We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Food” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Milton Hill, Abingdon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Steventon
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We were delighted to find this hotel for our daughter's wedding reception, the staff were excellent, and the establishment was perfect for us.
Having reserved the date we decided to eat at the hotel restaurant before booking the reception (we didn't stay at the hotel). We are very glad that we tried the food, it was the best £70 we ever spent! The food is not restaurant quality the sirloin steak was the worst steak we ever had and the chef's speciality slow cooked beef daube is more akin to hospital food. It wasn't even average, the starter and main course were the worst food we have ever been served and we didn't bother with dessert.
We are really are so disappointed :(

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rozogor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    329
    221
    103
    54
See reviews for
168
444
31
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

A girlie catch up weekend. We were blessed with weather do say outside and enjoyed the views. Made good use of the pool, the gym was a little disappointing. Menu choice could have been better but other than that it was superb. Will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin W, General Manager at Milton Hill, Abingdon, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for leaving your feedback.
I am glad you all enjoyed your weekend..
Kind regards
Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel can provide a wonderful, comfortable and romantic stay. But you need to know your way around. I really enjoyed my stay here. I deal with rooms next and then food and weddings last. Overall the hotel with a winding layout has a nice fell to it. Relaxed, explorative and enjoyable.

First when booking in, if it is Rebecca on reception that will be a great start. She is by far the most heedful, knowledgeable and world-class receptionist. That helps. In general we found the other staff helpful, unlike some other reviewers.

Second do not stay, whatever you do, in the garden wing. It is some distance from the hotel and main amenities. See other reviewers comments. Try to switch or get upgraded to the main house. Also be aware that rooms 310 to 315 are some distance from the main house.

We stayed in Room 410 on the first floor and that was lovely. Two problems, the flushing mechanism for the toilet did not work properly – probably fixed by now. Noise from a wedding party was stopped by the fourth telephone call to reception on the warm night (necessitating opening windows [no air condition]), though the same party started at 7am in the morning. That is the luck of the draw. The room was a comfortable, a little shabby and required painting but acceptable. Could have done with a mini-bar. Personal view: compared with other hotels of a similar standing, the room was larger and nicer. In some of the main areas, some might consider the carpets and furnishings to be somewhat tried and in need of replacement. Though, to me, they looked acceptable

Areas we liked were the Italian garden, the Italian dining room, the Illation bar area. The Garden room (for dining) is probably the least attractive. Free coffee is not always available at every station (many). But a 100 yard walk along the winding corridors will take you to the café lounge area which generally always has coffee and biscuits, as does the area just outside the Garden room.

Towels for the swimming pool are left along that corridor (though reception staff do not always know this). The swimming pool entrance itself is not signposted. You have go past the obvious entrance which is locked past the Wisteria room and towards the syndicate rooms and then turn right. Do not expect anyone to be on duty. You would not go to this hotel for the gym or spa experience. That said the grounds and facilities I would reckon as good.

Food.
Unlike other reviewers, and despite a large wedding, breakfast was acceptable. The food was ok rather than good but not much can go wrong with a breakfast., You served yourself at the buffet and there was plenty of food, constantly topped up. Coffee was brought within 5 minutes. No shortage of orange juice. You make your own toast. Croissants, pastries and pain au chocolat were stale and inedible. That said I found the breakfast experience, despite being crammed full of wedding guests, to be good.

As for the evening meal. The young waitresses were friendly, kind and a mix of Eastern European and English (for a change). The first course was acceptable though salad invariable means rocket. Both the chicken and tart dishes for the main course were inedible and this was pointed out. We did not ask for a refund though we should have. The deserts, by contrast were good though we mixed and matched from the menu. The wine was good. My advice is stick to something simple. Steaks are an additional £7. Chips and Burger are probably best to be safe. The wedding food, however, looked much better – see below.

Weddings.
The wedding (when we stayed) took place in the Oak room. Nice setting but probably limited to 70 to 100 guests. The wedding breakfast in the romantic Italian Garden looked excellent (did not taste the food though). Good range and quality looked to be infinitely superior to our evening meal. No complaints from the 200+ guests with their evening meal. What surprised me was the excellent Disco. This occupied the Lilac, Italian Garden Bar, Wisteria, Orchard and other rooms. It was funky, fun, danceable and loud: accommodated 300 guests with ease for both food and drink. More surprisingly the loud dancing music (with excellent lighting effects) could not be heard in other parts of the hotel. Miracle that. It did look fun. Made me want to join in.

Room Tip: See the main review. Do not stay in the garden wing. It is some distance from the hotel and main a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nice_Nick_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
158 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I spent two nights at Milton Hill House. My feelings about this hotel are mixed. I got a room in the so-called garden wing. Although the building itself is ugly, my room located on the second floor has a pretty nice view on the garden. It was also fairly quiet, in spite of the wedding parties held in the main building on both days.

I liked the a contemporary design of the room, and found it comfortable with many amenities including free wifi. However,it was not very clean, especially the bathroom. Besides, I had trouble sleeping as it was too hot in the room. Unfortunately there was no air conditioning in the room, and it was impossible to have the windows wide open.

Another concern was the breakfast. This hotel caters for big groups and clearly there was not enough staff to manage the flow of people. Tables are not cleared fast enough. When we asked the waitress to clear our table, she even did not clean it, and the new cutlery was dirty. Being not a big fan of English breakfasts, I was also disappointed by the cold section of the buffet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Otherguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
232 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were looking forward to a nice time here as we have been to many De vere venues so we know what to expect.

We were given two rooms in the ugly looking annexe building at the back of the hotel which is accesable through a load of corridors from reception. It really is an ugly looking building and looks dirty from the outside. The rooms that we had were ok they were plenty big enough for two people and were quite clean.

The housekeeping people were always polite and were the nicest people that we came accross who worked there.

The coffee machines closest to this building were always closed and you had to walk literally through the building to get a coffee. When we asked if they could put one of the machines on we were told no as we were not conference guests which I find slightly misleading as the website promotes free flowing cappucinos and lattes, are leisure guests not as important and conference guests?

The leisure facilities were ok the gym is small and the swimming pool area needs a good clean.

Breakfast was poor although there was a good selection the hot food had been sat there a while and the chef was putting the fresh food on top of the old. We waited ages to get a pot of tea and had to remind the waitress that we were still waiting.

The grounds when we were there was muddy but there was quite alot of heavy rain at the time as this was to be expected. There was a tennis court that had seen better days it was covered in moss and all overgrown.

The door from the gardens to the annexe had broken glass and was covered in dirt.

Reception were rude and unhelpful especially when I asked to speak to a manager as we were not having a good stay, who after a while did speak to me.

To be honest we couldn't wait to leave and this is one venue that we will not be returning to.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have just returned from a very nice stay at the Milton Hill House, the service and accommodation were completely adequate the only problem we had was with our evening meal, I can honestly say it was the worst we have ever had in a hotel, completely over cooked and not very well presented at all, other guests had returned food and we considered doing the same but our problem was really with the quality of food we were given, again breakfast was tasteless, It is such a shame as the place is in a lovely setting and staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hotel look better than the garden wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin W, General Manager at Milton Hill, Abingdon, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for leaving your feedback.
I read with interest your comments with the food and would be grateful if you would contact my Head Chef, Andrew Taylor, so that he can discuss your comments further.
Kind regards
Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Enjoyable overnight stop while visiting the area. Ate in the hotel and had a very pleasant meal with friends. Don't be mislead by the view of the hotel for the accommodation - rooms we had were what you would expect but in an ugly concrete annex block to the rear of the hotel - confusing enough to find that you needed a map. As the accommodation was in the annex wouldn't have been great if it was raining and. A pain to get to the leisure facilities. Breakfast was very nice - but why has no one solved the riddle of self service toast in hotels. Overall a good stay and wouldn't mind staying here again

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Camspig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin W, General Manager at Milton Hill, Abingdon, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for leaving your review.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay however I would argue that the leisure facilities are really quite easy to find and whilst the exterior of the garden wing is not as we would like, I hope you would agree that your room itself was clean and comfortable.
Regards
Gavin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Steventon
8.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
9.5 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
23.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
10.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milton Hill, Abingdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milton Hill, Abingdon

Property: Milton Hill, Abingdon
Address: Milton Hill House Milton Hill, Steventon, Didcot OX13 6AF, England (Formerly De Vere Venues Milton Hill House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Didcot > Steventon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Steventon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Milton Hill, Abingdon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Milton Hill, Abingdon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milton Hill House - De Vere Venue Hotel Steventon
Milton Hill Steventon
Milton Hill, Abingdon Steventon, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing