We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Stables- a home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Stables B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Stables B&B
Ranked #3 of 4 Alyth B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Old Stables- a home from home”
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Accomodation food and hospitality all superb. Starting with a very warm welcome from Bill and Eileen we had a most enjoyable holiday staying in Alyth and touring in the beautiful surrounding countryside. We can recommend Old Stables to anyone looking for a good B & B as it is , without doubt, the best one we have ever stayed in. We look forward to many return visits.,

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent at Old Stables
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank min2526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
38
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We had a great 2 days we were up for a family gathering and were told about the Old Stables. It lived up to what we had been told. The accommodation was first class and very clean the bathroom was to die for. Eileen & Bill made us feel so welcome, nothing was any bother to them we would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a break.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathy_blackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2010

This has to be one of the best places we have stay'd in. From the moment we arrived Eileen made us so welcome, very friendly atmosphere. The rooms are large, clean and with everything you could ask for. Eileen and Bill certainly know how to look after thier guests, recommending local places to dine at, even making reservations for us. The breakfasts are really delightfull, anything you like and more than enough. This is a place we will definately be going back too.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunn952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2010

we have just returned from our 7th visit to this great B & B and as usual everything was
brilliant! Four of us turn up every year for vintage motor cycle event and from the first year we have been made to feel welcome and special. The apartments we stay in are clean and very comfortable containing everything you need for self catering, although we always book B & B as the breakfast is wonderful, served in a bright and airy conservatory looking over the garden. The fact that we return year after year is testimony to how good we feel the Old Stables and Eileen and Bill are, thanks again both of you. The Geordie Bikers

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We were on an excursion through Scotland and had no accomodation pre-booked. When we started to make a serious of phone calls the Old Stables still had availability for 4 adults. Following our arrival we were amazed by the welcoming hosts and the provided accomodation. We had a full flat with two bedrooms, living room, kitchen and two bathrooms. The breakfast was excellent and we would always consider staying at this lovely location again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoMatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodville, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

We were truly blessed by our visit with Bill and Eileen McBain. They doted on our 90 year old mother, and offered kindness and helpful travel insights that went far beyond simply providing bed and breakfast. We'd definitely go back on our next trip to Scotland.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scsecaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lothian
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Room was clean and comfortable even had a fridge! Owners were friendly and helpful. Plenty of space to sit and relax. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HobbitEastLothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alyth
0.4 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
4.5 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 6 in Blairgowrie
84 reviews
4.6 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 6 in Blairgowrie
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alyth Hotel
Alyth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Alyth
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tigh Na Leigh
Tigh Na Leigh
#2 of 4 in Alyth
261 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lodge at Lochside
Lodge at Lochside
#1 of 6 in Kirriemuir
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Stables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Stables B&B

Property: Old Stables B&B
Address: Blairgowrie 2 Losset Road | Perthshire, Alyth PH11 8BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Alyth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Alyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bill and Eileen have been welcoming guests for over 32 years to their STB 4Star Gold Award Winning family run bed & breakfast with spacious rooms offering king size and super king beds and en-suite spa baths etc. Alyth Blairgowrie at the foot of the Grampian Mountains. Our English guests should know that they will always be welcome here and note that not all of Scotland want to be independent! We are near Perth, Dundee Cairngorm National Park Scotland. Established gardens with off street private parking. We hope you will love the ambience, tranquility, atmosphere, freedom and friendliness. Behind the modern facade be surprised by the unique conversion of a nineteenth century farm steading. Large open plan sitting room with high wooden beamed ceiling and open fire. Breakfast included. Some rooms with fridge/water cooler. Adjacent fully furnished self catering or serviced holiday cottages with kitchen for minimum 3 day stays. Ideal for archery, walking, golf breaks, fishing / angling, cycling and shooting. Tennis, Bowls and Golf within 2 miles. Drying area and storage for golf clubs / bicycles. Ample off street private parking. Free WIFI. Tour with Classic cars. Walkers, golfers, cyclists, tourers & bikers welcome. We trust our welcome and you're stay will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Booking.com so you can book your Old Stables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Stables B&B Alyth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing