We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Talbot Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uplyme
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Talbot Arms
Ranked #3 of 4 Uplyme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

An interesting country pub, access to units from car park is difficult, down steps, across a small bridge, then negotiate a pebbled courtyard. Not easy with a suitcase! Rooms are clean and functional but quite small. Access to the pub bar is via the courtyard and a flight of stairs.
Steve and Wendy are friendly, helpful hosts. Food is good and plentiful, the dinner menu is small but varied. When we visited dinner was not available on Sunday or Monday nights. On Sunday night no taxis services were operating so driving to Lyme Regis for food is the only option, although the staff did offer to arrange " take aways" from the Chinese or Indian outlets.
A pleasant village pub the only one in Uplyme with a busy local trade in a nice location. The web site oversells its features and attributes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talbotarms, Manager at Talbot Arms, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi Alan h,

Thank you for your kind words. I agree that with the pub being built on a hill, stairs can sometimes be an issue, that's why we always offer to carry your bags down from the pub to the rooms should you need help. As you also mention, there is a slope from the car park up to the main pub through which you can access the rooms. (I realise this might not have been obvious on first arrival!)

During our quiet season we do not offer food Sunday or Monday nights, we usually don't have anyone in to have dinner! If you are unsure we always recommend you call to check that we are serving food before you make any evening plans.

Taxis in Lyme Regis and Uplyme are few and far between! When visiting the area we recommend that you call in advance to let us know you will need a taxi so we can get one booked for you! Sometimes this is a pain but it does come with country living! Sometimes it's quite nice to be out in the sticks!

Thank you for staying with us - we hope to see you again if you are ever in the area

Holly

Pp. Steve and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    33
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
75
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Just home from a lovely stay in Devon. We had the pleasure of staying with Steve and Wendy for two nights, on our way to River Cottage, we arrived early and the welcome was so appreciated we had driven for hours. Wendy went out of her way to get our room ready so we could change even made us a pot of Tea (heaven), lovely people and staff. Great in every way.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keeleykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talbotarms, Manager at Talbot Arms, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hi keeleykins,

Thank you very much for such a positive response. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would love for you to stay again.

Best wishes.

Kaitlyn

Pp. Steve and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Recently my wife celebrated a rather special birthday and we hired the Lyme Regis Power Boat for a party. Perfect venue, perfect position on the beach but what really made that evening so special was that we got Steve from the Talbot Arms to cook a lamb roast down at the Power boat club.
It was cooked on a spit for four hours with a mint glaze and served with amazing stuffing. If you can imagine how your last piece of lamb tasted then this was even better.
As more people sat down to eat there became when conversation just about stopped as everyone tucked in.
Well done Steve, you delivered the goods.
Thank you
Harry

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harry3287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talbotarms, Manager at Talbot Arms, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hi harry3287,

Thank you very much for such a positive response. We are so happy that you enjoyed your day.

Best wishes.

Kaitlyn

Pp. Steve and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Recently had the pleasure of visiting Uplyme to stay with my fiancees grandfather who lives 100 yards from the pub. The old gent is nearly 90 and the welcome, care and consideration that they show him here is spectacular. The lengths they go to in order to help him out is truly heart warming. The staff are wonderful, attentive and aware of the needs of their customers. The food was super and the portion sizes are just right. Great beers available and a terrific Sunday carvery. Superb stuff. Highly recommended if you are looking for a warm welcome and hearty food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertiecb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talbotarms, Manager at Talbot Arms, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hi Bertiecb,

Thank you very much for such positive comments. We like to look after our customers and they will look after us - as Wendy always says 'A pub is only as good as the customers!' Hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes.

Kaitlyn

Pp. Steve and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have eaten and stayed here in the past. Our visit today was as good as always. Friendly welcome, great pub grub and nice surroundings. The food is also good value and nice choice of beers. Couldnt ask for more!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingboo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talbotarms, Manager at Talbot Arms, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hi Kingboo2014,

Thank you very much for such a positive response. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time here. We would love to see you again!

Best wishes.

Kaitlyn

Pp. Steve and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on business. Made to feel very welcome as soon as I arrived. Room was modest in size but spotlessly clean. In fact looked brand new.
Dinner was really good quality pub food with 4 veg, and plenty of it.
Beer was v nice and all served by pleasant and attentive bar staff.
Whats not to like!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talbotarms, Manager at Talbot Arms, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi MikeH81,

Thank you for such positive comments, we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again sometime in the future!

Best wishes.

Kaitlyn

Pp. Steve and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oundle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at the Talbot the first bank holiday in May last on a visit to River Cottage, Steve and Wendy were wonderful, they could not do enough for us and believe me we were trouble. Arrived very late, overslept in the morning and Steve still went out out of his way to make sure everything was great. So much so we are back there again this Bank holiday coming. See you soon Steve and Wendyxxxx

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talbotarms, Manager at Talbot Arms, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi Margaret,

Thank you for such a positive response, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you came back a second time. It's nice to see familiar faces, hope to see you again soon!

Best Wishes.

Kaitlyn.

Pp. Steve and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uplyme
2.3 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#8 of 45 in Lyme Regis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cobb Arms
Cobb Arms
#19 of 45 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 45 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Arms

Property: Talbot Arms
Address: Lyme Road, Uplyme, Lyme Regis DT7 3TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Uplyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Uplyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Talbot Arms Uplyme, Lyme Regis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing