We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality stay”
Review of Ryokan Biyunoyado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ryokan Biyunoyado
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quality stay”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed one night, wish it was two! We were picked up at the station and taken for lunch at a nearby restraunt (where we got our first look at the monkeys who were pilfering from the garden). Then we were taken to the snow monkeys and recieved a guided tour of the town on the way, lovley place with a good history and great atmosphere. The traditional dinner was marvellous and an experience for my teenage sons, who also overcame their aversion to bathing nude in the onsen at the hotel ( a big thing for western kids i think!), the onsen was so good i went twice in the evening just to soak the aches away. Staff were very helpfull and gave us tips about our next stop as well. Highly recommended, go in the snow so you can hike to the monkeys and then warm up in the onsen afterwards!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    43
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
108
134
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nagano-shi, Nagano, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This place is so nice! It's really spacious, there were English speaking staff and the location is great....It's right near the monkey park and they have another hotel up in the ski area too. This place has its own onsens (hot springs) which were just the right temperature. The food is fantastic too...and we could drink and celebrate there without having to go out in the snow. It was my second time to go there and the staff made me feel so welcome again! I can't wait to go back and stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We really did not know what to expect, but we had such an awesome experience at the Ryokan Biyu no yado. The food was terrific - it tasted great and the presentation was perfect. We enjoyed the Onsen, which was so relaxing and refreshing. We have been to other Onsen, but the natural hot spring can't be beat. Seeing the Snow Monkeys and walking around the town was so relaxing and just terrific fun. All of the town folk are so friendly and welcoming. All of the stores had something very special about them and we could not help but buy and try all of the special treats that were so delicious.
All of the staff at the Ryokan were very friendly and very helpful. They went out of their way to offer to give us rides to the train station or to parts of the town. The room was very nice and comfortable. It was nicely decorated and really made us feel like we were experiencing the beauty of Japan. It was such an awesome experience that we arranged for our daughter and friend to spend a couple of nights there so that they could have the same great experience.

Room Tip: The room we had a very nice view of the town and mountains. All of the snow covered roofs were beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillUCLAUSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed in this ryokan in January 2011 and had a very enjoyable stay. This hotel and town is one of my fondest memories of the entire trip. The rooms were quite spacious, our futons made up for us in the evening and backed up while we were at breakfast. The food was a highlight of the stay, beautifully prepared and presented. I am gluten free and I printed out a gluten free Japanese and English card from the internet which I handed the receptionist at check in as breakfast and dinner were included. They were extremely helpful and ensured that only gluten free food was prepared for me at each meal. The onsen was a lovely experience and I visited daily. We went out to see the Snow Monkeys, also included in the package, and it was spectacular. I recommend this ryokan, it is definitely worth the price and they were so helpful with gluten free. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cass2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honolulu
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This was our second visit to Biyu no Yado and it was a real treat (again!). Spacious traditional Japanese room with a veranda and tatami room. Separate onsen areas for men & women as well as private outdoor spas that we enjoyed while getting dusted with snow. We like to reserve the private couple spa. The food is to die for and it was nice being remembered by the friendly staff, most of whom speak enough English to make one comfortable. The ryokan is near multiple ski areas and they provide a free ride to the monkey park. Access from Tokyo takes about 2 hours is via the shinkansen to Nagano and 45 minutes from Nagano to Yudanaka via Chuo Taxi service or the local train or the taxi will transport you directly from Narita or Haneda airport to Biyunoyado. If you must work the lobby does have free wi fi for internet access.

Room Tip: rooms on the Yudanaka town side have a better view overlooking town and to the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricksilversurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed at the hotel two nights, booked by the travel agent to see the Snow Monkey's. What a surprise, besides the great hotel service, food and of course the Onsen hot tubs, the classic Japanese style accommodation was a great experience. The Yudanaka town was interesting on its own, and is worth the time to explore. What can I say, love Japan.

Room Tip: Grab a train from Nagano: Red Line, which is a short 40 minutes train ride up to Yudanaka.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl City, Hawaii
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My husband and I stayed overnight at the Ryokan Biyunoyado to see the snow monkeys and were really impressed by the service. There was an English speaking service person at the front desk at all times and she went out of her way to chat and share information about the area with us.

The hotel picked us up from and dropped us off at the train station. That was so convenient. We really appreciated them being willing to pick us up even though we arrived before check in time. They even kept our luggage behind the counter, gave us tea, and drove us to the Snow Monkey Park while we were waiting for our rooms to be ready, and arranged to bring us back afterwards. They do shuttle service to the park twice a day, at 9:15am and 1:30pm. We took the hotel shuttle again to the park the next morning. The timing that the driver organized was perfect. The driver knew the train schedule, and brought our luggage with him when he picked us up so we go directly to the train station afterwards.

Our reservation came with dinner and breakfast, which were great traditional Japanese meals. Something like 15 mini dishes. Very healthy and we were stuffed after each meal. Upon check in, the front desk even asked us if we had any food restrictions (I'm vegetarian) and prepared our meals accordingly. The hotel staff prepared our Japanese style futons for us while we were eating dinner too, which was a nice touch.

The hotel has private outdoor onsens on the roof. The views are great, although the water is a bit hot! The hotel also has mens and women's indoor onsens on the 2nd floor.

The rooms were clean and warm. The room layout is well designed, with the mini fridge outside the sleeping area so we weren't bothered by the noise, and a sink inside the room so we could get water and wash our hands without leaving the sleeping area. We were on the 6th floor and enjoyed the mountain view.

Only thing about this hotel is that it's not located in the historic onsen town nearby. I heard that if you stay in one of the ryokans in town, you can go from ryokan to ryokan testing each of their onsens for free. The hotel is kind of like its own little town though with a wide range of services, so we didn't really miss it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quoodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yamanouchi-machi hotels
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shimaya Ryokan
Shimaya Ryokan
#2 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
530 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Yudanaka Seifuso
Yudanaka Seifuso
#3 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
218 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Senshinkan Matsuya
Senshinkan Matsuya
#4 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Aburaya Tosen
Aburaya Tosen
#7 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
142 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shibu-onsen Kokuya
Shibu-onsen Kokuya
#14 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
137 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Jinpyokaku
Jinpyokaku
#5 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Biyunoyado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Biyunoyado

Property: Ryokan Biyunoyado
Address: 2951-1 Hirao | (Yudanaka Onsen), Shimotakai-gun, Yamanouchi-machi 381-0401, Nagano Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Shimotakai-gun > Yamanouchi-machi > Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Yamanouchi-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ryokan Biyunoyado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Japanese Experience including Tatami Rooms & Magical Ryokan Dinner & Breakfast. A limited number of rooms have Westerner Orientated Beds. You'll feel the pride of Yudanaka's Mineral Springs in our 100% Natural Overflowing-Non-recycled HotSprings. Our staff will show a Ryokan tradition in an international atmosphere. Book the private 9th floor rooftop HotSpring Tub for your Floating Sake dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Rakuten, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ryokan Biyunoyado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Biyunoyado Hotel Yamanouchi-Machi
Ryokan Biyunoyado Japan/Nagano Prefecture - Yamanouchi-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing