We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well....”
Review of Talbot arms

Talbot arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Uplyme
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: Pub, Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well....”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Having read some of the other reviews we thought we would go and look and see.
It's easier to clarify things though.
1) the place is NOT in need of a deep clean. The tables and decor were spotless
2) yes,it's a design mosh mash. But that makes it interesting.
We were greeted by a friendly bar maid and had to wait till they started serving as we were early.
The food was good and value for money. The only negative thing was that the young male waiter/barman didn't fully clear the table and seemed to forget to bring the dessert menu which we asked for. It's only when we stood up to leave that he appeared.
Don't let that put you off. The place serves good honest food. We would go back, but maybe not for dessert.

Helpful?
Thank HonestDad007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talbotarms, Manager at Talbot arms, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi honestdad007,

Thank you for your lovely review! I'm glad to hear that you have dismissed some of the horrible comments that another reviewer added! We felt that they were unnecessary - and it's nice to be proved right once in a while!

We spoke to the barman on duty that night, he couldn't have been more apologetic! Sometimes it does get busy in here, and we do end up diving from kitchen to bar to serving. Things can get forgotten, but not usually the customers! If you would like to make yourselves known to us next time you visit - we will be sure to amend the situation!

Hope to see you again soon, We might even show you the pudding board this time!

Thanks again

Holly

Pp. Steve and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    26
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic local”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We visit this pub regularly and are never disappointed. The food is always great with plenty of choice. Most of the staff are really friendly and welcoming. It's a shame they don't allow dogs into the actual bar as we would probably visit more in bad weather/ winter time if we could take her with us. But fully understand that at busy times there are a number of very young children about and some dogs can be a bit unpredictable. However, the beer garden and paddock provide ample room for them- maybe a covered area outside would help us dog lovers in the rain??

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GinnyBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talbotarms, Manager at Talbot arms, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi ginnybs,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I understand that it's not ideal having to leave your dog at home, but as you say - some are unpredictable and unfortunately there has to be one rule for all!
We do have 2 covered areas outside for dog walkers (one in the top garden and on by the river) and we are always happy to provide dog water for you.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again

Holly
Pp. Steve and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great family meal”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Visited with young children . Excellent value for money. Most welcoming. Staff all very accomodating with the children, providing bread and butter and jugs of juice .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bob_cockman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talbotarms, Manager at Talbot arms, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi bob,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are really glad that you enjoyed your meal with us - we like to be able to offer something for everyone - even if it's just a bit of bread and butter!

Thanks again

Holly

Pp. Steve and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just Wonderful”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just re-visited this GREAT local pub. It was extremely busy, but this did not affect the service we recieved from the lovely staff.. The food was delicious, our party all choose different dishes, there wasn't a scrap left on anyone's plate.. I highly recommend the cod and chips and steak pie. This is a perfect pub to visit if you appreciate a friendly welcome and a full and satisfied tummy..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Warders151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talbotarms, Manager at Talbot arms, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Hi warders151

Thank you for your kind words - we are so glad that we have lived up to expectations once again - we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thanks

Holly

Pp. steve and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Food was average, beer was slightly flat and decorations were rather dated, sorry. We called in for dinner and had Steak and Ale pie but the pastry wasn't cooked and when I pointed this out the waitress was very apologetic but no discount or recompense was forthcoming.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rickshaw60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
talbotarms, Manager at Talbot arms, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Rickshaw60,

We are so sorry to hear that your visit was not satisfactory. We have had no complaints to date regarding the beer and are disappointed that you didn't mention this to the bar staff on duty as they could have rectified it.

Our steak and ale pie is one of the main dishes that has people coming back year after year, there can be no excuse on our behalf that this meal was so disappointing for you. We have spoken to the waitress that was involved and she did say that she offered to take the dish back to the kitchen for you but you refused. I realise this is probably because you didn't want to cause a problem but if the chef doesn't realise there is a problem he can't fix it! Refunds and discounts can only be given by senior staff so please don't feel that we overlooked you - but through no fault of yours, no message got through that there had been any issue.

With regards to the 'dated' decor in the pub, most of the wall hangings and memorabilia is sourced from local people who wish to see their memories and local history displayed somewhere in the heart of the village. We do recognise that it needs a new lick of paint in certain areas, and these are ongoing jobs that we can only do in the winter months when the pub is quiet.

If you are ever in the area again, please make yourselves known to us, we really hope that we can welcome you back to prove we can do better!!

Thank you for taking the time to review

Best wishes
Holly

Pp. Steve and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Talbot arms also viewed

 

Been to Talbot arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing