We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true gem of place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tigh Na Leigh

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Tigh Na Leigh
Ranked #1 of 4 Alyth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A true gem of place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

An exceptional guest house in every respect. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay from start to finish. Lovely big room and bathroom. Exceptionally clean throughout the property. Stunning garden containing two very friendly cats. Owners, Bettina and Chris, clearly put alot of work into Tigh Na Leigh and it is clear to see. Hope to return some day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamLaverty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
183
11
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Chris and Bettina are the best. My wife and I returned to Tigh Na Leigh for our second stay on June 19 and 20, 2013 This place is just over the top nice, not your typical B&B. The house and gardens are beautiful and our room on the main floor was terrific. Clean, comfy, oversized king bed and large bathroom. Chris and Bettina are the perfect hosts. Breakfasts are extremely good and Bettina and Chris take great pride in the quality of their food. We had Chris prepare us dinner both nights and the food was simply amazing.

The garden is so nice to sit, relax and have a drink. The town of Alyth is a short drive to all the best golf courses. I can not think of a better place to stay. We will be back.

Randy & Debra Kern
Idaho Falls, Idaho USA

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twins87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Really lovely place with a great welcome, excellent rooms and furnishings and everything you need for a comfy hassle free stay. There was even a wee rubber duck in the bath and girly magazines in my room and guy ones in my colleagues.
I had an evening meal in the conservatory dining room which was very nice then nipped over the road to the village pub for a few drinks. It was filled with friendly locals and a wee dog lying on the floor, had a fab night.

Breakfast was lovely too, and although a bit out of Aberdeen it was a straight road in the morning to my first appointment.

Would definitely stay here again, great place and fab hosts.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovey, enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneMcClements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Our family group stayed at Tigh Na Leigh for one night in May 2013 and how glad we were to do so ! We'd had slight reservations about booking a guest house rather than a hotel but, in fact, we all agreed that this was MUCH nicer.

The décor is tasteful (including interesting art works) and the three rooms we had were all comfortable and spacious. The Jacuzzi baths were fun, and there's an extensive DVD library to borrow from. The garden is a reasonable size, tranquil to stroll around and provides an attractive backdrop at mealtimes.

The food was absolutely delicious, and drinks reasonably priced.

Chris and Bettina were impeccable hosts, well-travelled, helpful and friendly.

We now need an excuse to come back.

Room Tip: The four-poster room is lovely, as is the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiaSusanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorum, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Excellent location to escape to for a romantic vacation or just for relaxing off the beaten path, which has been mentioned so many times before that I just wanted to confirm one more time.

However the Tigh Na Leigh is also highly recommendable for the occasional business traveller, such as myself. The trip by car to Aberdeen takes about 75-90 minutes which is still very much acceptable considering that about one third of the time is lost in Aberdeen city traffic.
Which makes Tigh Na Leigh a very attractive alternative to Aberdeen city hotels and for sure much better value for money, especially when Aberdeen is hosting exhibitions and trade shows.

Due to the location being just about 15-20 minutes by car from the A90, it would also make a perfect stopover place between appointments in Glasgow/Edinburgh and Aberdeen/Inverness.

Room Tip: I had the "Four-poster" room (the only one left) and even if I would have been happy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Axel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Arrived 23/04/13 as a single female business traveller booked due to being unable to secure accommodation in the Aberdeen area so not sure what to expect on arrival. The Guest house is run by Bettina and Chris ( who also does all the cooking)
Accommodation was fantastic, reception warm and welcoming without being over bearing furnishings very tasteful,immaculately clean and comfortable with a lot of thought going into what traveller's require and expect and food absolutely delightful. Spent two nights here and after travelling more than 300 miles on my first day and 180 on my second night it was lovely to be able to soak in the Jacuzzi bath and have a comfortable restful nights sleep. Had booked bed and breakfast but if you want an evening meal this can be pre booked by lunchtime with a choice of three dishes for starter main and dessert. All prepared lovingly and using quality ingredients often locally sourced and served in the dining room which is part of the conservatory overlooking very pleasant gardens. The whole stay was a pleasure and felt safe but friendly, important I feel when travelling as a lone female traveller and Internet access available throughout the building important when on a business trip. I felt like I didn't want to go to work! I hope to return as a visitor for a weekend or leisure break soon. Thank you both

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleyholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Having stayed here on a number of occasions previously, I hadn't been for a couple of years but was welcomed like an old friend! The room, food and service are all still of a fantastic standard with nothing too much trouble -including altering the menu for my veggie girl! Will definitely make sure I'm staying again soon

Room Tip: Room 6 on top floor- tight staircase to it but super room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuartfaedunfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alyth
0.6 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
19.8 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
9.2 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 7 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
20.4 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
7.3 mi away
Kinloch House
Kinloch House
#2 of 7 in Blairgowrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh Na Leigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh Na Leigh

Property: Tigh Na Leigh
Address: 22-24 Airlie Street, Alyth PH11 8AJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Alyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Alyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tigh Na Leigh 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA Guest Accommodation of the Year Scotland 2006-2007. A 5 Star home away from home - Victorian townhouse, renovated to 21st century standard. Bedrooms are huge, luxurious and well equipped with en-suite jacuzzi bathrooms, DVD players etc. Delicious breakfast and evening meals are served in the Conservatory/Dining room. Licensed - small but nice wine list, good selection of Whiskies & Spirits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Tigh Na Leigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh Na Leigh Alyth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing