We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”
Review of Yudanaka Seifuso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yudanaka Seifuso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This traditional ryokan located less than five minutes walk from Yudanaka Station exceeded our expectations – the staff (it is a family run business) were wonderful; they were so polite and helpful despite speaking only limited English. Although the ryokan is an old established facility, our room was immaculately clean with modern toilet and wash basin facilities. Our room was cleaned and our futon covers changed daily. Guests have free use of the onsens; our favourite was the outdoor onsen even though the outside air temperature being -2°C. The surrounding Japanese garden and view to the stars made it a very relaxing and enjoyable experience. There are different bathing times for men and women.

The traditional Japanese meals served in a private dining room were delicious with our hosts going out of their way to explain/gesture what we should eat with what. Our hosts kindly offered to drive us to the snow monkey park but we decided to walk. Our walk through Shibu onsen and Forest Road was a great experience of the narrow streets and old buildings and winter wonderland that the forest had been transformed into by overnight snow.

English speaking tourist information staff at Yudanaka Station made arriving and leaving so much easier. We would highly recommend Yudanaka Seifu-so for anyone wanting a traditional Japanese guest house experience with wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Father_Daughter_Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seifuso, オーナー at Yudanaka Seifuso, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2014

Thank you for staying at our ryokan Yudanaka Seifuso.
I'm glad that you enjoyed Onsen(Hot Spring).
arigatou-gozaimasyuta
matane!

We are waiting for your visit again. Thank you.

Young Master,
Matsuo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

Where to start! From the son Matsuo-san waiting for us at the railway station until 7pm or so due to a very long trip from Nagasaki to the wonderful rooms, amazing food, the genuine interest and concern of the family in us, great onsens, being taken to the Snow Monkey park - it was the absolute outstanding experience of our 4 week trip to Japan - and that's saying something. Great location - so close to railway station, restaurants and supermarket. Absolutely beautiful people.

Room Tip: The two different rooms we had very good and close to the facilities - we travelled as two groups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DianeSunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seifuso, オーナー at Yudanaka Seifuso, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2014

Thank you for staying at our ryokan Yudanaka Seifuso.
I'm glad that you enjoyed Onsen(Hot Spring).
In spring, there are many adorable monkey babies in Jigokudani Yaen Koen.
We are waiting for your visit again. Thank you.

Young Master,
Matsuo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We really enjoyed our weekend stay at this ryokan!! The owners are friendly, their son gave us a ride to the Monkey Park, and the meals were traditional and delicious! The room was very comfortable and the town had amazing views. I highly recommend this ryokan and I cannot wait to go back Japan just to return to this place and their wonderful onsens.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seifuso, オーナー at Yudanaka Seifuso, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2014

Thank you for staying at our ryokan Yudanaka Seifuso.
I'm glad that you enjoyed Onsen(Hot Spring).
arigatou-gozaimasyuta
matane!

We are waiting for your visit again. Thank you.

Young Master,
Matsuo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I have been wanting to write this review for such a long time, and regretfully am only getting around to it now! Spent four nights here. One of the most beautiful stays of our travels, not just through Japan but worldwide. Yudanaka is a glorious location. The ryokan itself is very atmospheric and traditional. The choice of onsens is great and a really nice way to chill out after sight seeing in the mountains.

You could not ask for a more hospitable staff! Being a family of 5 from Australia, not speaking a word of Japanese, we still managed to communicate perfectly with the beautiful owners of this Ryokan and they gave their 110% when it came to making sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. For example my daughter would sit and quietly play the piano on mute at night and the owners would come rushing out of the kitchen waving their hands for her to play louder.....smiling and clapping and our hearts would just melt!
Not to mention, the lovely son Matsuo who drove us without question up to the mountains to visit the snow monkeys and around Yudanaka. We made so many great memories. For example, making traditional Soba noodles with a mum and daughter team at their house again who didn't speak English but made us feel like family! ; A tiny tiny yakitori restaurant (sorry can't remember the name!) in the main streets of Yudanaka, where we sat in a booth stuffing our faces with the best food, drinking sake and watching sumo wrestlers with the non English speaking owner/chef/waiter .... Again we had the best time!

However, the most memorable eating experience of our life was inside our Ryokan in a private dining room (traditional, dressed in kimonos, siting crossed legged on the floor) while endless amounts of the most perfect, beyond fresh and exotic dishes where served to us. And just when we thought we couldn't pack any more in, out came another exquisite course!

Leaving was very sad and our children were showered with little gifts and it was not until we turned the corner that the staff stopped waving their good byes and for us we each had a little tear rolling down our cheeks knowing that we will never forget Yudanaka Seifuso! Thank you thank you! Xxxxxxxxxxx

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank lotus00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seifuso, オーナー at Yudanaka Seifuso, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2014

Thank you for staying at our ryokan Yudanaka Seifuso.
I'm glad that you enjoyed Onsen(Hot Spring).
In spring, there are many adorable monkey babies in Jigokudani Yaen Koen.
We are waiting for your visit again. Thank you.

Young Master,
Matsuo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at this ryokan. The hospitality shown by Matsuo-san and his parents was amazing. As soon as we arrived at the ryokan at around 2pm, Matsuo-san quickly offered to drive us to the Snow Monkey onsen as the park closes at 4pm in the winter. Such a wonderful gesture because the trip to the park was not that near, mind you.

Dinner and breakfast served were home-made and delicious. Our tatami room was warm despite the cold weather outside. We appreciated the access to the private onsen, as opposed to the public ones. We felt much more relaxed dipping into the hot pool, just the two of us, rather than sharing it with naked strangers.

I would highly recommend this ryokan to anyone who visits Yudanaka.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank GinaAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seifuso, オーナー at Yudanaka Seifuso, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2014

Thank you for staying at our ryokan Yudanaka Seifuso.
I'm glad that you enjoyed Onsen(Hot Spring).
In spring, there are many adorable monkey babies in Jigokudani Yaen Koen.
We are waiting for your visit again. Thank you.

Young Master,
Matsuo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My husband, parents and I stayed at this Ryokan for 1 night between Christmas and New Year 2013. Firstly the good, and there's a lot of it - located very close to the train station (2 min walk); extremely large, comfortable and clean rooms, with internal partitions for various functions as well as safe, tv, everything for making green tea (including hot water urn), traditional clothing for eating and visiting the onsen, etc.; delicious and very plentiful food served in room; very friendly staff; a number of indoor and outdoor onsen (including a lovely private one attached to a private shower, which could be enjoyed in ensured solitude). The slightly less great - our rooms were located seemingly not in the main building but rather down a rather long corridor and up a number of flights of stairs, which didn't look as well looked after and cleaned as the rooms and other areas. This also made for a rather long walk to the showers, as they were all located in the main front section. Presumably if you get a room in this front section, the above is not an issue. Also only the elderly owners' son spoke English, which sometimes limited communication, however that said the parents were absolutely lovely and went to great lengths to try and communicate with us where we were from. They even brought out a globe! :) Plus the son gave us a lift to the Monkey Park (about 10min away), which was very helpful. We got a local bus back to pick up our luggage before leaving for the train station. All in all a really good Ryokan with some lovely hosts.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the main front section, as we had to traverse down long hallways and extensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karolina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seifuso, オーナー at Yudanaka Seifuso, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2014

Thank you for staying at our ryokan Yudanaka Seifuso.
I'm glad that you enjoyed Onsen(Hot Spring).
In spring, there are many adorable monkey babies in Jigokudani Yaen Koen.
We are waiting for your visit again. Thank you.

Young Master,
Matsuo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Only stayed one night but could easily have stayed a couple more. Wonderful village. We came to see the snow monkeys and this was a very relaxing base with helpful friendly hosts. We arrived too late to see the monkeys not realising that it was 20 minutes to the entrance of the National Park and then another 20 minutes uphill but pleasant walk to the monkey onset. Enjoyed a walk around the village instead and enjoyed the lovely onsens at the ryokan. All very clearly set out with times for males and females. The outdoor experience was voted the best by our family although I loved the fragrance of the apples in one indoor bath. We did not eat at the ryokan but were given maps and recommendations and enjoyed a meal at an Isakaywa in the main street. Large well stocked Lawsons in the village is useful. As other reviewers have noted the lack of English and Japanese is easily overcome and communication seems to work. The owners son kindly took us to the Monkey park next morning and our bags were stored until we returned.
Would like to spend more time exploring this area and we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seifuso, オーナー at Yudanaka Seifuso, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

Thank you for staying at our ryokan Yudanaka Seifuso.
In spring, there are many adorable monkey babies in Jigokudani Yaen Koen.
We are waiting for your visit again. Thank you.

matane!

Young Master,
Matsuo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yamanouchi-machi hotels
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Ryokan Biyunoyado
Ryokan Biyunoyado
#2 of 143 in Yamanouchi-machi
421 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shimaya Ryokan
Shimaya Ryokan
#1 of 143 in Yamanouchi-machi
567 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Aburaya Tosen
Aburaya Tosen
#10 of 143 in Yamanouchi-machi
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shibu-onsen Kokuya
Shibu-onsen Kokuya
#6 of 143 in Yamanouchi-machi
152 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Senshinkan Matsuya
Senshinkan Matsuya
#5 of 143 in Yamanouchi-machi
267 reviews
Yorozuya Annex Yurakuan
#19 of 143 in Yamanouchi-machi
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yudanaka Seifuso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yudanaka Seifuso

Address: 3268 Hirao, Yamanouchi-machi, Shimotakai-gun 381-0401, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Shimotakai-gun > Yamanouchi-machi > Yudanaka shibu Onsen , Shigakougenhoppo Onsen , Kumanoyu Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Yamanouchi-machi
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Yamanouchi-machi
Price Range: £69 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yudanaka Seifuso 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seifuso is an affordable traditional Japanese hotel (ryokan) in Yudanaka Onsen. Close from Yudanaka Sta, Nagano Dentetsu. The building was built during the Meiji era (1868-1912) and is filled with traditional atmosphere. We also have a traditional garden inside the house. All of the 15 guest rooms are Japanese-style rooms with tatami mats. We have 3 different baths. You can use the onsen privately upon request for free and it is open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Yudanaka Seifuso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yudanaka Seifuso Japan/Nagano Prefecture - Yamanouchi-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing