We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly, warm and atmospheric hotel/restaurant/pub.”
Review of Alyth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alyth Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Alyth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2011

My mum and I stayed here for one night following a night in Edinburgh. As soon as we walked into the hotel bar it was apparent how cosy, festive and friendly it was. The staff were extremely attentive and helpful. We checked into our room which was comfy and well equipped. The bathroom was clean and the shower very powerful. After an afternoon nap my mum and I headed downstairs for a predinner drink. Again, the bar man was helpful and efficient. We had dinner sitting at a table overlooking the town square, it was beautiful to see the Xmas lights over the small river which runs through the town. Now the dinner, it was superb. We'd been out the previous night in Edinburgh to a restaurant that came highly recommend and the food at this hotel outshone that by miles. I had haggis balls with a light brandy cream for starter, delicious. The main course was just as divine. Huge compliments to the chef. After dinner we had a chat with the owner and bar staff, they were both very friendly and made us feel most welcome. I slept like a log in my single bed and awoke feeling very refreshed. Breakfast was great also with lots of choice. Our stay overall was comfortable, relaxing and just what we needed after a hectic day in Edinburgh. It's great to still see a traditional family run hotel, my only negative is that our stay wasn't long enough. Bring on my next visit. This is my first trip advisor review but the Alyth Hotel was worth the effort.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kimberleyd1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for Alyth Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 229 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2011

We had dinner and the food was excellent - definitely recommend it for eating. Room (No. 7) was fine, bathroom a bit basic. We were unable to have a shower in the morning because a) the shower wasn't working; and b) it wasn't safe, ie the cover was loose. My husband's an electrician and he explained that if water got into the shower casing (which was very possible) it was extremely dangerous. We complained and they kindly gave us £20 off the bill so we left satisfied. The service was friendly and efficient. Overall definitely worth a stay. No private car park.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank impy2864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We travelled up to Scotland withour 15year old gradaughter for the U16 Scottish Open Golf Tournament. We were lucky to get a last minute cancelation because the Hotel was fully booked. We had a large family room which was at the front of the hotel, very clean, beds comfortable and bathroopm adequate with regular clean towels.The owner and staff went out of their way to make us welcome at all times. Breakfast was excellent and we dined five nights and had good food and variation.
The staff were at all times courteous and accommodating and we felt we had value for money, we wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brianbowers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

I stayed here for 1 night for work. The food is good and the young girl helping in good. The rooms are fine and the beds are comfy. At 9.30pm I was very tired and wanted to go to bed as had an early start. I had not used any facilities in the room - just got into the bed and tried to sleep but the tv next door was blaring so much so that I could not even hear my own tv at full volume,! I had to watch the same tv programme to avoid a headache and echo! I knew there were only 2 other guests in the hotel so asked at reception if I could move rooms as did not know what time they would turn off their tv -the girl tried to ring the boss who did not answer to ask and then said no problem, it is late and we have plenty of spare rooms which was great. I had only sat in the bed in the room so she came with me with the keys and said how incredibly loud the tv was and she was not surprised! I moved to another room and had a great night sleep. The next day at check out I handed over my card and said thanks for the stay and the boss said I am going to have t charge you for both rooms! 50 pounds per room! I was in total shock and said sorry why? My staff should not have let you move rooms and younger used the bed. She then very rudely said it is your choice if you want to go to sleep early! She said she would have asked them to switch their tv off before 11 which I would not expect her to do. I said the hotel was empty and her staff member said no problem and she still took the payment! I was so disappointed and the service was so very poor and she was so rude. The main point was that her staff member said no problem and. Had paid for a room and should be able to sleep at any time I like in the room. I very rarely complain but as a matter of principle I was so upset. Do not stay here as I am sure she will be just as rude. I also asked when I checked in if a double was free and the other staff member said yes no problem - when I checked out the boss said I don't know why you needed a double either! Lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank loubilouAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peach1949, Owner at Alyth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2011

It is very unfortunate to hear that my guest was very unhappy with certain aspects of their stay. I do however recognise that an error of judgement was made in this case. It is evident the guest is clearly upset about the situation and felt that it was not dealt with courteously and professionally, however rudeness is certainly not part of our policy and if this is how it was interpreted then I apologise.

Having discussed this with staff, new policies have been put in place to avoid any misunderstanding in the future.

Also in view of the noise issue of the overloud television I am looking into the possibility of having noise limiters set on the volume control to prevent a reoccurrence of this type of problem.

I would emphasise that there has been a breakdown in communication and that steps are being taken to rectify the matter with the guest directly.

It is always good to receive constructive criticism as we always aim to run a respectful, attentive and thoughtful business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Hotel/Pub located 5 miles from Blairgowrie and a 40 minute drive to the Glen Shee ski centre. Booked this on the spur of the moment to have 2 days skiing over kids half-term. Not many accommodation options available, but found this on Lastminue, but got a better rate booking direct. Room was clean and functional, though small TV and no remote was a bit substandard. Plenty of tea and coffee. Room overlooked road and there was roadnoise at night. Slept OK and beds were comfortable.

Internet access available, but chargeable.

Welcome was warm from owner and breakfast (full Scottish) recommended. Parking is on road to front of hotel. Next door is a small stores which is useful.

Overall, a reasonable option.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourthgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JPS6973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alyth
0.5 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
4.6 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 5 in Blairgowrie
752 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blairgowrie
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
129 reviews
9.6 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
783 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bridge of Cally Hotel
Bridge of Cally Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bridge of Cally
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alyth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alyth Hotel

Address: 6 Commercial Street, Alyth PH11 8AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Alyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Alyth
Price Range: £59 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alyth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your Alyth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alyth Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing