We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding party”
Review of Talbot arms

Talbot arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Uplyme
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“wedding party”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

had a fantastic wedding celebration here on 1st March, 2014 and a delicous sunday lunch the next day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MasonG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    27
    11
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
481 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, real English food!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We had a sort of family reunion here and one of our family members who lives locally, reserved a large table. I had never been to the place before, but for sure I will be going back when I am in this part of the world. This is the quintessential English country pub. Great atmosphere and with a wonderful, honest, authentic array of delicious English pub grub!

The steak and ale pie captivated many of us. I may have had a meat-based pie that was better during my life, but I don't recall it! What a wonderful slab of perfect pastry and incredibly tender meaty goodness! Served with veggies and big real English "chips" (US: a bit like steak fries) this was perfect alongside a glass of cider. There were many other great items on the menu - obviously fish and chips was one of the offerings, as well as some slightly more sophisticated fare for those who felt the need to be posh!

The dessert choices were simply fantastic. I plumped for bread and butter pudding with clotted cream (you can choose ice cream if you prefer). My wife makes a great bread and butter pudding, but even she said this was one of the best she had ever tasted. For American visitors, I would strongly suggest having it with clotted cream (almost impossible to get in the US). The clotted cream served here was SUPERB (and a generous helping too).

As someone who is lucky enough to eat in some of the finest restaurants all over the world, this is one of the best pub meals I have ever had. Actually, let me re-phrase that: in terms of sheer overall enjoyment, this was one of the best MEALS I have ever had IRRESPECTIVE of venue.

Loved it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CastawayKnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis
Level Contributor
277 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Scumptious Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Took a friend out for a birthday Sunday Lunch here at the Talbot Arms today. Wonderful choice of fresh veg assortment, delicious roast joints, of beef, turkey and gammon.
2 Sunday lunch sittings in this busy friendly local pub, so busy , you need to book.
Superb on all levels, good drinks, lovely friendly service and the best Sunday Carvery lunch out ever. Thoroughly enjoyed and thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sall-jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Nice Pub”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We really enjoy going here.

On a Sunday they do a very nice carvery with a great cauliflower cheese. but you need to be in there on time as it goes quick. Although thee are two sittings to pick from.

Nice beer as well that goes down like a treat. Friendly staff and great ambience to it with great place to sit outside or inside is very pleasant too.

Right on the border between Devon and Dorset - Best of the best two counties.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ViktorAndTherese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stumbled across this pub whilst trying to book a table in local area, wonderful Sunday carvery very tasty and staff very friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Talbot arms also viewed

 

Been to Talbot arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing