We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Steventon
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stay one night on 8 August. We passed by A43 and it was near bed time, we decided to stay overnight at Didcot Service area. Premier Inn was full and the staff recommend this hotel. We got a room. The room was spacious, clean and well equipped. The staff was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Darnel-HDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin W, General Manager at Milton Hill, Abingdon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review.
I look forward to seeing you again when you have more time to spend in the area.
Regards
Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 562 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and my room was out by Gables Cottage. It was an absolute mission to get there and far from the main hotel. The room was damp and had hardly any lighting. The wardrobe door didn't close and the bed and pillows were hard and uncomfortable. We were also given the wrong room and when I went to the main reception to query this the staff were extremly unhelpful and rude. They wouldn't help and brushed us to the side.
The food in the restaraunt was not worth the money we paid and the breakfast in the morning was cold!

I'm very disappointed with the service that was provided and will not be going back again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RThotel94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin W, General Manager at Milton Hill, Abingdon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest
I am sorry that you had such a bad experience whilst staying with us.

I am most keen to learn more about your stay so that I can make the necessary improvements for future guests, if you could take a few minutes to contact me directly I would be grateful.

Many thanks
Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It would be fair to say that we had a mixed experience of the hotel. Read on as there is some good feed-back!

Firstly we got it on a greatly reduced room rate, just £25 for the night, otherwise I suspect we may have been more disappointed. I can concur with the previous review regarding giving them a credit card in advance. We chose to stay for breakfast and paid cash the evening before. The following morning we came back to find a bill pushed under the door for the cost of the breakfast. We did manage to sort it out with reception but we felt that they thought we were trying to diddle them as they hadn't given us a receipt and they had to go to the back office to search for the cash. Luckily they found it but not sure what they would have done if they hadn't! Also agree that not having air conditioning in a hotel of this calibre is not good. We were told afterwards we could have asked for a fan but this was too little too late.

We were also disappointed not to have a room in the main house but were in an annexe that looked like a hideous 60s pre-fab concrete building. Apparently all De Vere hotels are in country houses and many of them have the majority of their accommodation in separate buildings but we weren't aware of this when we booked and didn't see anything on their web site to this effect.

On the plus side the staff were all very friendly and we had a cream tea on arrival which was excellent and the breakfast was good as well.

I would stay there again but only if we got another good deal.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ParqueTropical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin W, General Manager at Milton Hill, Abingdon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.
I am sorry that there was such confusion with your breakfast charges. My Front of House Manager will be investigating to ensure future transactions are carried out in the correct manner.

When booking our website does detail the garden wing and that the majority of our rooms are in a separate annex, I am sorry if this wasn’t clear for you.
Kind regards
Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Attended a wedding on 1st August
Beautiful old hotel with huge grounds
Staff were very friendly and so on the ball with regards to the wedding and all service

Room was modern, pretty small but adequate for us for the night.
No hair dryer which surprised me and no tea and coffee making facilities in our room which would have been nice thought there were tea and coffee stations in other parts of the hotel
Pretty thin walls/floors as we were woken up at 03.15 and 06.30 by somebody above us stomping around.
Breakfast the next morning was the usual buffet style and was plentiful
Have to say the Italian gardens certainly need work on all the beds
Seth, unsure if I have spelt his name correctly was on the ball, very good at his job.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank helenwooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin W, General Manager at Milton Hill, Abingdon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.
It is surprising to read there were neither hairdryer or coffee making facilities in your room, my housekeeping team wile b auditing all rooms today to make sure this is not the case in future.
Kind regards
Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely room. Old fashioned but quaint. Beautiful settings. Stunning manor house features. Had a pleasant night stay. Very professional staff. Attentive and polite. Delicious breakfast.

Only criticism was (and it's a minor point) the shower pull lever was extremely hard to pull up. Someone without my ninja grip would not have been able to operate it. On the positive side though, I could have easily taken a bath instead.

Will happily stay again.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank FunFami1y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin W, General Manager at Milton Hill, Abingdon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.
Its lovely to read that you had such a nice stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Myself, husband & 10 month old attended a wedding here. We could not fault the staff as they couldn't do enough for us. The grounds & venue for a wedding is fantastic, we were really impressed. The grounds were lovely & we received great service. The room was lovely although the 'garden rooms' were not as impressive as they sound & look dated from outside. This is in need of a face lift! There were refurbishments occurring with the hotel but no signs were up notifying you of this so a 5minute walk to the loo resulted in going back on myself & finding portaloos. The rooms were extremely warm but we requested a fan and this did the job. Great breakfast & if we were in the area again we would stay.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Jodie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin W, General Manager at Milton Hill, Abingdon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely comments.
I am pleased you all enjoyed the wedding celebrations and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards
Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I'm so disheartened by our two night stay that it's unbelievable. Instead of going through the whole fiasco I'll just highlight:

When booking in make sure that you register a Credit Card. This way, when your eating in the restaurant you will not be subjected to rude Maître-d slapping a bill on your table and demanding payment - WHILST you've got your desert spoon half way to your mouth, taking your last bite!

When you reach your room for the first time knock before you enter. Otherwise you may get the same surprise that we did - It was already somebody else's room.

The toilet only flushed intermittently

Given a used champagne glass at dinner (it had a fresh lipstick mark) - the waitress brought the glasses with the bottle when we ordered.

Given a cracked cup at breakfast. Now this is not pretty, but it's not the end of the world. Anyway, when the coffee was poured the crack was so bad it came straight out of the bottom; all over my husbands full breakfast plate.

A very kind waiter brought us a pot of tea to our breakfast table. On pouring the tea he noticed that it was a little weak so he PICKED UP MY KNIFE, STIRRED THE POT OF TEA WITH IT, USED MY NAPKIN TO DRY IT, AND THEN PUT IT BACK DOWN NEXT TO MY PLATE ready for me to use for my breakfast!

There was a massive screw sticking up out of the floor in the bathroom. When I went to climb into the shower I stood on it and punctured the bottom of my foot.

The safe did not work

The plug socket in the room did not work

The room card had to be taken back to reception on the second day, as it was only approved for one night.

No air conditioning or fan in the room. The temperature gauge read 104F. Bottom floor room so couldn't leave windows open.

Never any answer from reception when ringing them.

No fridge in room. Tea and Coffee facility in room, but only water option to fill the kettle is the bathroom taps.

In the morning the cleaning staff knocked once and entered. They did not wait for an answer or for me to get to the door. Because of the temperature and early morning, I was naked on top of the covers in bed - Totally unacceptable.

Eating dinner in the restaurant - the staff started wheeling huge round tables around us, also moving chairs - then started shouting backwards and forwards to the kitchen.

We had a 'Special Discounted Price' of £90 per night because we were part of a wedding party (we booked direct over the telephone). Found out that other members of the party booked online for £62.50 per night.

We travelled a long way expecting a lovely stay. It was dirty, staff were terribly rude, and very under trained. We would definitely not recommend this hotel..

Room Tip: Do not stay in the separate building around the back - truly a nightmare
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Phenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin W, General Manager at Milton Hill, Abingdon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

I am deeply saddened by the bad experience you received in the restaurant during both Breakfast and dinner.

Firstly please let me apologises for the issues you encountered in there and also within the hotel.



Please let me assure you that the issues you have commented on will be addressed as matter of urgency and as such we will be revisiting all training procedures with all staff members.

I will be personally overseeing these training sessions to ensure that the service and standards we expect our staff to deliver to our guests is being adhered to.



All the issues you have raised are totally unacceptable in any venue especially one such as ours which prides itself on great customer service and standards.



If you would like to contact me personally to discuss these matters further please feel free but please rest assured these matters will be dealt with and not just brushed aside as we take all feedback positive and negative very seriously in order to constantly improve our service.


Yours truly,


Andy Heaney
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Steventon
4.1 mi away
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
#4 of 5 in Abingdon
472 reviews
8.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
14.6 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
887 reviews
23.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
10.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milton Hill, Abingdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milton Hill, Abingdon

Address: Milton Hill House Milton Hill, Steventon, Didcot OX13 6AF, England (Formerly De Vere Venues Milton Hill House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Didcot > Steventon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Steventon
Price Range: £51 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Milton Hill, Abingdon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Milton Hill, Abingdon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milton Hill House - De Vere Venue Hotel Steventon
Milton Hill Steventon
Milton Hill, Abingdon Steventon, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing