We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inside not as good as outside”
Review of The Fountain Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tenbury Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Fountain Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Hurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Inside not as good as outside”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Called in for a pint and late lunch on a bank holiday Sunday, there was a function on and we were advised there would be a delay which was fine. The food when it arrived was nice and very reasonably priced, the bar area seems very sterile and does not really match the exterior but the Hobsons was a nice pint and the staff were very friendly although stressed. The garden an play area were very clean and great for the kids.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JCWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    27
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
45
11
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed for 1 night, the rooms were on the small side but very nicely decorated and furnished.
We ate in the Inn and the food we had was very good and reasonably priced, we both had the Mushroom Stroganoff, mine with rice and my husbands with chips, we both also had the Lemon Sponge which was very light and tasty.
The breakfast in the morning was of a good standard and had nice sausage not cheap nasty ones like some places we have stayed.
Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: all rooms are separate from the Inn, so don't think there will be any 'good' or 'bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank octopussied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Although this is a pleasant enough pub, the lunchtime menu offers little for vegetarians, compared with the choice for meat eaters. Only 1 person seemed to be on duty to run the bar and wait tables. It was the cheap midweek deals menu.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andfab2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We are new to this area of the country and were staying with friends. Popped in for lunch, friendly welcome and a good selection of beers. I tried the foot long hotdog which was deliciuos, and definitely a foot long! My wife had a mushroom omlette which she thoroughly enjoyed, while our friends tucked into chicken, bacon and mayo sandwiches. The food was well presented and the service prompt. The prices represented good value for money. This pub is a little out of the way, but worth finding.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broadhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My Cousin had his Wedding reception here in September. On arrival we thought what a pretty place, great for photos, which it was. But under the surface it wasn't all it seemed, staff were disorganised (for a wedding) Buffet lunch was lovely.
But unfortunately my Cousin special day was tainted buy someone helping their selves to approx 9 wedding cards containing money :( how disappointing for their 1st day as Mr & Mr...
The Fountain mite I add charged them for the use of the wedding post box, which the Fountain left out on a table all nite for someone to help their selves too... Surely if a couple have spent so much money booking a wedding with a pub/hotel then surely the venue would be responsible to remove the post box to a safer place out of reach of other guest, until the morning after the wedding.
Giving it to the new Mr & Mrs their selves...
Disappointed that this terrible incident still hasn't been settle a month on..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sade179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We go to the fountain on a regular basis - whether it be Sunday lunch or a meal out! We are always welcomed and the food is always lovely. We take the kids and nothing is too much trouble for the staff! A lovely place to eat with fabulous staff!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxton, notts, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Fountain Inn where we stayed in the bridal
suite which was wonderful, clean and comfortable with jacuzzi bath. We ate both evenings
there and the food could not have been better, great steaks cooked to our liking, fish cooked to
perfection and very reasonable prices. Breakfast was also very good, kept us going all day.
The host and staff where very nice people and could not help you enough and i would like
to thank them for our lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tenbury Wells
7.7 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
869 reviews
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
3.6 mi away
Talbot Inn
Talbot Inn
#1 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Rose & Crown
#4 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
8 reviews
1.7 mi away
Brook Farm
Brook Farm
#4 of 6 in Tenbury Wells
78 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hills Farm
The Hills Farm
#1 of 1 in Leysters
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Property: The Fountain Inn
Address: Oldwood, Tenbury Wells WR15 8TB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Tenbury Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tenbury Wells
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Fountain Inn Tenbury Wells, Worcestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing