We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Introduction to Ryokan and Onsen Experiences”
Review of Ryokan Biyunoyado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ryokan Biyunoyado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The etiquette and rituals of traditional Japanese inns and communal bathing can be a bit daunting for the first-time visitor to the country but the friendly approach here - collection from the station, gentle instruction about shoe and sandal rules and how to wear the yukata correctly were all welcomed by we newbies. They shuttled us to and from the Snow Monkeys too and made a special effort to provide a suitable menu for our "begetarian" - fabulous service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeicSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biyunoyado, Public Relations Manager at Ryokan Biyunoyado, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing us such a kind and thoughtful review.

We are delighted to hear that you were able to learn a lot about Japanese customs and that you enjoyed the "begetarian" menu at our ryokan.

We hope that you can come back and visit us again soon.

Best wishes,

All the staff at Biyu no Yado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
There are newer reviews for Ryokan Biyunoyado
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at this Ryokan with our friends from Tokyo and had a wonderful visit to Nagano and the Snow Monkey park! The accommodations were very comfortable and the onsen provided a well-deserved respite from hustling around Japan. The manager, Yukiko san, set the tone for service excellence that ensured all needs were meet or exceeded. The traditional meals for supper and breakfast were excellent (the gohan was a locally raised Koshi Hikari ...outstanding)! The folks who set up the rooms were also very solicitous and made us feel very welcome. The bar had a selection of local beer from Shiga Koen and also some nice Sake...a nice way to continue to unwind after a nice soak.

Yukiko san also greeted us at each meal to give us a little introduction and make us feel even more at home. In addition to Japanese, Yukiko san also speaks excellent English so no worries in that department.

The staff provided transportation to and from the railway station and also to the Snow Monkey park. That was very helpful considering we had 7 people in our party.

I look forward to my next visit to Nagano and will definitely make the detour to visit this Ryokan again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank o_b_driftwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yudanakaview, Guest Relations Manager at Ryokan Biyunoyado, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. I'm very happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay in Nagano and enjoyed everything that Yudanaka and our Ryokan have to offer.

We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Tori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I've been here for several days and my experience with Ryokan was unforgettable. Their service is great, everything works perfectly. It feels like home when you stay in Ryokan! I really loved the place. Worth paying for :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esosin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yudanakaview, Guest Relations Manager at Ryokan Biyunoyado, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your writing such a positive review, we really appreciate your comments.

I'm delighted to hear that you felt at home during your stay and hope that you are able to visit again for a relaxing holiday sometime soon.

Best wishes,

Tori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We were very happy that we booked this ryokan. Due to the snow it was not easy to get there, because the train did not work. We had to wait, but got a bus to Yudanaka Onsen and were welcomed by the exeptionel friendly managers of this ryokan. The snow monkey were snowed in and we could not go there. To chear us up, the manager brought us to a local restaurant and then we enjoyed the privat onsen of our room and later great dinner at the ryokan.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReginaCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yudanakaview, Guest Relations Manager at Ryokan Biyunoyado, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing us such a positive review, despite the snowy conditions during your visit! I am delighted to hear that you were able to relax in the onsen after a rather stressful journey.

We hope that you are able to stay with us again in the near future and visit the snow monkeys bathing in the onsen!

Best wishes,
Tori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel 15/16 Feb 2014. The Manager, Yukiko, was so friendly and helpful and made our stay even better. The rooms are spacious and very clean, the meals outstanding and the Onsens were excellent. The staff were very helpful and provided very good transfers in their vehicles. We would recommend this hotel to anyone. For us, it was 5 star! (I can't get the star ratings to work on my computer!)

Room Tip: Our West facing rooms had nice views - particularly of the big snow falls!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yudanakaview, Guest Relations Manager at Ryokan Biyunoyado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, we really appreciate your comments!

I'm delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and hope that you are able to visit again soon!

Best wishes,
Tori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Amazing and friendly service. Very culturally helpful and understanding. Incredible view of the snowy mountainous area of natural hot water springs. A wonderful break from the city life and overall a warm, friendly and authentic atmosphere. Would 100% recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank India J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yudanakaview, Guest Relations Manager at Ryokan Biyunoyado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing us such a warm review. I'm delighted that you had a relaxing break away from busy city life and were able to enjoy the natural hot springs the area has to offer.

Hopefully you'll be able to visit again soon!

Best wishes,
Tori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My family's stay at Ryokan Biyunoyado came to us by accident. The owner of the ryokan we originally were staying at accidentally overbooked and had us move over to Ryokan Biyunoyado for our last two nights. Angry and upset that we were getting kicked out, we willingly packed up our things and headed to Ryokan Biyunoyado, in the middle of a snow storm!
We were first greeted by Tori, who took care right from the start. She checked us in, made sure we had a big enough room for 4 people, made our dinner and breakfast accommodations, and showed us to our room.
While checking out the bar and using the free wifi I met Yuki. She asked me where I was visiting from, I said Hawaii. As it turns out she used to live in Hawaii for a long time! She made me a cup of coffee and had a brief conversation before she went back to shoveling snow outside of the ryokan. She was so personable and inviting, I knew we had stumbled across a gem!
Since we were snowed in our family opted for the kaiseki dinner at the ryokan. It was amazing, presentation was impeccable, everything fresh and local. Yuki came into the dining room and greeted all the guests and explained what we were eating. It was probably the most authentic Japanese meal we had on our entire trip!
My sister, mom, and I took advantage of the indoor and outdoor public bath. It was very relaxing and was just what we need in this cold weather! I'm not too keen on public onsen, but the one here was so beautiful, clean, and provided amenities, I just couldn't resist.
We ended up being snowed in the entire time we were there and spending most of our time in the their very stylish yet comfy lobby that has big windows overlooking the town. Thankfully Yuki, Tori, and the entire hotel staff kept our spirits up. Yuki checked in on us every now and then, came and talked story. She told us about Japan life, we told her about new places in Hawaii she needed to visit. At the end of our stay, Yuki and another hotel staff member drove us and another group all the way to Nagano Station so we could take the shinkansen back to Tokyo since the Yudanaka station was still closed because of snow!
The customer service here is the best I've ever received from a hotel, maybe EVER (and I work for a business that prides itself on customer service). That really is what it comes down to; amazing customer service; keeping customers happy under whatever circumstances, creating relationships, and going above and beyond.
Thank you to our previous ryokan for overbooking, most of all thank you to Yuki and her staff for making our stay memorable, relaxing, and enjoyable! I hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahfumiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yudanakaview, Guest Relations Manager at Ryokan Biyunoyado, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. We were delighted to have you stay with us at Biyu no Yado and are glad that you had a pleasant time, despite being snowed in during your visit! It gave us a chance to spend some time with you in the lounge and it seems you felt relaxed after the onsen.

I hope that you're able to visit again soon when there is a little less snow so that you can go walking around the village and take in some of the beautiful scenery!

Best wishes,
Tori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yamanouchi-machi hotels
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shimaya Ryokan
Shimaya Ryokan
#1 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
545 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Aburaya Tosen
Aburaya Tosen
#8 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
146 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Yudanaka Seifuso
Yudanaka Seifuso
#3 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shibu-onsen Kokuya
Shibu-onsen Kokuya
#13 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
140 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Senshinkan Matsuya
Senshinkan Matsuya
#4 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
261 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Kanbayashi Hotel Senjukaku
Kanbayashi Hotel Senjukaku
#7 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Biyunoyado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Biyunoyado

Address: 2951-1 Hirao | (Yudanaka Onsen), Yamanouchi-machi, Shimotakai-gun 381-0401, Nagano Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Shimotakai-gun > Yamanouchi-machi > Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Yamanouchi-machi
Price Range: £148 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ryokan Biyunoyado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Japanese Experience including Tatami Rooms & Magical Ryokan Dinner & Breakfast. A limited number of rooms have Westerner Orientated Beds. You'll feel the pride of Yudanaka's Mineral Springs in our 100% Natural Overflowing-Non-recycled HotSprings. Our staff will show a Ryokan tradition in an international atmosphere. Book the private 9th floor rooftop HotSpring Tub for your Floating Sake dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Ryokan Biyunoyado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Biyunoyado Hotel Yamanouchi-Machi
Ryokan Biyunoyado Japan/Nagano Prefecture - Yamanouchi-Machi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing