We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great week doing the Swim Inns course at the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pentre Halkyn
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great week doing the Swim Inns course at the hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Overall was so impressed with this hotel mainly because the staff were just so helpful and friendly- it felt like a home from home with the hospitality. I went to stay there with my husband and 2 year old daughter as I was doing the Swim Inns course- the course was great - and the pool facilities were perfect. Although the pool is not massively deep it was very clean and was perfect for a course to raise confidence and also if you want to have a good refreshing swim in very clean surroundings. We cannot praise the staff enough - they made us feel so welcome throughout the week. The food in the bar/ restaurant was really good quality and very reasonably priced so much so that we pretty much ate there each day! The breakfast too was fine. The rooms were always clean and although the décor was a bit dated the facilities were just fine for us and we were given a family room so there was enough room for the travel cot and all our belongings. We would definitely recommend the hotel in terms of location, facilities and most of all the staff hospitality . Steve the Swim Inns instructor was great too - my confidence in water has soared. Thanks all and I'm sure we will be back.

Room Tip: we slept very well though the room we were in meant you could sometimes hear the tv noise from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fsc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    144
    46
    14
    9
See reviews for
102
164
56
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Deeside
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Had our wedding here and they could not do enough. The staff went above and beyond to make our day perfect from the moment we booked to the minute we left the day after. The food was gorgeous the rooms were lovely and the grounds are well kept. The prices of food and drink were cheap for a hotel which many of our guests were pleasantly surprised about.

Highly recommended as the perfect venue for a wedding or just a break away.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhizo1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The owners and staff of The Springfield Hotel provide a warm and friendly welcome with great service, good food and a wonderful place to stay. Add in the heated indoor pool, gym, health spa and those wonderful views. Highly recommended whether you're staying on business, passing by or using the hotel as a base to explore the wonderful North Wales Coast and countryside.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel_Cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebjan, Owner at Springfield Hotel & Health Club, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thanks for the feedback, for the benefit of other readers Mr Cooper stayed with us on a very regular basis for over 3 years!. We miss you! All the very best.

Kind regards,

All the team at the Springfield Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just got back after staying 2 nights in this hotel as I was on a course in nearby Flint.

First impressions were that it seemed okay, friendly when I booked in and explained evening meals and breakfast arrangements.

A swimming pool that looked okay and a gym that had a decent selection of kit. The bar area had a good view and to be fair the evening meals were very nice. Breakfast...okay but have had better, it was pretty average.

Got to my room and yes it was clean, but it had a strange smell to it. Could have been damp looking at some of the walls and ceiling or the Smell may have been chemicals from the pool area. The main problem was that at 04:10 in the morning I was woken by a loud juddering noise that lasted for around 10 minutes. Got dressed to inform the night porter who said he didn't know what it was, but his face looked as though this had happened again. Went back to bed and half an hour later all I could hear was workmen coming down stairs as the stairs creaked and could here them talking as they left. Complained again in the morning and was given another room. Strangely at 95:00 the following morning was the oken again by the noise but this time only lasted for a couple if minutes.

Would I stay again if in the area ? Probably not

Room Tip: Avoid room 34
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doug49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebjan, Owner at Springfield Hotel & Health Club, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Doug, I'm sorry there was a problem with noise when you stayed. We've identified the problem thanks to you taking time to let us know, and are in the process of fixing it. In the meantime the room will not be available for booking.

Thanks again. Please don't let this incident put you off coming back to us, this type of feedback is rare as a quick read of the other reviews will tell you!

Kind regarrds,

Sebastian (Owner/Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We felt that the facilities advertised were over represented
Our room was very small and smelt of permanent dampness (possibly related to its proximity to the pool)
My fish was cold and uncooked in the middle, although staff helpfully obtained in a good pack lunch as we had to leave before breakfast was served (not available until 8 am on Saturday)
Decor needs a face lift : the bathroom had different types of tiles on show.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martinandphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Me and my new partner recently managed to snag a late deal for her birthday at the Springfield, I had a limited time to organise it and the hotel had some good recommendations. As I managed to get a good deal on the room we stayed on a Friday and a Saturday evening having originally planned just a Saturday night away. A delay to my partners plan to leave on the dot at 5.30pm from work meant we were behind straight away - I phoned to explain we would be late (arriving at approx. 10.30pm) and was pleasantly surprised by the chirpy receptionist who answered the phone and promptly said it wasn't a problem. On arrival the hotel was busy (there was a school "prom" on) but we checked in quickly and the receptionist I'd spoken to earlier was just as happy and professional as before. We hadn't eaten and it was a shame that the Hotel restaurant had stopped serving, but a quick trip to the local Maccy's was actually pretty acceptable at 11pm. Shortly after midnight we returned and were again greeted with a smile and we made our way up to the room. The room itself was clean and tidy although not particularly modern. There was a decent size bath, something which I'd missed on a couple of recent trips and it was nice that the room was cool on a warm night. We slept well and rose to check out the breakfast, and again the staff were excellent - very friendly, some light hearted banter, and the service was lovely. The breakfast was a buffet style help yourself with cereals, coffee, fruit juice and a nice range of cooked options. I filled myself up and off we went to Chester as I had planned a surprise for the birthday girl! After having a nice shopping trip we returned, freshened up and hit the sauna and fitness suite quickly, including a quick swim in the pool before again changing to eat in the restaurant. We enjoyed a lovely meal which the staff simply added to our room bill and we retired to sample some blackcurrant vodka feeling very full! Again, all the staff were excellent - we felt as if nothing was too much trouble and all had a smile and a friendly banter with us. It came as no surprise that we rose late the following day and checked out, the final bill was reasonable and we both remarked how we'd go again. Very pleased with out stay and once the chance goes to visit again we will!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3dcandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bagillt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We held our wedding at the springfields hotel sam and all the staff could not do enough for us friendly polite great food great rooms great venue great hotel thanks springfield for making our special day special

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlhewit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pentre Halkyn
13.5 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
352 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Halkyn
Travelodge Halkyn
#1 of 1 in Halkyn
112 reviews
5.2 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
11.2 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
613 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mountain Park Hotel
Mountain Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flint
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Hotel & Health Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Hotel & Health Club

Property: Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Address: A55 Expressway, Pentre Halkyn, Holywell CH8 8BA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Holywell > Pentre Halkyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pentre Halkyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield Hotel & Health Club 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Springfield Hotel & Health Club enjoys fabulous views over the River Dee and has excellent road links to the beautiful Roman city of Chester, North-West England and North Wales. This friendly, comfortable hotel has a fantastic location for those travelling on business or for those exploring the attractions and countryside of North Wales. All of the rooms are comfortable and well equipped with colour freeview television, complimentary hi-speed internet, tea/coffee making facilities and en suite showers and baths. The brand new Health Club opened in March 2011, with facilities including a gym with state-of-the-art equipment, indoor swimming pool and sauna, all of which are entirely free of charge for guests. Free high-speed wireless internet access is now also available throughout the Hotel. The new restaurant and bar offer home-cooked food, made using fresh local produce. We are particularly proud of our food and have many regular customers. Or simply relax in the Bar and take in the stunning views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Springfield Hotel & Health Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield Hotel And Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club Pentre Halkyn, Holywell, Flintshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing