We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely welcome return”
Review of Old Stables B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Stables B&B
Ranked #3 of 4 Alyth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire, U.K.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a lovely welcome return”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Well my wife and I again entered the very popular mixed foursomes golf week in the Blairgowrie area, we decided to stay at the Old Stables at Alyth, we were not disappointed. We were welcomed by Bill and Eileen the proprietors like old friends. The standards had not dropped in the slightest, the breakfasts with the usual full scottish fare was spot on, and the home made jams that Eileen enters in competitions ( and wins prizes) were delicious. It is very much a home from home, nothing is too much trouble, we needed breakfasts at different times each day but no problem, we just said the time and that was it.
During the stay it was Bills birthday , and lo and behold all the guests from the B&B were invited for drinks and nibbles. A lovely evening. Bill and Eilleen are a font of useful knowledge for the area.
We have already booked the same excellent room for 2015.

Room Tip: We especially like Ruthven as it has whirlpool bath which after a game of golf was very welcome
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
38
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Middlezoy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have been coming to Alyth for a Golfing week for more than 4 years now. On our first year we stayed at The Old Stables B and B. It was fantastic. Eileen and Bill were the most wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Subsequent years we have rented one of their self catering apartments. Once again a great success. The same great welcome, everything you could possibly want in the apartment and two friends to welcome you on each trip. This is just home from home every time. If you want a personal touch that cannot be beaten and a Scottish welcome to write home about, this is the place. Already booked again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We came up to Alyth golfing,our usual b&b was full.I found the Old Stables online and gave Eileen a call we stayed two nights and had a great stay.The rooms are spotless and breakfast set us up for a days golf.We will be back to Alyth and will stay with Eileen & Bill.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Room very nice - Hence the rating - night of arrival advised that there would be plenty of choice available - then told by Eileen she would have to go as she was 'going out' for the evening - breakfast not good - we told the tea was very weak - Eileen went and got a fork and poked the tea bag(s) !!!!! - cooked breakfast obviously made long before required - not good - Eileen explained her sister required her help - then told - Bill doesn't know how to use card machine - so we would have to pay by cash
Sorry but will not be back -

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DENISE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We thought our first visit last year was extremely good but this years was even better.

Everything about our stay which was first class, the food, accommodation and hospitality could not be faulted for our seven night stay.

We have already booked for next year so we can take part in the local golf competition.

Thank you Eileen and Bill you are great hosts and look forward to seeing you next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2013

A lovely friendly bed and breakfast; Eileen and Bill are very hospitable. The room was of a high standard and the spa bath very relaxing after a days walking. I would readily recommend a stay at the Old Stables.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 770JamieT770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night stay. The room had everything we could ask for and I know my partner loved the spa bath. The wall paper in the room was a little flowery and not to my taste but that is only decoration and everyone has their own tastes. The bed was comfy and once again my partner loved how snug and warm it was - i prefer things a little more on the colder side. The breakfasts were filling and the hosts were extremely friendly. Would recommend a stay here to anyone who wants a quiet getaway.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alyth
0.4 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
4.5 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 6 in Blairgowrie
101 reviews
4.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 6 in Blairgowrie
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#3 of 6 in Blairgowrie
726 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alyth Hotel
Alyth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Alyth
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tigh Na Leigh
Tigh Na Leigh
#2 of 4 in Alyth
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Stables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Stables B&B

Property: Old Stables B&B
Address: Blairgowrie 2 Losset Road | Perthshire, Alyth PH11 8BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Alyth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Alyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bill and Eileen have been welcoming guests for over 32 years to their STB 4Star Gold Award Winning family run bed & breakfast with spacious rooms offering king size and super king beds and en-suite spa baths etc. Alyth Blairgowrie at the foot of the Grampian Mountains. Our English guests should know that they will always be welcome here and note that not all of Scotland want to be independent! We are near Perth, Dundee Cairngorm National Park Scotland. Established gardens with off street private parking. We hope you will love the ambience, tranquility, atmosphere, freedom and friendliness. Behind the modern facade be surprised by the unique conversion of a nineteenth century farm steading. Large open plan sitting room with high wooden beamed ceiling and open fire. Breakfast included. Some rooms with fridge/water cooler. Adjacent fully furnished self catering or serviced holiday cottages with kitchen for minimum 3 day stays. Ideal for archery, walking, golf breaks, fishing / angling, cycling and shooting. Tennis, Bowls and Golf within 2 miles. Drying area and storage for golf clubs / bicycles. Ample off street private parking. Free WIFI. Tour with Classic cars. Walkers, golfers, cyclists, tourers & bikers welcome. We trust our welcome and you're stay will exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Old Stables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Stables B&B Alyth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing