We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“springfield hotel and health club”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pentre Halkyn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

bedrooms and bathrooms are overdue for refurb,but the staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble for them. my wife and i are bikers and we stay here several times a year.the staff always recognise us and make us very welcome. Paul the manager is a credit to the hotel.They could not find a better man for the job. Anything you ask for,paul will help. Just had another great break at the springfield and enjoyed every minute..Fantastic steak meal in the restaurant last night...A big thankyou to all the staff once again. From LES and LINDA at Hayfield Post O ffice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzuki1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

It's difficult to find anything to say that's really derogatory about the Springfield Hotel and Health Club.

Its clean, the room was OK, the breakfast was OK, the gym was OK, the pool was OK and it was warm.

The hotel staff were polite and helpful, the house-keeping staff were a cheery bunch, the hotel location was good for access to north Wales and the views good from the front of the hotel.

On the downside, the hotel creeks from top to bottom! It is impossible to sneak into anyone else's room at night without the whole hotel knowing someone was on the move! And don't grab onto the carved fittings on the stairway to reception as they all wobble and seem ready to fall off completely!

Its the sort of place to stay that doesn't leave you wanting desperately to return. However, you wouldn't be too bothered if you had to stay there again!

All-in-all its OK!!!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel enjoy great views across the estuary - I don't know if the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BnV2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I recently stayed at the hotel as part of an arrangement with Swim Inns, the staff were very friendly and helpful particularly Lisa on reception, she also served breakfast on Monday morning. She realised I was there for the lessons and tried to put me at ease and introduced me to another person on the course, helping to settle my nerves. The hotel as mentioned by other people could do with some updating and the floorboards are very noisy at times disturbing my sleep (I am a very light sleeper). Our overall experience of the hotel was very good. Food both breakfast and bar snacks was very good value for money. The swimming course was excellent, I can now swim although I need to practice, I would recommend the course to any non-swimmers especially those who are scared of the water. The bonus of this pool is there is no real deep end 1.5 metres at its deepest, also you can swim and practice outside of your lesson time. Steve the teacher is excellent and I stills confidence from day one.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoncasterMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The hotel is very well situated and easy to find if you are going into North Wales. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was good with a comfortable bed and it was clean and well decorated. Our room had views over the estuary and the noise from the main road was negligible. We had a pre-dinner drink in the conservatory and yes it is narrow and by the swimming pool but we looked at the view over to the Wirral instead. The restaurant looks like it has recently been refurbished and the seating and ambience was good. The menu was better than usual pub food and the prices were very reasonable. Are only criticism, we felt quite lonely as there were so few guests especially it being a Friday night. Wished we had booked the following weekend when they had entertainment!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gardenofengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The lady on reception called Cath informed me and my husband that they had upgraded us as it was our anniversary to the executive suite, what a lovely thing to do. The suite was enormous and very comfortable. Everything about the place was lovely, the health club pool was beautifully warm and we had the sauna to ourselves, the food was delicious and very reasonably priced, Sam the bar man was very helpful and efficient at his job, yes we will be back.

Room Tip: Just enjoy and relax in comfortable surroundings .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123julieandsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here for three days to visit family in Rhyl. We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful in particular Paul the young manager who was so efficient and served us in the bar and restaurant .We found the food to be very good especially the Sunday carvery served by the Sous chef and an assistant commis chef. We would recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to visit this part of North Wales. Slight downside was difficulty in using the shower where there was a console to adjust the hot and cold water, never come across this before, anywhere and it was a challenge to achieve a flow of hot water at the correct temperature. the bath also is set quite high up . There is the bonus of a small swimming pool also though we did not use.

Room Tip: Very busy road not safe to walk on outside hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wyandour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Had two nights here separated by a weekend back at home. Good rooms, decent pub style food that is reasonably priced, plenty of parking, gymn, pool, free wifi... Everything i needed.

Would certainly stay again if working in mid wales

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pentre Halkyn
6.8 mi away
Village Hotel Chester St David's
5.2 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Halkyn
Travelodge Halkyn
#1 of 1 in Halkyn
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
10.1 mi away
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
Oriel Country Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in St. Asaph
574 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Hotel & Health Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Hotel & Health Club

Address: A55 Expressway, Pentre Halkyn, Holywell CH8 8BA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Holywell > Pentre Halkyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pentre Halkyn
Price Range: £47 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield Hotel & Health Club 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Springfield Hotel & Health Club enjoys fabulous views over the River Dee and has excellent road links to the beautiful Roman city of Chester, North-West England and North Wales. This friendly, comfortable hotel has a fantastic location for those travelling on business or for those exploring the attractions and countryside of North Wales. All of the rooms are comfortable and well equipped with colour freeview television, complimentary hi-speed internet, tea/coffee making facilities and en suite showers and baths. The brand new Health Club opened in March 2011, with facilities including a gym with state-of-the-art equipment, indoor swimming pool and sauna, all of which are entirely free of charge for guests. Free high-speed wireless internet access is now also available throughout the Hotel. The new restaurant and bar offer home-cooked food, made using fresh local produce. We are particularly proud of our food and have many regular customers. Or simply relax in the Bar and take in the stunning views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Springfield Hotel & Health Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Hotel And Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club Pentre Halkyn, Holywell, Flintshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing