We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over 20 Years”
Review of Old Stables B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Stables B&B
Ranked #3 of 4 Alyth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over 20 Years”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We have stayed with Bill and Eileen for over 20 years and do not have one complaint. Accommodation, food and hospitality second to none. We sometimes have language problems as we are English, but we can't have everything, can we?
We shall continue visiting while we have wheels and health or until they refuse us admission, which we know will never happen.

Keep it up Bill and Eileen. We never stop recommending you.

Margaret and Ken (Wolverhampton, England)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenTimmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
38
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stopped in the old stables in july for a mid week stay, being the first time we have made our way into Scotland to visit freinds in a near by village we could not fault Eileen and Bills accomodation and attention to detail everything from the room where we stayed in the room upstairs it was one of the best we have stayed in at home or abroad, the food was outstanding catering for all tastes from a full Scottish fry up to fresh strawberries. So thankyou to Eileen and Bill we will be returning to Scotland and there will be only one place we will be staying while visiting our freind and that is the Old Stables.


Karen and Steve Beaven

Room Tip: Just let Eileen know when you require Breakfast in the morning and it will be ready for you as not e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, U.K.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We have just stayed at the OLD STABLES for a weeks golfing at the Scottish Mixed Foursome Golf Week, Its fair to say that Eileen and Bill, the hosts go the extra mile, n othing is too much trouble. The accomodation was spot on and the food great, all local produce. In short we have already booked for next year and would have no problem recommending it to anyone who is visiting the area for whatever reason.

Room Tip: The rom we had was the one with the fourposter bed and also a jacuzzi bagth tub that was gfreat af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This was our first visit to the area and we cannot speak highly enough of the accommadation and the way we were catered for by the owners Eileen and Bill McBain.

Nothing was too much trouble for them.

The rooms were ultra clean and all the fixtures and fittings were in excellent condition.

The en suites were as new and again had all the requirements which were in first class working order.

Breakfast was always ready when required and more than ample in size and variety.

We have stayed in many B&B's in many areas of the Country and this is the best without a doubt.

If you dont believe us try it for yourself and can guarantee you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and some even have a whirlpool bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We recently stayed at the Old Stables with friends and a teenage daughter. This is an excellent b and b with a large ensuite bathroom. The bath also offers a whirlpool, I think, although to be fair it was not used during our stay.

We had a four poster bed in our room with a television with digital tv and tea and coffee making facilities.

The breakfast in the morning was excellent with full Scottish, choice of cereal and yoghurts, fruits etc. The selection was in fact wider than yo would get in standard hotels.

We really liked the bed and breakfast and would definitely recommend any person to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimsteelshat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We received a very warm welcome and our room was on the ground floor as requested for my elderly disabled mother. Our room was lovely and warm and the beds were very comfortable. The en-suite bathroom was spotless. Breakfast was as much as you could manage with a good choice to suit all. Bill and Eileen were great at advising guests on places to visit, times to go, etc. Would highly recommend this to anyone visiting the area

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed at The Old Stables in April 2012, when our daughter played golf in the Scottish Ladies U16’s event at Strathmore Golf Club. This is a fantastic place to stay; warm, welcoming and very comfortable, the owners Eileen and Bill can’t do enough for you, the rooms are bright, spacious and very clean, every morning a full Scottish Breakfast awaits you in the dining room (What a way to kick off your day). You will also struggle to find a better location in the area, whether you are playing golf at one of the many local courses, there to walk through the countryside or just looking to take a relaxing break away from it all you won’t find a pleasanter place to stay. We will certainly be returning next year and we can’t wait. If you want to know anything else please feel free to contact me at BRUNTY@ukgateway.net

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAB130465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alyth
0.4 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
0.1 mi away
Alyth Hotel
Alyth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Alyth
225 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lodge at Lochside
Lodge at Lochside
#1 of 6 in Kirriemuir
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tigh Na Leigh
Tigh Na Leigh
#2 of 4 in Alyth
271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Losset Inn
Losset Inn
#4 of 4 in Alyth
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Stables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Stables B&B

Property: Old Stables B&B
Address: Blairgowrie 2 Losset Road | Perthshire, Alyth PH11 8BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Alyth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Alyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bill and Eileen have been welcoming guests for over 32 years to their STB 4Star Gold Award Winning family run bed & breakfast with spacious rooms offering king size and super king beds and en-suite spa baths etc. Alyth Blairgowrie at the foot of the Grampian Mountains. Our English guests should know that they will always be welcome here and note that not all of Scotland want to be independent! We are near Perth, Dundee Cairngorm National Park Scotland. Established gardens with off street private parking. We hope you will love the ambience, tranquility, atmosphere, freedom and friendliness. Behind the modern facade be surprised by the unique conversion of a nineteenth century farm steading. Large open plan sitting room with high wooden beamed ceiling and open fire. Breakfast included. Some rooms with fridge/water cooler. Adjacent fully furnished self catering or serviced holiday cottages with kitchen for minimum 3 day stays. Ideal for archery, walking, golf breaks, fishing / angling, cycling and shooting. Tennis, Bowls and Golf within 2 miles. Drying area and storage for golf clubs / bicycles. Ample off street private parking. Free WIFI. Tour with Classic cars. Walkers, golfers, cyclists, tourers & bikers welcome. We trust our welcome and you're stay will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Old Stables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Stables B&B Alyth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing