We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uplyme
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westley Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Uplyme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Such a warm welcome from Ian and Jenny with homemade biccies and tea on the sunny verandah. Their B&B feels like home and is positioned nicely for trips to Lyme Regis and to River Cottage (we had a car, but also walked to the coast and bused back). Jenny's breakfasts cannot be faulted -freshly prepared, lots to choose from, homemade jams - nothing is too much trouble. We had the room in the front with the ensuite which was spotless and it suited us perfectly. The price was right, it was definitely good value. There were no negatives and we would stay there again (just wish we were a bit closer) and recommend this lovely B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skeeterbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

For us, this was the perfect place to stay for a visit to River cottage - 5/10 minutes and £15 each way by taxi. The rooms were clean and bright, breakfast had plenty of options and the owners were friendly and helpful.

Something worth noting - we booked 2 rooms advertised as being good for 2 couples or a family sharing a bathroom, I had assumed this meant it was a sort of "suite", where both rooms had access to the one bathroom, in reality we were quite far away/down the hall from the bathroom and anyone could access it, if I'd understood this I would have booked the en suite rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodfiendWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Jenny and Ian are fantastic hosts and managed to accommodate two children under 1.
Nothing was too much trouble, the breakfast was fantastic and we were made to feel very welcome. Very good value for miney.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Jenny and Ian were wonderful hosts, a cup of tea was waiting when we arrived, the Westley is perfectly situated for visiting Lyme Regis and the Jurassic Coast and our breakfast was wonderful...thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We found Ian and Jenny wonderful hosts, nothing was to much trouble. Our room was spotless and the breakfast a treat. Although some way out from Lyme Regis the flat walk following the stream into Lyme; a steady 30 minute stroll, was very pleasant. For those less energetic there is a bus stop on the road some thirty yards in front of the property. For an evening meal there was a village pub offering a fine choice of beer and food with generous portions only some one hundred yards away. The information pack provided in the room was very comprehensive and Ian and Jenny, having lived in the area for some time had a wealth of knowledge on places to visit, knowledge they were only too willing to pass on to their guests when asked. We spent three delightful days here in mid September and would recommend it to family and friends and would certainly return here when in the area again. With this hospitality there will surely be many others who will do the same.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Mr N and I stayed for two nights with Jenni and Ian, partly to attend a birthday party nearby, and partly to have a bit of a break from London life. They were immediately friendly, hospitable, and accommodating, showed around their immaculate house and made us feel welcome. The bed was very comfortable, the sheets were crisp and cool, and the view from the window over the cricket pitch was bucolic. Jenni cooked a delicious breakfast, with local sausages and home-made preserves, and had left us some melt-in-the-mouth ginger biscuits in our room. Hard to believe this is a new venture that they embarked on only at Easter: they are behave like experienced hands, with good suggestions for places to visit. Westley is well-placed for picturesque Lyme Regis, the Jurassic Coast, cliff top walks, beautiful East Devon, and the local pub.

Room Tip: Room 2 has an ensuite shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Having arrived after a three-hour drive ahead of our friend's 50th birthday party, Jenni and Ian greeted us warmly, showed us their impecable home, then put the kettle on - perfect! As others have said on this website, they truly are wonderful hosts and we wouldn't hesitate to return if in the town. In fact, we've already recomended them to my father-in-law. Our room was cleanliness personified, while it also had satellite TV which we were not particularly expecting. Our breakfast in the morning was delicious - especially the locally-made sausages - and set us up perfectly for our all-too-soon return journey. Wonderful.

Room Tip: Call and talk to Jenni and Ian in person, they are extremely accommodating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uplyme
1.1 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
443 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
383 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westwood Guest House
Westwood Guest House
#3 of 45 in Lyme Regis
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#11 of 45 in Lyme Regis
108 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#2 of 45 in Lyme Regis
752 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kersbrook Guest Accommodation
Kersbrook Guest Accommodation
#23 of 45 in Lyme Regis
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westley Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westley Bed & Breakfast

Address: Westley Lyme Road | Uplyme, Uplyme, Lyme Regis DT7 3UY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis > Uplyme
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Uplyme
Price Range: £65 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the village of Uplyme, Westley is approximately one mile inland from the beautiful coastal town of Lyme Regis on the Jurassic Coast,a World Heritage site. With ample parking and next to the village pub for meals,we offer a small,friendly service with a warm welcome,a comfortable bed,and lovely freshly cooked breakfast.We are on the main bus route with train connections for Waterloo,London. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Westley Bed & Breakfast Uplyme, Lyme Regis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing