We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pugdundee Safaris Kanha Earth Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Tuli Tiger Resort(Kanha National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kanha Jungle Lodge(Kanha National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Chitvan Jungle Lodge(Kanha National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Baagh Forest Retreat(Kanha National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pug Mark Resort(Kanha National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Asteya Kanha(Kanha National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Soulacia Hotel & Resort(Kanha National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
7 Tigers Resort(Kanha National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Koushalya Resort(Kanha National Park)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kanha Resort(Kanha National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
246
37
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
37
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesmr bharatrecycled woodbuffer zoneplastic bottlesnatural forestsurprise cakepre dinner snackstrue to its nameother guestsgame drivesbush dinnerearly morningdefinitely recommend this place to anyonea wonderful staysloth bearvegetable garden
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The best in Kanha. But the only problem is it takes 30mins to reach the gate from the resort. And the road to resort is quit bad. Otherwise the service, food, rooms,... are excellent. Rooms are really big. The pool is well maintained.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arunkarur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were in Kanha during Indian School Summer Holidays and towards the end of the viewing season. Because the temperature was now in the mid to high 40s there were very few other caucasians around. This, however, is the best time to get pics of tigers in the water. Kanha is a beautiful park and Earth Lodge is a beautiful setting. Yes, it is around 20 minutes drive from the gate but the lodge is quite unique, made from stone and timber and a true haven away from the busy area around the park. The rooms are quite large and the verandah at more temperate times would be magic, but far too hot at this time of year. Food is Indian cuisine, so if that is not to your taste let them know before you arrive if you can. There was a French couple there who could not speak English or Hindi and so found it difficult to tell the staff what they wanted. A phrase book may have helped. The highlight of our trip was our Nepalese guide Mahesh who had an amazing set of eyes and ears and was a top bloke as well. Everyone is friendly, some are not so good on English but that doesn't matter they love to laugh and enjoy a joke. Every trip we fall more deeply in love with India.

Room Tip: Whichever room you get is fine. Ours was under a family of monkeys so from time to time we had them jumping on the roof and de-leafing the trees. If you find the firm bed too hard ask for a mattress cover to soften.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jake69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We drove into Kanha from Jabalpur and as the cab took a detour off the main road, our cabbie started cribbing about how the lodge we had chosen was completely off from the main action area and how he could have got us a better hotel and at maybe less than half the price of what we would have paid for this one. As we kept driving on the kuccha road with lots of bumps and not much sign of civilization around, I almost believed the guy and started praying that our choice of lodge at Kanha should not be wrong. We had to call up the lodge and request for someone to come and show us the way which we readily agreed to. We drove past a few villages before suddenly taking an abrupt right and entered a gate. I took a quick look around, took a deep breath and walked towards the staff that was waiting to welcome us. They all seemed jolly, we were welcomed with a refreshing drink and almost immediately shown to our cottage after being shown around the common areas of the lodge. I was still a bit apprehensive after what the cabbie had drilled down my mind for almost 20 mins of the drive but was pleasantly surprised when we entered our cottage. It looked rustic and yet very comfortable and quite spacious with a large wooden verandah overlooking the wild vegetation. The design of the lodge had been inspired by the vernacular architecture of the region that uses mud and local stone. This being an ecolodge, they used local stone and waste wood. The cottage was well appointed and thoughtfully designed. When we first saw, we were kind of surprised to see two WCs in the cottage but we realised the importance the next morning when three of us were in a rush to get ready and fall in for the morning safari at 4.45am!

The food was great, and what made it even more special was the staff serving us. They were always smiling, attentive and never obtrusive. They went out of their way to ensure that my daughter, who is 6 and a half, got something of her liking to eat. The common area with the cafetreia, bar/library and a large terrace was well planned and inviting. We spent all our evenings in the bar/ library or the terrace outside playing chess, reading and having our drinks and snacks.

What made the trip most special were the naturalists who understood our interest and focussed primarily on that during the safari drives. They were extremely good and knew the jungle and its inhabitants well. Thanks to them, we got to see the jungle from a totally new perspective. Not only did we see a lot of tigers including Munna and a cub killing a wild boar, we also saw some really beautiful varieties of birds, trees and other animals. We had 4 safaris at Kanha and our naturalists managed to keep our enthusiasm soaring in all of them. After each safari, we were welcomed by refreshing drinks at the lodge.

Our stay of 3 nights and 4 days seemed grossly inadequate at the end. We promised ourselves that we would make atleast one trip a year to Kanha and definitely return to stay at Kanha Earth Lodge every time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karishma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

For me Kanha was everything Rudyard Kipling's 'The Jungle Book' promised. And it was only befitting that I experienced it whilst staying at one of the finest eco-lodges that I've stayed in.

Sculpted from local granite and waste wood, the 12-villa Kanha Earth Lodge is rustic luxury carved from nature itself. There's even an outdoor pool, and yet is well integrated into the environment. The villas are spacious and well-appointed. All villas come with a wooden balcony, a large bathroom and great views. The pathways leading up to the reception and community-style dining hall are lined with wooden lantern holders. In all, KEL deserves every award conferred on them.

The service was quick and unobtrusive. The food, with excellent choices of vegetarian and non-vegetarian–both Indian as well as Continental, was well thought out. They even got in a MasterChef India contestant as a guest chef! The safaris were well-organised, and there was always someone to welcome you back after a hard ride with a refreshing drink and a cold towel.

Stayed for 4N/ 5D, and while leaving felt still didn't have enough of the place.

Room Tip: All villas are pretty much the same and offer similar views. The villas toward the far end provide better quietude.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silvansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Staying here is a unique experience. The staff are charming and nothing is too much trouble. The cottages are big and beautifully appointed. We were met on the first evening by our naturalist and he found out what are interests were, which meant personalised game drives. We were very lucky with some very close up tiger sightings, but only because we had a guide who knew what he was looking and listening for. The food is delicious, all produced on their own farms. We would love to come back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GailKennington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews