We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best B&B we've ever stayed at”
Review of Brook Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brook Farm
UK
Level Contributor
215 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Probably the best B&B we've ever stayed at”
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Everything you read in the other TripAdvisor reviews is true. Our visit combined personal R&R with the annual Marketing & Strategy meeting for my business as a freelance Gloucestershire copywriter. The weekend was perfect on both counts: a relaxing retreat in the country, just over an hour's drive from our home; and an escape from the office so we could review and plan my business with clear heads and no distractions. We were so impressed with the warm welcome, lovely food, peaceful location and generosity shown by Sarah and William. From the tea and cakes on arrival, to the box of free-range eggs we were given as we left, every little detail was perfect. We had a wonderful weekend at Brook Farm and would definitely come back again – either as B&B guests or to stay in the charming Henhouse.

Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarahwint, Owner at Brook Farm, responded to this review, 9 February 2011
Thanks Al & Jan for your wonderful comments and I'm so glad you were able to get the peace and rest you needed. It will be lovely to see you back here again some time. Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
62
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Street, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2011

I am not normally one to give 5 out of 5 in every category, but we had a truly fantastic stay.

We really wanted to stay in the Hen House, but we booked our holiday for the week of the food festival (really not sure how we hadn't realised!) so the Hen House was booked later in the week, so we got the best of both worlds. Sarah let us stay in the Henhouse for a couple of days, then helped us move all of our things over. I can really say Sarah and Willy could not do enough for us.

The attention to detail in the Hen House was amazing, with a fridge stocked full of breakfast goodies, fresh bread etc. We had a really relaxing time.

Then we moved to the main house. The private lounge for guests was set up for us each day when we got home, with books galore, cakes, tea and coffee. It was beautifully warm. I can still remember the breakfasts several months later - scrambled eggs - amazing.

I can't wait to go back, when it hopefully wouldn't be quite as wet so we can enjoy the garden and all the recommended walks a bit more.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarahwint, Owner at Brook Farm, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Thank you so much for such a great review. Do come back again when the garden is drier and looking lovely! A bit hard to imagine at the moment on this wet January day, but there is sign of life out there already. Many thanks again, Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

We arrived- eventually, having slavishly followed our satnav and driven past, called Brook Farm, turned around and entered through the wooden double gates. We parked close to the donkey stable, which looked as if the three kings were due at any moment.

Sarah welcomed us with tea and mince pies in her beautiful sitting room, sparkly clean cats and dogs arranged themselves artfully- a glance in any direction was a Country Living vintage photo, with fab fabrics, book shelves, bits and pieces, comfy chairs and sumptuous sofas.

We LOVED the guest sitting room with the wall of books (we had always wanted to read) the damson vodka, log fire and local, homemade TOFFEES. We slumped in there for several hours- something we never do at home.

Our bedroom was large, warm and beautiful, with a private bathroom next door. Crisp cool cotton bed linen and a very comfortable bed meant it was incredibly difficult to get up in the morning.

The table in the separate breakfast room was so pretty with vintage china, old silver honey spoons and a great view of the garden with multicoloured FAT chickens. Breakfast of local, organic and delicious goodies (the pecan nuts, honey and yoghurt, and really good sausage were favourites) although the scrummy, homemade orange muffins were a great starter.

High points of our stay were:
Wandering around Sarah and Willy's private valley, with hidden views and convoluted paths leading back to the garden with potager and really interesting planting
Tasting Willy's homemade vinegar- wow!! cough splutter- yesssss!
Meeting the donkeys and the sheep- and the terribly well behaved and tolerant dogs and the cats
The helpful map of Ludlow scribbled on a sheet of paper with recommendations of where to shop and eat (all spot on!)
The fact that this nice little place is truly a sustainable place to stay, with a deep ingrained care of visitors and the planet- Sarah and Willy do it all, they just don't shout about it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beechenhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarahwint, Owner at Brook Farm, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
What lovely comments you have made. If there was a management review of reviews I'd give you 10 out of 10 for every category! So glad you enjoyed everything and very much hope to see you here again soon. Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2010

You really do not get any choice but to 'relax and kick back' we invaded Sarah and William's place for a family get together.
My mother, brother, sister in law & 6 year old niece stayed in the farm house whilst I stayed in the delightful 'Hen House' (one bedroom converted donkey stables in the garden). We were all entranced; my niece collected the eggs, fed the sheep and groomed the donkeys with Sarah whilst I curled up in the guest lounge with my sister in law in front of the wood burner sampling her home made cakes and Damson Gin.
Breakfast in a separate dining room was a feast, eggs collected a few minutes earlier by my niece, copious amounts of coffee & porridge cooked in the AGA.
The platter of local cheeses and cider was so welcome when we arrived, if you want a romantic break or a friends/ family reunion with fantastic laid back welcoming hosts, then I suggest Brook Farm may be the place for you. (If you are a gardening fanatic they are in the Yellow book 2011 with their garden open at the end of June).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarahwint, Owner at Brook Farm, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Sorry I've been so slow to respond to your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have such a friendly family to stay and not like work at all. I hope you all agree it is the best half-way house for you to meet again - next time we'll see if your niece fancies a ride on the donkeys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2010

I won't repeat other reviews that you will find elsewhere on the web including Trip Advisor, Sawday's and a very detailed review fron the States that I haven't been able to find again. But believe me, all of those compliments are very well deserved !!!

I really don't know how Sarah and Will do it, but they go way beyond just meeting a
check list of equipment, etc that should be provided to meet the
requirements of any star rating. The result is something that can really
only be called a 'home from home'.

We've stayed in lots of hotels over the years, ranging up to the very best,
and have never really had that sort of feeling about a place before.

And all in a cottage that could have come from the pages of Country Living
.... Sue was in second heaven !!

She's already planning her next trip. She had no idea that the Marches were
such a great place or that there would be so much to do!!

If you need an excuse to visit, just visit the Brook Farm web-site; it's stacked with Sarah's personal recommendations of things to do, places to visit, places to eat ..... !!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_and_Sue_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarahwint, Owner at Brook Farm, responded to this review, 27 October 2010
Well thank you so much Ian & Sue - we're so glad you had a lovely time. We do seem to have very very nice guests at our 'very very nice little place' which makes it a real pleasure to have you to stay. Thank you for taking the trouble to write such a wonderful review here. Glad to hear Sue is planning your next trip- see you then! Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

The three of us (me, my parnter Mark and our dog Baxter) had been looking forward to our long weekend away for months so when we pulled up at Brook Farm we were very excited!

We were greeted by Sarah and her lovely dogs who showed us down a garden path to the Hen House, our home for the weekend. The Hen House is beatuiful! A little converted outbuilding which is as charming as it is comfortable. Decorated to perfection and full of intricate little touches the Hen House is a truly lovely place to stay.

As we explored we found Sarah had thought of everything, toiletries you may have forgotte, tea, coffee, milk, and some local produce to make sure you didn't go hungry on your first morning. Mark said it was the best breakfast he'd ever eaten!

The grounds were equally as impressive. Lots of little paths, nooks and hideaways made us feel like we were exploring the real life Secret Garden. Down one of the many paths we discovered Sarah's two donkeys who appreciated an apple or two. Venturing a bit further we found perfect spots to enjoy an evening glass of wine (though unfortunately our plans on this front were thwarted by the weather).

For our first night, Sarah recomended some dog friendly establishments we might like to try for dinner. We ended up opting for the Ship in Tenbury Wells. Our dinner was fantastic and very reasonably priced. That set the tone for a weekend taht was full of foodie treats including a trip to Ludlow food centre and a couple of visits to the Green Cafe in Ludlow which is set on the riverside and serves extremely tasty food.

We don't get to go away very often so when we do, we always want it to be special. The Hen House at Brook Farm is just that.

Thank you Sarah

Claire, Mark & Baxter

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrtlegirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We took over Brook Farm for 2 nights as a group of 6 for a family get together.
We stayed in The Hen House and my cousins stayed in the main cottage.
The Hen House has a large kitchen area and lounge. It has a double bedroom and bathroom with shower over. It is light and airy and has lots of character, retaining all the old roof timbers.
In the cottage The Green room has a double bed in a large room and a bathroom with separate shower. The Blue room also has a double bed and bathroom with shower over.
Sarah normally only caters for 4 on a B+B basis as The Hen House is self Catering, but she provided us all with a fantastic breakfast including local sausage and bacon and eggs from her own hens.
There is a separate dining room and guests' sitting room which has a very cosy feel with wood burning stove and VERY comfy sofas.
The cottge is set in 8 acres and if you wanted to you could stay in the garden all day it is so peaceful.
Thank you Sarah we all had a great weekend, but just to let you know the reunion has already been mentioned so hide the Damson Vodka !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notts_Slatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenbury Wells
5.6 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
4.2 mi away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Talbot Inn
Talbot Inn
#1 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
271 reviews
2.2 mi away
No photo provided
Rose & Crown
#4 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
8 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Hills Farm
The Hills Farm
#1 of 1 in Leysters
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Farm

Property: Brook Farm
Address: Brook Farm Hayes Lane | Berrington, Tenbury Wells WR15 8TJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Tenbury Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tenbury Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality B and B in the 16th-century farmhouse, set in eight acres of gardens, woodlands and meadows, in the heart of The Welsh Marches, close to Ludlow's restaurants. There are two bedrooms with their own bathrooms, a separate dining room and a guest sitting room with book-lined shelves and a wood burning stove. We have two one bedroom self catering cottages (the Hen House and the HopPickers) in the grounds, where dogs are welcome. We are keen gardeners, and our garden has featured on the front cover of the National Garden Scheme guide, and in English Garden magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Brook Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Farm Tenbury Wells, Worcestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing