We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous night away!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alyth
Certificate of Excellence
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous night away!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I loved this place! I surprised my partner with a night away here last weekend. From the moment we arrived, we were given a very warm welcome, shown personally to our room and seated by the lovely big open fire to warm up after our drive.
The hotel is beautiful and has some amazing views. The breakfast was delicious, and our dog was made very welcome too. Couldn't recommend highly enough. We really want to go back just to see the place when it has all it's decorations up for Christmas.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 which had spectacular views out across the hills. Wasn't huge but very nicel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    43
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
105
162
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Over the years in which the Howell family have run this hotel our family have used it for special occasions such as weddings, anniversaries and birthdays. The ambience of the hotel is so warm, welcoming and relaxing that once there you can totally unwind. The waiting staff are very friendly and attentive but not overbearing. Meals served in the beautiful dining rooms of The Lands of Loyal Hotel are truly delicious and beautifully presented. We also enjoy the look of wonder when we take friends for the first time and they step into the hall.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotiasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
160 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We didn't stay here - we just went for a meal - so I cannot comment on the rooms.

When we arrived there was no one around and we had to go and search for someone to serve us. There was a lovely fire burning in the hall which was a very comfortable place to sit.

It took a while for both out pre-dinner drinks and wine with dinner to be served.

The menu was pretty boring and the food very average though I must say the portions were mammoth - more quantity than quality - and so huge it was rather off putting. My husband decided to go 'safe' and ordered scampi as nothing else appealed for main course which I wouldn't normally even expect to find on a country house hotel menu.

The waitress was friendly but, with only one other table occupied in the restaurant, the atmosphere was lacking.

The hotel gave the impression of needing a lot of money spending on it - faded grandeur comes to mind.

And at £65 a head for three courses, one pre-dinner drink each and two £25 bottles of wine between us with dinner it certainly wasn't cheap.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Wonderful country house that delivers exactly what you want from a hotel but hardly ever get! Reception was warm, welcoming and friendly. Chilled in beautiful lounge with a blazing log fire where drinks were served by excellent attentive staff. Great menu and wine list was backed up by really good food and served in one of the lovely dining rooms. Owner gave us information on the house itself and ended up chatting like old friends. Breakfast was spot-on and no need to get out of bed at the crack of dawn to make sure you get there before the clock strikes time! Everything was done to make you feel relaxed and nothing seemed to much trouble for the staff. Really enjoyed our stay and it must go down as one of the best hotel experiences we have had. Sure we will return and I can't remember saying that for a long time when it comes to a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This amazing Hotel has to be the lowest key you can get which made it feel like you were a guest in a friends home! When you went in to the hotel reception you were met with a warm friendly member of staff, no "Corporate Speak" about your credit cards, do you want a wake up call, do you want to book dinner etc. Very refreshing! The rooms and Hotel had low key fire signage and in the book in your room it explained that breakfast was from 7.30 ......! This relaxed approach continued through our 3 night visit. When you walk in to the main hall it is absolutely wow! Lots of mood lighting, comfy couches, very impressive log fire with a marble fireplace. When you see someone walking in they all have the same expression.......wow! The hall is modelled on a 1900's cruise ship, very opulent with warm atmosphere. If you want to eat you just say in the main hall (someone is waiting on guests if they want to eat), they take your order, bring you a drink and take you to your table when the food is ready. The food is extremely high quality and impressively presented with large portions. The menu appears to be set which if you were staying for more than a few days would be quite repetitive with probably 12 -14 main dishes, and only one vegetarian option. The first night I had the option and asked on night two if there was an other option (I am vegetarian). I was asked "what would you like" and was presented with a delicious meal, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. At no point did I (like other hotels) have to sign to get something put on the room, again, adding to the relaxed approach to staying in this great hotel. After dinner, coffee is served in the main hall sitting on a comfy couch next to the roaring log fire. Any stresses just disappear!!!! Now for the room, we were showed to our room in the Coach House which was adjacent to the main building of the hall. When I booked the room I didn't know that it was not in the main hotel. This was a slight disappointment as was the disabled room. A romantic few days and an adjustable remote controlled bed and walk in shower room with plastic disabled shower seat did spoil the ambience a bit! If you are a disabled resident the room would be ideal. The room had a small sitting room area. When you lay in bed you looked on to a rather eclectic array of furniture and styles of prints etc. The glass shelf was just that, a glass shelf with nothing on it! Could have been more welcoming. There are 2 other rooms on the upper level, unfortunately the guests above did tend to walk around a lot which you could hear very clearly, sound proofing wasn't too great. The highlight of the stay was not the room which I guess as it was booked last minute was probably the last available one. Although I am highlighting a few negatives, this did not really spoil our visit. I will certainly be visiting again but this time booking the room in advance so we get a better room option. Absolutely well worth a visit to see for your self the new relaxed approach to staying in a hotel with extremely friendly people. A small friendly, warm and inviting country hotel with excellent food is what you get!!

Room Tip: I think rooms in the main hotel are nicer. Room 18 accepts pets, situated on the ground floor for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CupcakeCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shopper in Glasgow
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I was actually glad that the day we went it was torrential rain as it made us stay indoors! It was such a friendly relaxing atmosphere sitting in the lounge with the log fire burning. Food was out of this world and all the staff were lovely. Would definetly go back for a well deserved treat.

Room Tip: the 4 poster room was brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We booked this hotel through laterooms on a bed and breakfast basis, we were greeted with a warm welcome, and were quickly shown to our room, the rooms were dark, but was very in keeping with the hotel, bathrooms were beautiful and to have wifi in the room was great.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, and I personally think a special mention should go to the chef of this hotel.... The food that we had was of top quality, we decided that the 2 days would be a totally relaxing 2 days so therefore ate breakfast, luch and dinner at. The hotel, and believe me, you wouldn't get better food !!!! Credit where credit is due... Hold on to the chef !!!!!, a truely lovely hotel, and I'm sure we will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alyth
19.8 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
20.2 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
10.1 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
15.4 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
24.9 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lands of Loyal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lands of Loyal Hotel

Property: Lands of Loyal Hotel
Address: Loyal Road, Alyth PH11 8JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Alyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lands of Loyal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, traditional, owner run, country house hotel in pretty town of Alyth close to Blairgowrie in rural Perthshire. Excellent restaurant, food served all day, open to all, families welcome. 17 lovely bedrooms all ensuite with flat screen digital TVs and free wi fi access. Including a specially designed room for wheelchair access with adjacent room for a carer or travelling companionThe area is set on a hillside overlooking one of the three golf courses in the town and has its garden listed in the prestigious Scotland's garden scheme. Events take place locally throughout the year including festivals, concerts and highland games, Dundee and Perth city are both within easy access and Edinburgh and Glasgow are just 90 minutes drive away. The circular walking route, The Cateran Trail goes directly passed the door of the hotel making it a perfect stop for rest and refreshment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lands of Loyal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lands Of Loyal Hotel Alyth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing