We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury near the jungle”
Review of Banjaar Tola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banjaar Tola
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Luxury near the jungle”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Photos do not do Banjaar Tola justice. The tents are luxurious, large, and so comfortable you never want to leave and warrant Taj/&Beyond branding. The patio overlooking the peaceful river below is so relaxing. Your butler and manager welcomes you when you arrive and when you leave the staff waves goodbye and you feel like you just left dear friends. The food/beverages are plentiful, fresh, and so delicious. The chef even made brownies for me and remembered to give me a recipe upon departure. Thank you so much. Special thanks to Dipu, Yogi, DiDi, and Sadhvi, who is an amazing Naturalist. Kanha National Park is a treasure and not to be missed. What a perfect combination and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollydaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MridulaT, Owner at Banjaar Tola, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for choosing your warm words of appreciation. We are glad to learn that you liked our tents and the hospitality experience at Banjaar Tola.
When it comes to food, fresh produce from our organic gardens is the reason why the dishes turn out so delicious. Of course the Chef's interaction to know your preferences also adds to it.
Our team loves to go all out, to ensure guests enjoy their stay, be it the food, the safari experience, the overall ambiance.
We are so glad to note that you will be back with us. We look forward to your next stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    21
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
82
83
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jabalpur, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The dream like experience started the moment we entered the property and the staff greeted us warmly as if we belonged there. Even though we had arrived late for lunch, the camp host Mr.Yugdeep Singh ensured that we got served the most delightful lunch which was unlike the run of the mill hotel food. Chef Kim is excellent with his cooking skills and surprised us every time with mouthwatering delicacies and even accommodated our children's wishes. The entire team was very gracious and kept us involved as well as entertained with interesting conversations. Soon we started feeling like we had known them forever.
Must say that Mr. Yugdeep Singh creates a very positive and friendly atmosphere along with his team of Mr. Pradeep, Chef Kim, Mr. Dharam and others. The functioning of the resort is smooth with best facilities in the middle of the jungle.
The tents have been done up tastefully and are one with the nature. In spite of being provided with supreme luxury we were surrounded by untouched natural beauty.
Looking forward to re- visiting soon......

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pallavi965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

By far, Taj Banjaar tola has been the best experience we have had!
Me and my wife visited Taj Banjaar Tola in March 2014 ans stayed over for 3 nights. As soon as you arrive, you are greeted with by your butler and the hotel manager by waving hands towards your vehicle, the fresh welcome drink and the wet towels will surly bring back all the energy in you after a long travel by road.
The property is very close to the mukki gate of Kanha National Park and sits right opposite to the river Banjaar which is the physical boundary between the forest and the hotel. The property is often frequented by spotted deer, wild bores, bison and leopards.
We had one of the most amazing rooms overlooking the river and a private patio covered with trees and vegetation often frequented by some amazing animals and birds.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable, the bathrooms are BIG and nice, you might find at times some small spiders roaming around (or in) your tent, but then we are in forest, in their home. We did not mind sharing the room with the spider, however if you are too fussy, the staff will be more than ready to safely remove it from your room.
The most amazing part of the hotel is the personalized attention you get, the staff here is simply amazing. They will anticipate your needs and make sure it is fulfilled even before you ask for it. As soon as you leave your room, even if it is for an hour, their "ghost" team will make sure your room is clean and nice. On the fourth day we were finally able to meet the ghost team of cleaner who make sure your rooms are in pristine condition.
The Chef "Kim" is probable one of the most talented chef we have interacted with, he will personally meet you and ask you about what you would want to eat. there are no fixed times for lunch or dinner, so you can even order your lunch at 4pm and you will still get it fresh. we had some amazing time with kim looking at their organic garden from where almost all the vegetables are used. The salads and soups are to die for. Thank you Kim for making sure that we had really happy stomachs :)
The butlers are also amazing and very friendly to talk to, they will bring everything you need to you room even if they have to climb up the steep slop to your room 10 times a day. Karan who was our butler always used to smile and make sure we were happy.

Few of the most memorable moments evenings we had were with Yugdeep who is the Lodge Manager and Raj who was our naturalist. On the day of arrival we did not book any safari, and the next day we had our safari in the afternoon. Raj and Yugdeep made sure to ask about our plans, and since we had none for the morning, Raj took us out on their canter to show us the buffer zone and tell us about all the birds and animals. We almost went out for 4 hours and came back with wide knowledge if birds. Raj is an amazing person and a knowledgeable naturalist who will answer most of your questions.

On the last day we had sometime before we check out of the rooms and Yugdeep offered to take us on a trail walk along the river. We went walking for kilometers and yugdeep told us a lot about the wildlife and wilderness. He has been an amazing host who shared with us a level of comfort where we are happy to feel like a part of this big family at Taj. Yugdeep and Raj in particular were amazing in every sense, from the jokes they share to going all the lengths to make sure you feel special.

The safaris were also great, the staff was very thoughtful to keep warm water bottles and blankets for our morning safaris. Really it helped a lot to be warm in the forest.

One of the most appreciated feeling we will carry back is the packet of lunch which Kim packed for us. we never expected it but it really made us feel special that the staff at Taj cared for us like family.

We will surly come back again. This place is highly recommended not only for the 5 star experience but for the friends you will make :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing. No matter where you stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SankalpSahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Tents (canvas, wood, canvas) lovely and incredibly spacious (though floor boards very creaky and in need of a little maintenance...) with an amazing view across river, seemingly private and cosy. Staff kindly and attentive - special mention to Ahmed (manager) and Hersha (our Naturalist) - a welcome sense of humour found in both! (other Naturalists we spoke with also incredibly knowledgeable and fun!). Pool cleaned daily and a welcome relief in the afternoon leisure time though maybe more than four sun loungers might be preferred. We stayed in East camp, apparently West camp identical.

Food nice but maybe a little 'samey' (variations of the same meats/veg) though safari breakfasts were plentiful, varied and very tasty. Wi fi, should you need it, requires collection from camp and taken to staff quarters (4 min drive away) to then sit in office whilst work continues ... maybe not convenient for all .....

Safaris here were good and jeep entry point to park close to the camp which saves a bumpy initial ride, though as woodland more dense here, sightings rarer in our opinion. However, learned a lot about bees, ants and deer. Sadly elephants in woodland are chained at feet and working - really heart wrenching they are not permitted the same freedom as other creatures....

Would we stay here again? Well, that very much depends on fellow guests should you have a choice for once the noisy local family with children and staff had left, the peaceful ambience returned and the stay much improved! (noise travels in tents!!)

Room Tip: We were in tent 5 which was closest to restaurant though not hampered by any noise ... lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheUKChapmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This has been our, one of the most Cherished & memorable holidays with the Taj Banjaar Tola. The experience of being in the plush yet in the lap of Mother Nature, guess is an unforgettable memory one can carry back. Coming to hospitality, the people starting from Yogi (the manager), Dharam, Chef Siddharth or Chef Ajit, Pradeep and most important Pradeep Rana (Naturalist), seems like having hospitality ingrained in their DNA with a dash of smile on their face each time you meet them. Having “Rana” as your naturalist is a boon in disguise, with him we got to see a leopard in one and a tiger in the other of the only 2 safaris we did. It seems as all these big cats in the wild talks to him and tells him where they will be.

Without talking about & Thanking Abhishek (Via.Com) truly this review would remain incomplete, since he is the one who suggested this made this all possible for us.

Kudos Team Taj Banjaar Tola & most certainly Team Via.com for letting us cherish a few moments for the rest of our life

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajatmukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had a wonderful time and of course the entire trip (designed by &Beyond) went like clockwork. We were met by someone at every step and everyone we dealt with was completely professional and courteous. The Taj/&Beyond property, Banjaar Tola, did not disappoint! The staff was so nice. We loved our butler, DiDi. He got to know us quickly and instead of meeting our jeep with cold lemonade DiDi would meet us with 2 glasses of red wine! Our chef, Nim was a delight to talk with and his meals were exceptional. Our luxury tent was well appointed and soooo comfortable. We loved the Forest Essentials shampoo, lotion and conditioner supplied by the lodge. Also, we did book a massage which was given in room and both were excellent.
My only tips for improvement would be to upgrade the WiFi capabilities. Make WiFi available, if not in the tents themselves, in the common areas of both camps rather than guests having to walk or ride to the office. Also the roads to the property are horrible. I realize that this is not in the hands of &Beyond/Taj resorts but a 4 hour drive through streams and over one lane dirt roads is pretty tough, although our drivers did a wonderful job of making us as comfortable as possible. A nearby airstrip would be wonderful. Wishful thinking?
The safari part of our trip was a huge bust and kind of a snoozefest. Maybe I would feel different if I had seen a tiger but I didn't and by day three looking at deer and monkeys was boring. Also,I found our naturalist to be a little difficult to understand. The other complaint is about the vehicles. &Beyond/Taj have larger, more comfortable vehicles than all of the other lodges but if there are only 2-3 people for a game drive they will often switch to a smaller jeep like vehicle which i found to be extremely uncomfortable. At these prices guests should always be driven in the larger vehicles. Lastly, I did not realize that game drives in India had to be "on road" at all times. In Sabi Sands, SA we were able to drive off road while searching for lions and leopards. We also would stop for morning and evening cocktails in some beautiful scenic part of the park. In India, all vehicles stay on the main roads at all times. The only way to see a tiger is if it walks across the road in front of you :( Also our stops or breaks were in the communal area where the bathrooms are located so snack time was with about 20 other jeeps. Just saying that this experience was TOTALLY different than what I expected based on my previous safari in SA.

Room Tip: All rooms are spectacular and overlook the banjaar river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paljoey1075BD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I doubt if any other place can offer such hospitality and service...they have amazing staff to guest ratio...every service is customised to your request...only drawback could be the lack of variety when it comes to things to do...ideal for a 2 or 3 night pampering get-away

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahul_2k3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kanha National Park hotels
3.3 mi away
Chitvan Jungle Lodge
Chitvan Jungle Lodge
#1 of 18 in Kanha National Park
471 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tuli Tiger Resort
Tuli Tiger Resort
#4 of 18 in Kanha National Park
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
7 Tigers Resort
7 Tigers Resort
#5 of 18 in Kanha National Park
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kanha Jungle Lodge
Kanha Jungle Lodge
#2 of 18 in Kanha National Park
196 reviews
14.2 mi away
Mogli Resort
Mogli Resort
#13 of 18 in Kanha National Park
42 reviews
14.4 mi away
Soulacia Hotel & Resort
Soulacia Hotel & Resort
#7 of 18 in Kanha National Park
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banjaar Tola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banjaar Tola

Property: Banjaar Tola
Address: Village Mukki | District Balaghat, Kanha National Park 481111, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Kanha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Kanha National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Banjaar Tola 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Safaris' third jungle safari lodge is situated along the banks of the Banjaar River, directly overlooking the heart of Kanha National Park. The luxurious, yet lightweight, ensuite tents have been designed in a contemporary style, with pressed bamboo wall panels, gorgeous bamboo floors and locally crafted furniture hewn from the timber of exotic Indian trees. The textiles have been designed in tones of delicate saffron and acid-washed green, with rich block-printed Madhya Pradesh cottons and silks. The atmosphere is light, ethereal and organic. The lodge boasts two elegant camps of nine suites, each with its own intimate tented sitting area. Banjaar Tola has its own unique identity, celebrating the Bastar and Dogra art that hails from nearby Chattisgarh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, DerbySoftTaj, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Banjaar Tola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banjar Tola Hotel Kanha National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing