We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better (evening meal)”
Review of The Fountain Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tenbury Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fountain Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I went with friends for a casual evening meal. We got a friendly welcome and the service was kind and attentive, but both the "real ales" were "off" leaving me as a beer drinker with no option but "keg" or "bottled". To run out of one ale could be forgiven but to be out of both shows poor management somewhere. The steaks were fine and correctly cooked to order but the fish and chips was well overcooked, with the batter dark brown and hard.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaffer837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for The Fountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

My family and I had the great pleasure of staying here recently, the accommodation was clean, comfortable and well equipped. The staff were incredibly polite and helpful - nothing was too much trouble.

If you are looking for a quaint, oldy, worldly place to stay, then look no further The Fountain Inn is full of charm. The grounds are super with a totally enclosed grassed garden which hosts a kiddies play area which is completely safe and well maintained.

Breakfast was lovely and everyone was catered for according to their dietary requirements.

You are on our list to revisit. Many thanks

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dmartindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We went for a meal at the fountain on bank holiday Monday. As a family with small children (18mths and 5yrs) we always struggle to find somewhere suitable that we can sit and relax knowing the children are safe and enjoying themselves too. That is until we went to the fountain. The garden area is superb, large trampoline and adventure house with swing and slide which the children loved, aswell as plenty of room to run around, but the best part was that we were able to sit out with the children and be able to see them wherever they were playing. As for the meal well that was fabulous too and very reasonably priced. The staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon, we will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sammig82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have used this Inn several times over many years but recently before visiting friends in Tenbury Wells, we needed to eat. We rang The Fountain at very short notice on a Saturday evening to see if they had a table for two and fully expected them to say no. Fortunately, they were able to accommodate us and we arrived within the hour. We had a table in the main bar area by the fire, which suited us very well. We chose the gammon steak with chips, mushrooms, onion rings and tomato which arrived quite quickly after ordering and had been freshly cooked. It was delicious. Most of the meats are locally sourced and are a good quality. The local ale is kept in very good order. Staff were friendly and attentive even though there was a hen party being set up in the function room at the rear of the building. Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindyloo5200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Stopped off at this pub on route to ludlow. A place with a lot of history and even a resident ghost! We recieved a very warm and friendly welcome. There was a good selection of food on menu and a specials board. The prices were very reasonable. There was background music being played but it wasn't too loud, so we were able to have a conversation easily. The food was freshly cooked and didn't take long to arrive. Excellent value for money, we were very pleased with our meals, both quality and quantity wise.The atmosphere was great and the staff friendly, polite and helpful. There is also a function room and it does accomodation (although we didn't stay over so cannot say what that was like). The garden is quite big and in the summer it would be lovely to sit outside where there are tables situated. Plenty of parking available. Families are very welcome here and they take telephone bookings for tables. Real local ale is available. Will definately be returning for another meal in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We recently visited the Fountain for a family birthday. We are local and regularly use the Fountain. As always the food is ok, nothing fancy, the service however I feel is always lacking but I guess you have to expect this when the average age of the work force is 15. The service behind the bar was excellent, confident and very welcoming. The food took two hours for a 2 course meal but there were 12 of us, a majority of us having roast beef. A couple of points that are reoccurring are 1. The children's meals are never brought first (ending in me having to deal with my daughter and cut her food up whilst mine goes cold) desserts are the same. 2. We always have to ask for horseradish sauce on a Sunday and it always comes out at the end when half the table have already started eating. 3. The top half of the table had already got their beef so the young waitress put the veg at the other end of the table. 3. No one ever comes and asks if we would like drinks. 4. There is never a check back after a few minutes to ask if we need anything else. The heating had gone off so was quite cold in the conservatory and we had to ask for it to be turned on. We were the last only people in there when we had finished our lunch and it took about 25 mins to clear our plates. These are all easily rectified with a bit of training and maybe a management presence. There is also never any music so if it isn't very busy it lacks atmosphere.
The location is good if there are a few of you as there is plenty Of parking and the kids have lots of space to play outside when its sunny and you can watch them through the window. The toilets are clean and well stocked. The Yorkshire puddings were fab!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank BikerchickLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Enjoyed meal good price. It's pub food and nothing to jump up and down about. There is parking and a fountain. The building looks nice and it seems clean. The layout of the pub is nice with different sections to choose.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 12karen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tenbury Wells hotels
3.5 mi away
Talbot Inn
Talbot Inn
#1 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
282 reviews
1.7 mi away
Brook Farm
Brook Farm
#4 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
78 reviews
1.3 mi away
St Michaels Holiday Park
St Michaels Holiday Park
#5 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Rose & Crown
#4 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wigley Orchard Holiday Park
Wigley Orchard Holiday Park
#2 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
16 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hidden Valley Camping
Hidden Valley Camping
#3 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Address: Oldwood, Tenbury Wells WR15 8TB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Tenbury Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tenbury Wells
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Fountain Inn Tenbury Wells, Worcestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing