We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banjaar Tola
Nearby Hotels
Kanha Jungle Lodge(Kanha National Park)
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Tuli Tiger Resort(Kanha National Park)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Baagh Forest Retreat(Kanha National Park)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pug Mark Resort(Kanha National Park)(Great Value!)
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Chitvan Jungle Lodge(Kanha National Park)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Soulacia Hotel & Resort(Kanha National Park)
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
7 Tigers Resort(Kanha National Park)
US$86
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Asteya Kanha(Kanha National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jungle King Resort(Kanha National Park)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
208
22
10
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
22
10
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstaj safaristaj groupgame drivestented suitesoverlooking the rivercamp hostafrican safarisurprise dinnertaj propertyhand warmersprivate decknagpur airportsun loungerslodge managersouth africadietary requirementswild pigs
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Tents (canvas, wood, canvas) lovely and incredibly spacious (though floor boards very creaky and in need of a little maintenance...) with an amazing view across river, seemingly private and cosy. Staff kindly and attentive - special mention to Ahmed (manager) and Hersha (our Naturalist) - a welcome sense of humour found in both! (other Naturalists we spoke with also incredibly knowledgeable and fun!). Pool cleaned daily and a welcome relief in the afternoon leisure time though maybe more than four sun loungers might be preferred. We stayed in East camp, apparently West camp identical.

Food nice but maybe a little 'samey' (variations of the same meats/veg) though safari breakfasts were plentiful, varied and very tasty. Wi fi, should you need it, requires collection from camp and taken to staff quarters (4 min drive away) to then sit in office whilst work continues ... maybe not convenient for all .....

Safaris here were good and jeep entry point to park close to the camp which saves a bumpy initial ride, though as woodland more dense here, sightings rarer in our opinion. However, learned a lot about bees, ants and deer. Sadly elephants in woodland are chained at feet and working - really heart wrenching they are not permitted the same freedom as other creatures....

Would we stay here again? Well, that very much depends on fellow guests should you have a choice for once the noisy local family with children and staff had left, the peaceful ambience returned and the stay much improved! (noise travels in tents!!)

Room Tip: We were in tent 5 which was closest to restaurant though not hampered by any noise ... lovely.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheUKChapmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This has been our, one of the most Cherished & memorable holidays with the Taj Banjaar Tola. The experience of being in the plush yet in the lap of Mother Nature, guess is an unforgettable memory one can carry back. Coming to hospitality, the people starting from Yogi (the manager), Dharam, Chef Siddharth or Chef Ajit, Pradeep and most important Pradeep Rana (Naturalist), seems like having hospitality ingrained in their DNA with a dash of smile on their face each time you meet them. Having “Rana” as your naturalist is a boon in disguise, with him we got to see a leopard in one and a tiger in the other of the only 2 safaris we did. It seems as all these big cats in the wild talks to him and tells him where they will be.

Without talking about & Thanking Abhishek (Via.Com) truly this review would remain incomplete, since he is the one who suggested this made this all possible for us.

Kudos Team Taj Banjaar Tola & most certainly Team Via.com for letting us cherish a few moments for the rest of our life

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajatmukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had a wonderful time and of course the entire trip (designed by &Beyond) went like clockwork. We were met by someone at every step and everyone we dealt with was completely professional and courteous. The Taj/&Beyond property, Banjaar Tola, did not disappoint! The staff was so nice. We loved our butler, DiDi. He got to know us quickly and instead of meeting our jeep with cold lemonade DiDi would meet us with 2 glasses of red wine! Our chef, Nim was a delight to talk with and his meals were exceptional. Our luxury tent was well appointed and soooo comfortable. We loved the Forest Essentials shampoo, lotion and conditioner supplied by the lodge. Also, we did book a massage which was given in room and both were excellent.
My only tips for improvement would be to upgrade the WiFi capabilities. Make WiFi available, if not in the tents themselves, in the common areas of both camps rather than guests having to walk or ride to the office. Also the roads to the property are horrible. I realize that this is not in the hands of &Beyond/Taj resorts but a 4 hour drive through streams and over one lane dirt roads is pretty tough, although our drivers did a wonderful job of making us as comfortable as possible. A nearby airstrip would be wonderful. Wishful thinking?
The safari part of our trip was a huge bust and kind of a snoozefest. Maybe I would feel different if I had seen a tiger but I didn't and by day three looking at deer and monkeys was boring. Also,I found our naturalist to be a little difficult to understand. The other complaint is about the vehicles. &Beyond/Taj have larger, more comfortable vehicles than all of the other lodges but if there are only 2-3 people for a game drive they will often switch to a smaller jeep like vehicle which i found to be extremely uncomfortable. At these prices guests should always be driven in the larger vehicles. Lastly, I did not realize that game drives in India had to be "on road" at all times. In Sabi Sands, SA we were able to drive off road while searching for lions and leopards. We also would stop for morning and evening cocktails in some beautiful scenic part of the park. In India, all vehicles stay on the main roads at all times. The only way to see a tiger is if it walks across the road in front of you :( Also our stops or breaks were in the communal area where the bathrooms are located so snack time was with about 20 other jeeps. Just saying that this experience was TOTALLY different than what I expected based on my previous safari in SA.

Room Tip: All rooms are spectacular and overlook the banjaar river.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paljoey1075BD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I doubt if any other place can offer such hospitality and service...they have amazing staff to guest ratio...every service is customised to your request...only drawback could be the lack of variety when it comes to things to do...ideal for a 2 or 3 night pampering get-away

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rahul_2k3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is a nice Tented Place.
The Manager - Mr. Gill & the Chef are great persons - hospitality is top end.
The Food was average 6/10
Service was always with a smile.
The Tents were well appointed.
The Safari vehicles were below par 3/10
The Cost - way too much for what we were offered / given @ US $'s 1/-K per night.
This is a nice place - would be good to get a breakfast in bad on our own porch & the quality & quantity of food must be reviewed - needs to improve drastically.
This is a good place - would be perfect @ US$'s 300/- per night.
Bhagwan
Mumbai
India

Room Tip: Look for better deals - in and around - this place is too expensive @ US $'s 1/-K per night - not worth it. The Tigers @ the Park are nice;
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bhagwan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews