We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor service”
Review of Alyth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alyth Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Alyth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our friends arrived before us and spent over £170 between 8 of them them. We arrived about 2.45pm and asked if they would do sandwiches or soup for two as we knew the kitchen was closed. they just said no. Is this what Scottish hospitality has come to, pity help the tourist. Our friends said the food was all right. This was Easter weekend and the kitchen was closed!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't look for food after 2.30pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Locust1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Three of us had a meal at the alyth hotel and it was lovely.
Had won a voucher for the hotel at local gala so we decided to use it last night.
steak pie a delight as was the scampi and the macaroni.
all presented beautifully with pleasant staff.
Not been for a few years but will certainly be back soon

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheena l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

What a Treat!

Travelling around Scotland and enjoying the various villages, towns and beautiful countryside, every so often you come across a wee gem of a place to stay and one that is high up there is in Alyth, Perthshire.
Let me recommend to you the Alyth Hotel, in fact, let me highly recommend this lovely hotel

Firstly, the owner & host David is polite, helpful, enthusiastic and very knowledgable about the area, as was his staff members.
Chloe who was on reception when we arrived was just a pleasant helpful girl who went beyond the call of duty to help us out ..

She personally showed us to our room which was spacious, comfortable and very clean with the welcoming tea & coffee awaiting you.

There is absolutely no problem with parking in this village with yellow lines conspicuous by their absence so no hassle there when visiting.

The Bar in the hotel is popular with the locals and well stocked displaying an excellent gantry, filled with some of the finest Scotch Whiskies on view and all priced very competitively. We were served by Kelsey who was very attentive and efficient.

As for the food menu, it offered each diner a wonderful selection of cuisine to choose from and all cooked to perfection.
My partner chose the Steak Pie and it was a great choice, full of succulent meat and gravy, accompanied with a tasty selection of vegetables, followed by the Sticky Toffee Pudding which was just yummy!

My personal choice was the Rib Eye Steak, again cooked to perfection by the Chef Christopher who was on duty that night.

Morning Breakfast was a delight with great choices of cereals, juices and a hot Scottish breakfast ...even smoked salmon was on the breakfast menu.

I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone, home or abroad with David at the helm and one year into his five year project, I look forward with anticipation making a return visit to the Alyth Hotel and looking forward to seeing the progress

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marion439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Impressed with the friendly staff, clean and tidy accommodation, comfortable bed and fine breakfast in the morning. Weren't there long enough to comment on anything else but would certainly consider a return visit.................

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grampasauras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed two nights in this welcoming hotel. The room was spacious and clean, food was great and service first class. The village is very quaint with some lovely nearby walks. All in all and excellent short stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrSpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My good lady partner sprung this on me and believe me this was a treat. On booking in we
were met by a pleasant and courteous young lady. The room we were allocated was room
No 1 (family one, although just the two of us). The room itself was great, spacious, airy, well
decorated, warm and spotlessly clean and the double bed very very comfortable. On going
down for dinner we were met by David (introduced himself) the Manager, who apologised
that he had a large party in the restaurant and would we mind dinning in the raised area
slightly adjacent. We accepted, and thereafter had no complaints. He went out his way to
ensure we were comfortable and always appeared to be hands on, hardworking and very
well mannered (nothing was a problem to him). On the food side, " People" the two of us
could not fault. It was served piping hot, well presented, and quantity/quality were
excellent, and great menu "venison casserole to die for" so much so I had it the second
night of our stay. The breakfast choice was great, help yourself to multiple choice of
starters, followed by your "hot order multiple choice" needless to say I went for the full
"Scottish", like the main meals same standard.
The good lady and I found the locals friendly and happy to suggest places to visit.
We enjoyed it very much, and have decided work permitting, we will be going back for
the Hogmany break (told David did a great set up last year)
Honestly, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: If all the other bedrooms are of the same quality standard as room 1in our minds you will not be di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The hotel itself is clean,comfortable and welcoming.David the manager is hardworking and enthusiastic about his hotel and this has rubbed off on the staff who themselves were friendly and worked hard to please throughout our stay,As previous reviewers have stated I can confirm as someone who has a healthy appetite that the food is plentiful but this does not distract from the quality or the care with which it seemed cooked and presented.
The village of Alyth itself is delightful and quirky, the locals are a friendly sort and there is a strong sense of tradition and it appears to have everything you may need for a short stay.
I would strongly recommend this hotel to anybody wishing a pleasant and comfortable break with good food and service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toffeeskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alyth
6 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
9.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dundee
4.1 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#4 of 6 in Blairgowrie
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 6 in Blairgowrie
145 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#5 of 6 in Blairgowrie
151 reviews
4.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#6 of 6 in Blairgowrie
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alyth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alyth Hotel

Address: 6 Commercial Street, Alyth, Blairgowrie PH11 8AF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Blairgowrie > Alyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Alyth
Price Range: £55 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alyth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Alyth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alyth Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing