We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit fancy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kanbayashi Hotel Senjukaku
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little bit fancy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

The moment we entered the spacious lobby we knew we were in for a treat. Beautifully designed, large ryokan, we were greeted and seated and given tea while our bags were taken to our room. We were too early to check in and we intended to check out Snow Monkey Park anyway. The staff provided us with a map and directions to the park. We came back to a beautiful Japanese room, spacious with separate toilet and bathroom. Waking up to the sun coming up over the mountain was fantastic. Dinner was delicious and an english menu explained what we were eating. We opted for the Western breakfast and it was great. Overall a very nice place to stay if you intend to see the Snow Monkeys!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liams511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    40
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
37
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this elegant deco spa hotel at the foot of Shiga Kogen as an alternative for the non skiers in our group of 6 travellers and were blown away by the quiet, almost brooding atmosphere after 3 days of heavy snow falls. With seemingly very few other guests and nearly all of them Japanese ( whereas we had come from Nozawa Onsen where virtually all the other guests at the ryokan we stayed at were Australian skiers) and therefore quiet and self contained, we got a distinctly Kubrickian Overlook Hotel vibe here, with wide wooden corridors and huge, open public rooms ( foyer, dining room, saloon). The traditional rooms were large and beautifully appointed but the revelation was the cavernous indoor/ outdoor onsen, which was luxuriously appointed and open from 6.30 am to 11 pm. We used it twice daily and felt we could have stayed at the hotel a week or more we felt so relaxed and cared for there. Staff are discreet and so respectful: not much English is spoken, even at Reception but this enhanced our experience rather than detracting from it. The included breakfasts and dinners were multicourse revelations of ingredients and crockery, there is a huge indoor pool and they were happy to drive us to the station for our next connection.
The tranquility and traditional service at this hotel was unique in our otherwise busy 16 days in Japan and we could not recommend it more highly if visiting the Shiga Kogen area or the snow monkeys nearby. We loved it and felt like we were the Imperial family in their hands ( whose photograph when visiting there is displayed in the lobby).

Room Tip: Use the Onsen: a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POPs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We were not guests at Kanbayashi when we were in Nagano recently however we definitely would not hesitate to stay here if and when we do return.

Here's our story...

The track we initially took to get to the Jigokudani Snow Monkey park was very slippery and steep. So when we got to the park and saw some ladies wearing high heels there, we thought there must be an easier track (we were all wearing snowboots but still struggled).

So we later found out which route these ladies took and without much thought we took that route. About 15-20mins later, we knew something was wrong as the route was longer than the original one but we didn't want to turn back. When we got to the end of the route, we found ourselves not recognizing any of the buildings nearby. We started looking around for hotels so we could ask for help (we don't speak Japanese and didn't have SIMs with voicecalls) and there it was, Kanbayashi hotel. We walked in and explained that we were lost. The staff at the front desk offered to call our hotel to let them know we were lost and they even offered to drive us back to our hotel! How good was that! Maybe this is a norm in Japan, but at that moment, we were very shocked and we definitely appreciated their act of kindness. If this is the level of hospitality we receive as non-guests, I'm sure their guests will experience and receive the best service ever.

Thank you Kanbayashi - we are forever grateful!! Arigatou gozaimasu!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

This is the nearest well-equipped traditional ryokan from Snow Monkey Park in snow season except Korakukan. We can’t access to Korakukan as well as Snow Monkey Park by car in snow season. Snow Monkey Park is about 30-40 minutes slippy path walking from here. The service, food, Japanese-style room, indoor and outdoor hot springs were very nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hippohippoJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Virtually all of the hotel smells of sea-weed.
Nothing really bad to say - all clean and as everything in Japan - functional. However if one reads the reviews above it may soun like paradise on earth. We personally could not understand why they charge 350GBP per night for 2, which is a price range of a Relais-Chateau place, but use processed ham for breakfast ...We felt somewhat let down on the value-for-money aspect...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatashaPugach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

With some experience of staying at traditional ryokan, we had high expectation of the service and the food. But Senjukaku is a place that exceed your expectation.

The room is more spacious than most of the ryokans and has a spectacular view. Everything in the room is meticulous. Throughout the ryokan, there are beautiful antique paintings everywhere, making the ambience with historical feeling. Then the hot spring, both indoor and outdoor, are heavenly. The dinner is a 10-course of visual and taste feast, with beautiful printed menu which itself is a piece of artwork that is worth of collecting.

But most important of all is the service. Everyone helped us with extreme courtesy. The gentleman, whose name 大秀内和 in Japanese, tried his best to help us in any aspect from fitting Yukata to taking bus to ski. We left a pair of shoes behind in the room, which were sent to our hotel room in Tokyo the next day by the ryokan.

We had a truly special experience with Senjukaku and look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank houzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BKK 10500
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

It is very impressive.All the staff treat us so nice, so personal.
We like all meals here.
Nice presentation and also the taste is good.
The hotel souvenir shop is fulled of cute things to bring back home.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank withoutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yamanouchi-machi hotels
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Ryokan Biyunoyado
Ryokan Biyunoyado
#2 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shimaya Ryokan
Shimaya Ryokan
#1 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Senshinkan Matsuya
Senshinkan Matsuya
#3 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Aburaya Tosen
Aburaya Tosen
#7 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Jinpyokaku
Jinpyokaku
#5 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Yudanaka Seifuso
Yudanaka Seifuso
#4 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanbayashi Hotel Senjukaku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanbayashi Hotel Senjukaku

Property: Kanbayashi Hotel Senjukaku
Address: 1410 Yamanouchi Hirao | Kanbayashi-onsen, Shimotakai-gun, Yamanouchi-machi 381-0401, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Shimotakai-gun > Yamanouchi-machi > Yudanaka shibu Onsen , Shigakougenhoppo Onsen , Kumanoyu Onsen
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Onsen Hotel in Yamanouchi-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanbayashi Hotel Senjukaku 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Rakuten, Hotel.de, JAPANiCAN, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kanbayashi Hotel Senjukaku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanbayashi Hotel Senjukaku Japan/Nagano Prefecture - Yamanouchi-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing