We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect anniversary weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beech Grove House

Beech Grove House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uplyme
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beech Grove House
Ranked #5 of 5 Uplyme B&B and Inns
Dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect anniversary weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

My husband and I are just home having stayed here for a couple of nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary without the kids! On arrival, we received a lovely warm welcome with tea and home-made cakes in our room, sorry, on our private balcony overlooking the sea!! Our room was beautiful with a lovely comfy bed, a huge squashy 2-person seat that looked out over the balcony to the sea. A well kitted out bathroom and added extras such as bathrobes and slippers. All other essentials too - hairdryer, sewing kit and gorgeously scented toiletries. There was also a goodly choice of in-room entertainment - large tv, SKY, a HUGE selection of dvds and a dock for an iPod.
There is a lovely walk into Lyme Regis from Beech Grove House is along bridal paths and fields, then following the river into town - probably about 20 minutes, but 20 very calming and relaxing minutes.
The grounds of BGH are amazing - a huge garden stretching up the hill behind the house with chickens (fresh eggs for breakfast) and a beautiful Finnish barbecue lodge, complete with reindeer skins to keep you warm! A walk to the top of this garden is a work out in itself - a Summer house at the top allows you to sit and take it all in (and get your breath back!). There is also a hot tub for guests to use.
Breakfast is cooked to order and covers a whole range of choices from cereals to fruit to fish to the full English!!
Its location just out of town means the BGH is away from the town and at night is fantastically dark and very quiet! The only noises being those of the countryside around you - the odd sheep and birds.
The owners are extremely pleasant and very generous allowing us to share, what is in effect, their beautiful home with us. Thank you. We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbz216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
63
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Had a very pleasant stay over the Bank Holiday weekend. Made to feel extremely welcome and the house is in a beautifully quiet spot. The facilities far exceeded our expectations and the room was extremely comfortable with a fantastic view of the sea. Free to use the extensive garden which included outdoor spa, summer house with barbeque and large sun deck. Good choice of breakfast, cooked to order. Although in Uplyme, very pleasant walk along the riverbank to Lyme Bay - took us approx 20 minutes. If you want a boutique hotel in a quiet country location away from the crowds you can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: Ask for the Ash room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We had a great stay at Beech Grive House. We were made to feel very welcome whilst given freedom to enjoy the house, gardens and hot tub. The walk down to Lyme Regis is very pleasant and worth staying outside of the town centre to appreciate the countryside and fantastic views

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjb1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We first visited the Beech Grove House back in April 2010 and liked it so much we have just arrived home from our 5th relaxing break there. It is an ideal base to visit a wide range of places in the surrounding area. Away from the hustle and bustle of Lyme Regis but close enough to take advantage of the many restaurants and eating places Lyme and the surrounding area has to offer.
Everything about the place is the best and staying there is all about enjoying the peace and quiet, the surroundings views, the house, the sun room, the balconies, the rooms, and the work-in-progress extensive gardens and pond.
It goes without saying that the rooms are well fitted out with luxury beds, flat screen multi-channel TVs, en-suite’s with quality bathroom fitments. Some little luxuries such as dressing gowns, fluffy slippers, still and sparkling water put the Beech Grove in a class well beyond the expectation of a B&B.
Breakfast is what you make of it, the great choice includes the full English breakfast with home made bread and also extends to scrambled egg with smoked salmon.
It costs a little bit more than the run of the mill B&B’s but we all know that quality is usually worth that little bit extra and we all deserve to treat ourselves now and again.
What you see on the website is what you get and more courtesy of Peter and Lorraine – try it, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beechgrovehouse, Owner at Beech Grove House, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Many thanks for your review bob, it is always nice to be appreciated and a return visit is the best indication that guests have enjoyed staying here,
We look forward to welcoming you again later in the year.

Peter and Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We were made to feel very welcome, our accommodation was luxurious and our balcony breakfast was five star. This was more like a boutique hotel experience, we don't normally stay at b & b but we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulinenDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Excellent location and views, hosts, accomodation, the quality of the food, mainly homemade or locally sourced and very tasty, wide choice of menu, a luxury break.

Room Tip: Extremely comfortable bed, lovely furnishings, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, bathroom excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siamese53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

Peter made us feel really welcome when we arrived and gave us a tour including a full explanation of our room facilities - not really needed except for the futuristic bath/shower which was surprisingly simple to use. The room (Ash) was spacious and with a lovely view once the cloud lifted and we were able to sit out and watch the world from our private balcony. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the toiletries provided were of a good quality.
Peter could not have been more accommodating - we had been unable to get hold of any taxi company before our arrival but Peter offered to sort it out for us and quickly organised it for later that evening.
The breakfast had loads of choice. Hubby had the full breakfast which he loved and I had the haddock with poached egg which I hate to say was overcooked on both elements - hard haddock and solid yolk. However we both had the full breakfast the second day and couldn't fault the food. The eggs are from their own hens and you could taste the difference.
Beech Grove has a lovely location with a nice walk into town - just don't get lost on the way back as we did.
The only real drawback was that the wifi did not work in our room - you really need to be downstairs for it to work
Overall we would definitely recommend Beech Grove House to anyone looking for a clean, friendly and relaxing B & B.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uplyme
2.9 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
16.4 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
13.0 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
24.2 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Grove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Grove House

Property: Beech Grove House
Address: Beech Grove House Rhode Lane | lyme regis, Uplyme, Lyme Regis DT7 3TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Uplyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Uplyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious relaxed eco friendly contemporary country house 5*bed and breakfast.Tranquil location, set in 2.5 acres parkland style gardens, with stunning views across open fields to the sea at Lyme Regis an easy 25 minute walk away. 2 individually styled en-suite bedrooms, steam/sauna showers,sea or landscaped garden views, both rooms have direct access to terrace or balcony. BBQ lodge and hot tub in garden with spectacular sea views. No children or pets.NO SMOKING. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beech Grove House Uplyme, Lyme Regis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing