We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25th anniversary”
Review of Talbot Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uplyme
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Talbot Arms
Ranked #3 of 4 Uplyme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
“25th anniversary”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at the Talbot arms for our 25th anniversary, in the cottages at the back of the pub,the room was spotlessly clean.Steve and Wendy was so friendly and helpful,Breakfast was great loads of choice,we had a great time and have booked to go back again,a little gem

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talbotarms, Manager at Talbot Arms, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hi Lisa F,

So pleased you chose to spend your anniversary at the Talbot and so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Looking forward to seeing you both soon,

Holly x

Pp. Steve and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    34
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
78
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed here from 5th to 8th July .. As we were attending our sons wedding at Weycroft Hall
on the 6th July we booked all 5 rooms for family & friends and cannot find anything negative
to say, we were made very welcome and found the rooms extremely clean also as others have said as they are set back from the pub we felt almost self contained. The breakfast was really good, just what was needed after maybe a " few too many" drinkies at the wedding. Steve & Wendy were very helpful, even let us borrow cutlery & an umbrella for our visit to the beach with the grand children. Hope to be back one day .. Thank you .. The Cremins .. Bexl

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Della C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talbotarms, Manager at Talbot Arms, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hi Della C,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you all at the Talbot and please do let us know if any of your family and friends are visiting the area, we'd love to have them stay with us too!

Hope to see you again soon

Holly x

PP Wendy and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I would like everyone to now what a great village pub this is! !
This is my local pub and without being biased believe it to be one of the most welcoming pubs I have ever been in!
The pub has currently been entered for the community pub of the year! !
Steve and Wendy can never do enough for you.
The food is excellent, my favourite being the home made steak and ale pie but if u are lucky enough to go in on a Sunday make sure you book the carvery! !
Please come and see this pub for yourself and you won't be disappointed!
I have never written a review for anything before but was so enraged by a comment on trip advisor I felt I had to set the record straight!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talbotarms, Manager at Talbot Arms, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hi Amanda W,

A village pub needs good villagers to support it, and we are very fortunate to have the support from such a good local community.

Visitors to the pub always comment on the friendliness of the locals who always make them feel welcome.

Thank you for your encouraging and kind words.

Holly

PP. Steve and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I've just returned from a one night stay at The Talbot Arms with 9 of my girl friends for my hen night celebrations at nearby River Cottage. We didn't realise that the landlady Wendy was a fellow Wels woman and we must say, we have had the most relaxing time. Nothing was too much trouble. We had all of the 5 rooms at the back of the pub, which were immaculately clean and very tastefully furnished, with everything you could need for a short stop-over and a very reasonable price. Gorgeous breakfast this morning, sat in our pyjamas as we were the only ones staying at the pub. Very chilled out hosts Wendy and Steve helped with getting to the nearby seaside town of Lyme Regis during the day and then all our arrangements with River Cottage for our evening dining there. The pub itself is on the main road running through Upper Lyme so is right on the bus stops to and from Lyme Regis and is situated next to a lovely beer garden and stream. The rooms are separate from the pub itself and there are certainly no untoward smells coming from the kitchens, so do not be put off by the slightly over dramatic review below advising they would be put off staying there. Lets not forget that this is a fully functioning pub and eatery and therefore you should expect the odd waft of food, surely?! The amount of time spent in the rooms themselves is minimal as you would be out and about for the majority of time and despite being at the back of a pub, were very quiet and well-insulated. It felt like our own private place to stay but with the luxury of not having to do the dishes after a full English breakfast!! Well done to you both for getting it so right. We had no complaints for £37.50 per person!! We would highly recommend anyone going to River Cottage to stay here.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a twin-bedded room, the rest have double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeanneFraserCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talbotarms, Owner at Talbot Arms, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Hi DollyDimpleCardiff!

Thankyou so much for your fab comments, it was a pleasure to have you all in the pub. Really pleased you chose the Talbot for part of your hen do!

All the best for your wedding day, please come and see us again soon with the girls..... or the new hubby!!

Thanks
Wendy and Steve x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We visted here whilst camping at Hook Farm just up the road. The pub is welcoming and the beer is good. The food choice is a bit limited however and on the night we were there the food was quite average. The cooking smell when we were sitting in the bar was a bit off putting especially as the evening went by so not sure that I would want to stay in one of the rooms. Sorry!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spauly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talbotarms, Manager at Talbot Arms, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Spauly,

Thankyou for taking the time to comment on our pub.

Regarding the food, over the years during July and August we have learnt by experience to plan our menu around what we are asked for by families and their young children staying in the local area. Although you may feel that our food choice is limited, we thought the range of steaks and freshly homemade dishes on our menu met the majority of our customers requests.

After giving some thought to your comment we have decided to start a specials board throughout the summer in addition to our menu. So thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We are a small village pub and the proximity of the kitchen to the bar might have been the reason for the smell of food being cooked during food service. We have been awarded the highest level, 5, by the food standards agency for cleanliness and extraction in the kitchen, so not sure what else we can do to avoid this happening.

However as our rooms are a completely separate entity, away from the pub in the garden area, we can assure you that if you were to stay with us this would not be a problem.

Hope this answers some of your comments and that you will visit again, if you do please make yourselves known to us, we will be happy to enjoy a drink with you!

Thanks
Holly

PP Steve and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinnor
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

stayed here on a visit to river cottage, steve was very helpful in arranging a taxi on the friday night to go there, clean comfortable accommodation at a reasonal price. with a good selection of real ales.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamescas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Have just returned from a two night stay here for the bank holiday weekend and I can't recommend staying here enough. Steve and the staff were extremely welcoming and couldn't do enough for you. The rooms are exactly as they are shown in the pictures with comfy beds and quiet away from the road, great night's sleep. The food was delicious with a superb breakfast spread. This accommodation is a 25 minute walk from Lyme Regis, or a 3/4 minute drive. Or if you don't want to drive then the bus stop's right outside the hotel every hour and is the easiest way to get to Lyme. I would 100% recommend staying here for the cost, comfort and overall welcoming feeling, you feel like you've been there for a week after just 5 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoetravel31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uplyme
2.3 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
335 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
423 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cobb Arms
Cobb Arms
#16 of 45 in Lyme Regis
261 reviews
2.0 mi away
Monkton Wyld Court
Monkton Wyld Court
#2 of 7 in Charmouth
36 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Arms

Property: Talbot Arms
Address: Lyme Road, Uplyme, Lyme Regis DT7 3TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Uplyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Uplyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Talbot Arms Uplyme, Lyme Regis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing