We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Kirklandbank Farmhouse from the private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kirklandbank Farmhouse from the private garden
The view from Kirklandbank Farmhouse over Strathmore and the town of Alyth Kingsize double room on ground floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Kirklandbank Farmhouse from the private garden
The view from Kirklandbank Farmhouse over Strathmore and the town of Alyth
Kingsize double room on ground floor
The sitting room with glorious views to the south and east and cosy woodburner
Our black hebridean sheep graze in the fields beside the house
Alyth Pipe Band at Alyth Agricultural Show
Hay cutting on Alyth Hill
The Reekie Linn waterfall near Alyth
View north to Kilry
View from the farmhouse over Strathmore to the Sidlaw Hills
The orchard and wildflower meadow
The spacious kitchen with Rangemaster
Dining room looking towards the adjacent kitchen
Dining room with woodburning stove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Alyth, Blairgowrie, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LakesPlat...
Backbarrow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very comfortable in a great location ”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Visited Kirklandbank with our family plus one other family. 10 of us stayed very comfortably in this great house.
Glenshee skiing is 45 mins away and if the weather doesn't allow too much skiing then there is plenty more to do. Bring your bikes!
Alyth bike park is minutes from the house and though not big it is great for all the family.
There's some great walks locally and the owners happy to advice.
As a place to stay with a family it is highly recommended. As others have said it's possible to help out on the farm. We've been too busy so not taken that opportunity.
Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Feb 2016
Thanks for your great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. There are loads of things to do on the doorstep and close by so hope you can come again another time to explore the area a bit more.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauraA714...
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“great house and location, stunning views”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had a lovely weekend staying at the farmhouse. Clean and tidy spacious rooms with everything you need. The owners were very helpful and accommodating during our stay. Views from the house are stunning - it snowed when we were there and after coming inside we could sit and appreciate the view from the warm log burning fires. We would love to visit in the Summer.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2016
Thanks for your lovely review Laura - hope to welcome you back another time so you can see the summer view!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerix
1 review
“Beautiful,spacious and clean cottage”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The cottage is big, spacious. great for kids. If the weather is not great, there are some games to play indoor, binocular to watch wildlife. The owner has chickens and sheep.
The price for cottage is acceptable.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelma F
fortrose
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful, comfortable, spacious house in beautiful setting.”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The house had everything we needed for our Christmas holiday. Plenty of room for our family of 10 to fit around the table and large comfortable beds to sleep in at night. The open plan kitchen/dining area with cosy wood burning stove, was large and meant the cook wasn't isolated from the rest of the party while preparing food etc. The lounge was cosy also with wood burning stove. The rooms all hadfantastic views down and across the valley and had the weather permitted we would have taken advantage of the mountain bikes and lovely walks in the area. Our youngest family member (age 4) was given the opportunity to feed the hens and sheep and fresh eggs were available on request. Our oldest family member (90years) appreciated the downstairs bedroom with en suite facilities. We all had fun playing table tennis in the barn. Marion and Simon were very helpful and friendly. There are plenty of handy shops, pubs, very good local chippy etc in Alyth and the house is not far from the town of Blairgowrie as well as bigger cities of Perth, Edinburgh, Glasgow and Aberdeen. My Peugeot 108 negotiated the farm road with care.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort, situation and space.
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Thanks for your kind words about the house Thelma - we are so glad you had a wonderful family Christmas with us.
Marian and Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnSym
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“fab house with fab views!”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Beautiful farmhouse in lovely remote setting.Views were breathtaking from all rooms and the great weather helped! All bedrooms were spacious and tastefully decorated with log burners in the lounge and kitchen which kept us cosy, although there was central heating too. I loved the peace and quiet and stillness of this location. The only downside for us was the poor farm track upto the farmhouse. Unless you have a 4x4 or similar type car, you may feel the road too rough and uneven, we had to leave 1 car in Alyth as my brother in law didn't want his new car damaged. The Owners were on site and very helpful with the couple of problems we had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: road to property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Lynn - Thanks for this review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Kirklandbank. We've tried to make the house warm and welcoming, allowing families to spend time together or in their own spaces inside and outside the house.

We do let guests know in advance that there is a farm track up the hill to the house and that it's not suitable for low profile sports cars due to drainage channels and the fact it is a farm track. We're sorry your friend had to leave his car at the foot of the track in Alyth. The peaceful location and the views are a result of being away from urban roads. We drive a small Skoda Fabia Greenline with thin wheels and it gets up and down the track fine, so the track is ok for any family cars with normal clearance.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you can return sometime in the future.
Thanks Simon & Marian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing