We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Traditional Japanese Ryokan Experience & Great Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shimaya Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shimaya Ryokan
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Traditional Japanese Ryokan Experience & Great Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

My partner and I spent two nights in Yudanaka and were overwhelmed with how gracious the Hosts are and cannot speak highly enough of them.

The rooms were warm, cosy and out of this world.

We arrived and spoke to them. They recommended to spend the day in Obuse (which is a great suggestion for any pending travellers and we ate chestut ice-cream) and the next day to have an early morning start at the Snow monkeys and the evening in a private onsen. We were dropped off at the Snow Monkeys by them for no extra charge and also dropped off at the Private Onsen on the snow (that they had booked for us).

They were absolutely fantastic with explaining (even in fragmented English, which was much better than our Japanese) or local places to eat and visit.

Room Tip: Get the Japanese Breakfast option - AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    110
    21
    2
    0
See reviews for
113
244
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Linares de Ribadesella, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to this ryokan. It was really beautiful.
As our check in was at 13:00, firstly we visited the Monkey Snow Park. When we arrived at the station a voluntary guide that worked for the council signaled the bus that we should catch.
When the bus stopped we began our walk to a really wonderful path full of big trees enjoying the nature. After 40 minutes more or less, we arrived to the park. In a small hut there were pictures and information about these animals. Once you paid the ticket we could see the monkeys all over the path. And at the end of it there was a kind of onsen that they had built for them. They enjoyed the hot water that is emanated from the river. It is awesome how the swim and play there.
Back to the bus stop we decided to go to the village by foot to enjoy the landscape. When we arrive at the hotel, Mr and Mrs Yumoto gave us a warm welcome. They were very impressed because we were Spanish (so far, far away) and we have heard of this hotel in our country. Mr Yumoto offered us a ride to the Monkey Park but since we had already visited it we really need a break. So we had a rest in our room. The room was very big. It had a hall with a fridge and then the room itself. Inside the room we found two futons, a big TV, air-conditioner, a typical little table with two chairs, a teapot and some tea. The balcony was big too and the views were amazing. All typical Japanese. It was the first time that we walked on bamboo floor (very comforting) or saw paper walls. Really good! Outside the room there were the bathroom, some sinks and bathroom amenities and a laundry machine.
Then Mr Yumoto offered us a visit to the onsen of the hotel. We enjoyed it privately and free. A really Japanese experience with very hot water.
At night the owner had a sit with us and showed us a book full of restaurants photos in the village and… reviews in English that guests had written explaining their experiences and the prices. It was really useful. We decided to visit a curry restaurant and Mr Yumoto took us to it by car! This man was really helpful! He also explained to us that it was a festival in the other part of the village and he indicated the place in a map. But he said that if we wanted to go by car we only had to give him a call. Not wanting to bother him more we decided to have a walk because we were overwhelmed. We are not accustomed to all these attentions in Spain, it’s a shame!
Back to the hotel we discovered two yukatas in the wardrobe! You can use it for taking photos and so we did it. Amazing!
In the morning we said goodbye to these helpful couple and they insisted in taking a picture with us, as a souvenir. Then they gave a present to us: a monkey yen coin to have luck during our tryp.
When we were walking Mr Yumoto appeared in his car suddenly. He remembered that there was no train service at that time because it was Sunday and there was other timetable. Next train left in a few minutes, so he drove us to the station so we arrived on time. This last surprise astonished more. Amazing.
I highly recommended this place to have a wonderful ryokan experience and you can enjoy the goodness of their owners.
We wished to had more time for staying there more time, but our flight back to Spain was at night.

Visit them!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaPerezNavarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed for only one night but managed to do so much in that time thanks to the lovely owners who drove us around (to the onsen, monkey park and station) and gave us great recommendations. The room was amazing value: clean, nice and spacious.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmcm6057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a Japanese style room. It was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was very good and we really enjoyed the hotel's hot baths which are reserved for the guests private use. The thing we enjoyed the most was the owners hospitality, he immediately offered to take us with his own car to the monkey park and also took us back to the train station when we left. Ichiro Yumoto - you are the best!!!

Room Tip: ask for non-smoker room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadav a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel last year and the owners could not do enough for us. We were taken to the see the snow monkeys, one of the highlights of our visit to Japan. Yudanaka is a great place to stay, we enjoyed wandering around the traditional streets and looking at the public baths. The breakfasts were lovely, we tried both the traditional Japanese breakfast and the continental breakfast. We also used the public bath in the Hotel - what an experience, the water was very hot! Make sure you visit nearby Obuse - a beautiful little town. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Opt for a traditional Japanese style room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

I have zero complaints about our stay here! It is an easy walk (although uphill) from the train station. The rooms are large with great views. The breakfast in the morning is Buffett style with eggs and fruit and bread and cereal... Everything totally fresh. Anyway the best thing about the place is the owners. They are so kind. They dropped us off at Monkey Park and picked us up, took us to an outdoor onsen and picked is up, and dropped us off at the train station (we were running late!). All of this with no extra charge. What amazing service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradyBraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

The owner/proprietor Ichiro Yumoto, and his wife re the most honest, hospitable and sweet people you will ever want to meet. He drove us to the entrance to the snow monkeys park and offered to take us to the station which we refused because it was an easy walk. He prepared for my wife and I a private onsen (Japanese bath) which was very relaxing. The room was super spacious, breakfast excellent but again, the best part was the hospitality. We booked the last room via the internet which was a room for 3 persons although we were only 2. When we checked out Ichiro explained that we were only 2 persons and he reduced our bill. Sad to say that would never happen in the US or most other parts of the world. What a pleasure. This Ryokan was an excellent choice...and, by the way, the restaurant 2 doors downhill towards the town 3 tables?) was TERRIFIC and run by great people too. Food was amazing.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linedancr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yamanouchi-machi hotels
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shiga Palace Hotel
Shiga Palace Hotel
#10 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Ryokan Biyunoyado
Ryokan Biyunoyado
#2 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Senshinkan Matsuya
Senshinkan Matsuya
#3 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Yudanaka Seifuso
Yudanaka Seifuso
#4 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Aburaya Tosen
Aburaya Tosen
#7 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shibu-onsen Kokuya
Shibu-onsen Kokuya
#14 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shimaya Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shimaya Ryokan

Property: Shimaya Ryokan
Address: 3075-I Hirao, Shimotakai-gun, Yamanouchi-machi 381-0401 , Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Shimotakai-gun > Yamanouchi-machi > Yudanaka shibu Onsen , Shigakougenhoppo Onsen , Kumanoyu Onsen
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Yamanouchi-machi
#4 Best Value Hotel in Yamanouchi-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shimaya Ryokan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When requested, we provide free 'on-demand' shuttle services to andfrom the Shimaya Ryokan to the Jigokudani Snow Monkey Park and theYudanaka train station. If you have heavy luggage, please notify usin advance so we can help you. We are also happy to offer suggestionsabout local restaurants and attractions.At our hotel, you can enjoy our public Onsen (hot spring bath) filledwith 100% natural hot spring water. On weekdays, our Onsen can bereserved for private use by families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shimaya Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shimaya Ryokan Hotel Yamanouchi-Machi
Shimaya Ryokan Japan/Nagano Prefecture - Yamanouchi-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing