We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely,quiet location.”
other travellers have booked this property
A cottage-like wing of Bamff house converted in 2000 retaining many original features.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A cottage-like wing of Bamff house converted in 2000 retaining many original features.
Cosy lounge with wood-burning stove, wifi and tv. The wood-burning stove and tv in the comfy lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
A cottage-like wing of Bamff house converted in 2000 retaining many original features.
Cosy lounge with wood-burning stove, wifi and tv.
The wood-burning stove and tv in the comfy lounge
Twin Room. Beds can be converted into a Superking, on request.
Double room
You have your own picnic table and bbq. Note the sky colour!
The kitchen is well equipped and looks out onto the picnic table and bbq
The porch is a useful space for drying outdoor clothes, dog baskets and watching the world go by
Bamff is one of the very few places to observe beavers in the UK.
The Old Brewhouse even has its own patch of wild strawberries
Wetland restoration at Bamff. Credit Beavers.
Gate Lodge. Follow the track up to the main house for the Old Brewhouse. The Lodge is also available
The big pond on a misty morning
Timber extraction in the small woodland.
The Beaver Hide along the Cateran Trail, a delightful walk around Bamff, minutes from the Brewhouse.
Looking southwards over Bamff Home Farm from Balduff Hill.
The view north into the Cairngorms National Park, from Balduff Hill on Bamff. A super walk.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Alyth, Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A lovely,quiet location.”
Reviewed 2 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The Bamff estate is situated in the foothills to the Grampians, so gives a wonderful opportunity to visit many towns & villages. Alyth den is a great place to walk dogs. Also the 'Lands of Loyal' serves extremely tasty food in a lovely situation overlooking the foothills.The Brewhouse was comfortable with effective heating.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2017
Many thanks for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heleneglo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, quaint, welcoming, cosy !”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2016

It was a year ago, so all I remember is that we rented the cottage for an exceptionnally short stopover on the way back from Skye to Edinburgh. But even for a short stay, we were very impressed with the cute cottage and its welcome feel.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thanks so much for taking the time to give us a great review. I hope you can come back for a longer stay sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GooglySco...
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Idyllic Escape”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My friend and I stayed for one night in the hideaway at Bamff estate. I woke just before six am to see three beavers right across from me on the bank of the river, then followed them up to the pond where i sat alone and watched them for an hour, absolutely mesmerised, as well as a visit from a deer and a woodpecker. I can honestly say it was one of the most incredible experiences I have ever had, and am desperate to go back soon. We also received a very warm and helpful welcome and accommodation was excellent too- very comfy bed!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review - so good to hear you saw the beavers so close to the Hide. It is such a special place to stay, we would love you to come back soon and maybe you can stay for a wee bit longer and explore Bamff and the surrounding area too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie W
Alyth, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 11 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were having work done at our house and were lucky enough to be able to stay at the Old Brewhouse at Bamff during that time. It was such a delight to walk in and be as comfortable as at home. There are all sorts of nice touches such as reading lamps by the couches and beds. I love to cook and it was nice to be in the kitchen where there was a good selection of pots and pans and dishes and kitchen tools. The bedrooms and kitchen dining room all have lovely views of the lawn and the large windows allow the light to come flooding in. The beds are so comfortable for a great sleep. We liked being able to step outside to go on interesting walks. One day it rained heavily for hours and we were perfectly comfortable to just lounge around and read. We would highly recommend staying here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rittmr
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A long overdue return”
Reviewed 23 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

A wonderful location for an escape break. The cottage is comfortable and well equipped, with great character. Take your time to enjoy the surroundings and take a hike round the estate which is teaming with birds and wildlife.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely Cosy Getaway!”
Reviewed 28 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Came up for a couple of nights just before Christmas. The brewhouse was surprisingly toasty for so old a building, and the kitchen was well-equipped as others have commented, so absolutely no problem cooking. There are other lets on the estate so a few people about but a very relaxed atmosphere and the owners are usually there when needed.

My only real criticism is of whoever is running the Trip Advisor account - I messaged to ask about arrival time, key etc and phoned but had absolutely no response. In the end we just had to wing it and turn up at Bamff. Maybe this was because Aileen B had already gone on hols, I don't know...

Overall had a great stay, would recommend and might even come back in the summer!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauracsco...
Errol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Be at one with nature in the beautiful hideaway 'hut' 💕”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Four of us stayed in the hideaway on the cateran trail overlooking the local beavers . 2 adults and 2 kids and it was a great wild life experience, great value for money and a wonderful time was had by all. Thanks to Louise and Paul for their kind hospitality.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Thank you for this lovely review. The Hideaway will soon be finished off advertised online for general use. We are just completing the composting loo and installing a wood-burning stove for the colder weather.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing