We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country cottage perfection”
Review of Brook Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brook Farm
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed in Brook Farm in Berrington for 6 days in total - 3 in their B&B and 3 in the Hop Picker's House and had a fantastic, relaxing time. Sarah and Willy are incredibly convivial hosts, and make you feel totally at home.

So, starting with the B&B: there are only two rooms in the B&B and you essentially have one half of their sizeable cottage at your disposal. Our bedroom was incredibly comfortable with a big double bed with great big heavy blankets - vital given it was a very rainy and pretty cold August week. The room is decorated rather whimsically to perfectly suit the country cottage garden setting.

As guests you have access to a wonderful living room with a whole library of books, roaring wood burning stove and an endless supply of home made damson vodka, tea and coffee - we spent an inordinate amount of time reading and sleeping in its warmth.

Breakfast is home cooked by Sarah, and all the ingredients are either locally sourced - honey, bacon, Shropshire granola - or grown in their overflowing garden, which is a reason to visit all in itself.

The Hop Picker's House is one of their two self-catering cottages and once again has been thoughtfully renovated and decorated. The big country kitchen takes up the ground floor with a large kitchen table, wood burning stove and rocking chairs. Upstairs, the bedroom and en suite bathroom take up the whole first floor, with an extremely comfortable four poster bed.

All in all, Brook Farm is the perfect place to relax - whether that's eating a home cooked meal, reading by the fire or pottering about in the garden. At the same time you're only 15 minutes drive from Ludlow and a host of restaurants, antique shops and pubs; if you're feeling energetic, then walks along Carding Mill Valley or further afield to Offa's Dyke will keep you more than occupied.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiBurgess79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarahwint, Owner at Brook Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you! It was a pleasure to have you both here - we're so lucky with our guests. Thanks for describing it so well for others - just have to live up to it now! Sarah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Chosen due to the other excellent reviews we stayed here for one night. Welcomed with home made scones and tea in the delightful gardens, which we spent ages exploring. Even got to visit the sound therapy rooms which were lovely. The lovely owner booked a great restaurant for us, which was a few mins drive away. On our return the fire was lit in the lounge and complimentary night caps were on hand. Our room was huge as was the seperate bathroom. Very pretty property which was decorated beautifully and one of the nicest B&B's we've stayed in. My only tiny niggle was I found the mattress too firm (am used to memory foam at home). But that's just me!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kyera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarahwint, Owner at Brook Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you! Especially glad you enjoyed the garden :-) and found the Sound Sanctuary! We now have Vicky Argyle in The Rose Room offering reiki, reflexology and holistic massage too so we're hoping the place will become even more of a relaxing retreat. Thanks so much for taking the time to write. Sarah .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at Brook Farm recently for 2 nights and loved it. We lead busy lives living near London and we found staying here so relaxing. Sarah is a very good host and cooked some lovely breakfasts for us which kept us going for most of the day and she prepared a delicious platter with local cider one evening when we had a night in. We explored the lovely gardens and came across 2 friendly donkeys, cat's and chickens. We would love to stay again in the Winter as it would be very cosy with the log fire and to enjoy the ambience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PinkySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarahwint, Owner at Brook Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your review and glad to hear you will be coming back - yes it is very cosy in the winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Arrived late on Fri evening and were met by Sarah with an excellent farmhouse platter, complete with cider, in front on the fire - an idyllic reception and couldn't ask for anything more after a long drive. The farmhouse is very quaint, the rooms in the main house are full of character, very comfortable and one couldn't ask for more (unless of course you can't survive without Wi-Fi or plasma tvs, in which case look elsewhere!). Breakfast was brilliant, all locally sourced food, perfectly cooked. After breakfast a stroll around the garden (wellies provided) showed what an inspirational place they have - worth the visit for the garden alone. Come and stay - especially if you are from overseas and want a quintessential English experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarahwint, Owner at Brook Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for that - glad you enjoyed the platter! It's nice not to have to throw people straight out again to find food after a long journey :-)
Did we have a problem with the Wifi? We do have Wifi here but occasionally it gets a bit lost on the country lanes....
Anyway, thanks for coming and writing a lovely review. We appreciate it very much. Sarah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We rented Hop Pickers House for a long weekend whilst visiting the Malvern show and had a fantastic time. We loved the decor and the good quality furnishings in the house and enjoyed some lovely walks around Sarah & Willy's gorgeous grounds, meeting the friendly donkeys, sheep, cats & dogs along the way!

The breakfast hamper of local goodies was perfect and Willy shared some of the local cider too which was very tasty. Willy was also very helpful with recommendations of places to visit and eat nearby and helped us out with local maps which enabled us to enjoy a 6 mile ramble taking in some fabulous apple orchards in full blossom.

We loved relaxing on the rocking chairs by the log burner in the evening, listening to the music thoughtfully supplied on the iPod in the house. We came away thoroughly relaxed after a lovely weekend stay at Brook Farm and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We only saw Hop Pickers, however can thoroughly recommend this as a very spacious cottage for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neetsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarahwint, Owner at Brook Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Many thanks indeed for sending a lovely review. Sounds like Willy did a good job looking after you - I expect I had my head in a flowerbed somewhere! It's probably about time I also shared reviews with my lovely ladies who help me run the place - Liz and Tracy. We couldn't do it without them and they do it all with a smile too. So glad that the whole team made your stay enjoyable. Thanks again. Sarah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Have just returned from a two night stay at Brook Farm with my friend Sally. What a stunning place in the country. We took the two rooms in the farmhouse. They were decorated and furnished beautifully, as were the bathrooms.

Sarah welcomed us on our arrival with a welcoming cup of tea and one of her lovely homemade cakes, delicious.

We had the use of our own lounge with a roaring log burner, very cosy. Tea and coffee provided and the very yummy homemade damson vodka.

Breakfasts were beautifully cooked and presented and made with local ingredients.

Outside the gardens are a wonderful haven to relax and wander around.

Sarah and Willie are great hosts and very helpful in making any arrangements and recommending places to visit.

I would highly recommend a stay at Book Farm and would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheilsMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarahwint, Owner at Brook Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you Sheila! The damson vodka makes an appearance in a review again! Hope we have a good crop this year else our ratings might go down! Lovely to have you both here and so glad you had a great weekend. Sarah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We arrived early evening after a long drive in an old car from London and our hosts came out to meet us and helped us park and unload. When inside their beautiful house we were offered a drink either tea, coffee or a glass of wine. We chose the wine which we had in their separate very comfortable guests' lounge after which Sarah our host helped us choose a local restaurant for dinner and kindly booked the table for us. In the morning we were served tea in our room and later we had an excellent breakfast with much of the food, including the bread home made.
We stay twice both times for one night on the way to and from North Wales and would have no hesitation in returning to or recommending Brook Farm.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarahwint, Owner at Brook Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your review - it was a pleasure to have your lovely old car in the drive - as well as have you stay as guests obviously! Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenbury Wells hotels
5 mi away
Talbot Inn
Talbot Inn
#1 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
287 reviews
2.2 mi away
No photo provided
Rose & Crown
#4 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
11 reviews
0 mi away
Wigley Orchard Holiday Park
Wigley Orchard Holiday Park
#3 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hidden Valley Camping
Hidden Valley Camping
#2 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
8 reviews
1.5 mi away
St Michaels Holiday Park
St Michaels Holiday Park
#5 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Farm

Address: Brook Farm Hayes Lane | Berrington, Tenbury Wells WR15 8TJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Tenbury Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tenbury Wells
Price Range: £73 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality B and B in the 16th-century farmhouse, set in eight acres of gardens, woodlands and meadows, in the heart of The Welsh Marches, close to Ludlow's restaurants. There are two bedrooms with their own bathrooms, a separate dining room and a guest sitting room with book-lined shelves and a wood burning stove. We have two one bedroom self catering cottages (the Hen House and the HopPickers) in the grounds, where dogs are welcome. We are keen gardeners, and our garden has featured on the front cover of the National Garden Scheme guide, and in English Garden magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brook Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Farm Tenbury Wells, Worcestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing