.

We were also disappointed by the garden at the back. Gardens are supposed to be tranquil places where you can relax. The first thing you see at Palazzo Salis is a cast-iron pole with a notice on top setting out the rules and regulations you are ordered to obey - just as if you were entering a municipal park. You expect it to list the fine - so many Swiss francs - for walking on the grass.

The dirt bothered us a little. Normally hotels in Switzerland are so clean you could eat off the floors. At Palazzo Salis the family portraits in the public rooms are so blackened - they need cleaning so badly - you can hardly see the faces. If you look at the backs of the pictures from above - they hang out from the wall at an angle - you see three hundred years of dust and grime. There is a fine line between 'authenticity' and squalour.

Palazzo Salis has no parking: in fact the whole village is a no-parking zone. You have to park in the municipal car-park at the entrance to the village and feed the meter. If there is no space left - we got the last one - I don't know what you do. You can't park on the side of the road up to the village: it's zig-zag bends up a mountain-side. Then you hump your bags up steep cobbled lanes - which are very slippery if it rains - from the bottom of the village to the top.

The village is 'different' from all the other villages I have seen in Switzerland. Every village in the Engadine valley is a picture postcard - each one prettier than the last. Every house is beautifully painted, every garden is immaculately maintained, every window-box is full of flowers. The streets exude prosperity, order, well-being. At Soglio half the houses are derelict. Several of them are empty shells without windows or floors. You have the impression that the villagers emigrated en masse, throwing away the keys as they left. It looks like a ghost village. On a dark, stormy day, it exudes poverty and decay.

When I said to the owner that we would like to cancel the second and third night of our three-night booking, she told us - several times over, in two or three different languages - that 'We had a contract' and must pay for all three nights even if we only stayed for one. I protested that the hotel had hardly kept their side of the contract: that they should have provided a room in keeping with their web-site and the price they were charging. It was no use: it wasn't the first time she had used the 'we have a contract' argument. In the end, she wore me down. In a moment of weakness I agreed to stay one night and pay for two if we were 'let off' the third. The result: the highest price I ever paid for a night in a hotel, and the worst value for money. I see now how the Salis family treated their peasant-tenants when they didn't pay their rents.

We left in a rain-storm after breakfast. It was so dark - the clouds had come down to touch the ground - night could have been falling. As we stumbled back down the cobbles, with water gushing in the gutters, we gradually realised that two slightly sinister-looking men were following us. They were flitting through the twilight from one derelict house to the next. As they got closer we realised - from their faces and their movements - that they were almost certainly long-stay psychiatric patients out for the day. I thought, at the time, that they might have come from the ghostly hospital which is hidden among pine-trees at the start of the road up to the village. It probably wasn't the case. But you see the kind of thoughts that spring into your mind as you make your escape from Palazzo Salis.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank OldEnglishParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2006

Soglio has a magic to it that can only be experienced by walking its' narrow alleys and enjoying the breathtaking scenery around it from nearby perches. Though there are a couple other small hotels in the town, I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere but here. It was built in 1630 by Knight Baptist Von Salis, expanded a bit and renovated in a way to accomodate guests, such as adding small bathrooms, but never compromising the feel of the elegant old palace that was home to this aristocratic family. Many art artifacts, sculptures, paintings and murals fill the halls and rooms. In our richly paneled room, #9, was an original bed from the 1600's with Baptist's name carved in the headboard. It didn't squeak or rattle a bit- fine construction! The place is filled with priceless antiques, and you feel very much lost in time strolling the grounds and wandering through the mansion. The gardens in back are stunning and are shaded by massive trees. There's a small playground for children, and at any time goats may descend the hill clanging their bells and greeting visitors. This is a perfect spot for an afternoon lunch- the pasta is wonderful. Same for dinner in a cheery dining room; the dishes are incredible and Italian influences are dominant.There are no TVs, radios or phones in the room. Not luxury by any means, but cozy. The hotel usually had people out front drinking and sharing stories well into the night. That's about as lively as it gets in town, thankfully. We were greeted warmly by owner Monica Cicognani and a great staff. Although we spent a lot of time taking incredible hikes from here, one may be just as happy relaxing in the gardens and enjoying a book in the shade.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank LLindaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bru_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank colettez326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soglio
6 mi away
Hotel Albergo Aurora
Hotel Albergo Aurora
#3 of 5 in Chiavenna
96 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel San Lorenzo
Hotel San Lorenzo
#1 of 5 in Chiavenna
189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Stua Granda
Hotel Stua Granda
#1 of 2 in Soglio
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
La Soglina
La Soglina
#2 of 2 in Soglio
25 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Salis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Salis

Address: Villaggio 131 | 7610 Soglio, Soglio 7610, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Soglio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Soglio
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive. And lose track of time. A unique place, 1098 meters above sea level, far away from everday life. At the heart of the pristine mountain village Soglio in the Bregaglia valley, the hotel and restaurant Palazzo Salis welcomes you. The hotel, surrounded by a beautiful historical garden, has 14 individually decorated rooms with the charm of days gone by. In the kitchen the ordinary is turned into something special. With great respect to the products, fresh, delightful, local. Meals are served in the impressive dining hall, during summer in the garden between boxwood hedges or on the terrace with the unique view of the Sciora group mountains. The Palazzo Salis radiates Grandezza and is an insider tip amongst the lovers of authentic culture, cuisine and cellar. The team around Monika Müller and Christian Speck caters for a carefree and comfortable vacation and recreation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing