We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Excellent breakfast, good size rooms with great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mercure - Les Arcs 1800
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Les Arcs
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, Excellent breakfast, good size rooms with great view”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed there with family for 4 days. We were half board. The rooms was spacious and had a balcony too.

The breakfast buffet was excellent with lot of choices. I had the tastiest and most cheesy (literally!) scrambled eggs ever. It was yummy. Every morning I looked for scrambled eggs, sausages and pancakes. Except for the desserts, the 3-course dinner felt a bit repetitive. For the main course the choice was always between fish or meat. That's what they had for half-boarders. But the overall quality of the food was good. The desserts were excellent.
After the dinner, you could spend time in the spacious lounge with a big fireplace. Probably sip your red wine, your whisky and read that thriller novel. If you fancy, you could also play the piano and charm other guests. There is also a pool table and it was a stress buster for us after a long day of skiing.

The location of the hotel is convenient and it's close to the ski-lifts. The town center is around 5-10 mins walk and has good number of shops including the ski-rental shops. The bus stop is close to the hotel which is a bonus when you have to roam about various pistes.

I have some negative feedback too. Alcohol is quite expensive at the bar. And I mean it. The food at the restaurant seemed expensive too (if you aren't half board). Tea and coffee were not put in the room everyday. And there was no milk.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isubuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    166
    42
    15
    13
See reviews for
179
130
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cesson, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Directrice present and looked after her clients, personnel top very helpful and polite, Dinner was very nice , Breakfast Buffet was very good with lots of choice , Hotel has a good position for skiing, A very nice Terrace, Rooms are a very good size,
Tea & Coffee not put in the room every day ?
15.00€ for a Dog is a bit expensive per day and 20.00€ for the underground parking also and its a little hard to find all the services in the hotel as they are not marked in the lifts
But we had a very good stay and would not thin twice about going back

Room Tip: The higher up you are the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CELINE L, Directeur général at Hotel Mercure - Les Arcs 1800, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Google Translation
Un grand merci d'avoir pris le temps de nous laisser ce gentil message sur les souvenirs de votre séjour à l'hôtel Mercure Arc 1800**** cet hiver.
Nous sommes très touchés et nous espérons vous accueillir de nouveau très bientôt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

A good hotel with very good facilities for skiing - very near the piste, convenient ski lockers etc.
Rooms are large with great views on the valley side. We have stayed here many times. Main problem is the food at Dinner does not meet usual Mercure standards and is relatively expensive (considering the quality) even by French standards. To walk into Les Arcs for Dinner is a little too far and one is unlikely to get great food there either, so the Demi-pension deal is practical but the standard of food is very average.
On the whole the staff were very helpful (especially the manager and the cleaners) but the bar staff in the evenings were inattentive and humourless - variously engaged in filling up stock-taking forms. In addition the bar was cold ( I stoked up the fire myself) and lacked "animation". In previous years there has been a small band which added to the atmosphere enormously. This feature of the hotel seems to have been dropped. ? Cost cutting out of the high season??

Room Tip: ASk for a higher placed room facing the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
267 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The hotel is well positioned close (50m) to the end of the Charmettoger piste and the ski lift. I had one of the best checkin arrival experiences ever, though the friendliness of the hotel service did vary somewhat. The staff in the bar were rude, but in the restaurant engaged, hyper active and helpful ~ strange.
The rooms are large and easily accommodate 2 adults and 2 children, albeit it a little (Mercure) spartan. The conjoined singles, double bed was not great and I slept poorly, time for a mattress change perhaps? The room has a table and 3 chairs and a tea beverage service (though the tea bags are not replaced - you need to get replacements from the breakfast buffet).
WiFi is free, but unusable in the room and during peak periods elsewhere, be prepared to be disappointed.
The restaurant serves a comprehensive breakfast and we enjoyed our evening meal.
Covered parking is €30 per day, but worth the extra convenience of being able to access your car directly.
This is a typical Mercure Hotel, it could be great, but it is only good. There are too many gaps in delivery and as usual there is an absence of visible management. As a result it is rather expensive for what is delivered.
You pay for location!

Room Tip: Avoid x16 as near the lift. All others more or less same. Great views over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 100nights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We gave the Mercure a good review last year. It's now under new management so here is an update for Feb 2014.
It has a more professional feel to it. Food good and bar friendly. Views from the room as good as ever. A healthy mix of groups, couples and more families than we've seen before.
Apparently updates are planned for the rooms which are still comfortable and now with safes and tea stations.
It will give Celine and Olivier a chance to put their own stamp on the place. Their English is excellent but we still love to 'pratiquer le francais'. They are very patient!
Looking forward to coming back soon.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CELINE L, Directeur général at Hotel Mercure - Les Arcs 1800, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Wonderful Guest, thank you so much for your kindly message That make us very happy... Your french is perfect :-) so don't hesitated to come back quick to practis again. We are waiting for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel over the New year for a week as a family,the hotel itself is a good size not too large,we stayed here as BB and to be honest its a high 3 star hotel,everything in this hotel is a 4 star however a few things let it down, the rooms are a bit tired looking,and there is only one place you can eat the restaurant where the food is acceptable.
Breakfast in the morning consisted of cheese/meat selections the regular croissant bread baskets and you can a variety of egg orders-as far as breakfast is concerned its average fair,lunch is the same as well as dinner,however les arcs as far as food is concerned is a huge let down so if your a foodie dont expect much. Having that said our new years eve food was a very good effort by the hotel serving a 5 course meal including lobster which was a nice treat all was well cooked with great flavour.
Back to the hotel itself the lobby is a lovely inviting beamed area with seating ,tv and pool tables. Reception staff are fantastic and the Hotel manager probably the best we have ever come across !!! Some earlier reviews did say some of the waiters were moody but to be honest we always found them happy to help even when our children wanted to eat in their rooms they brought the food up promptly and didnt even wait for a tip!
The rooms have all the facilities,robes slippers etc but are very tired looking they could really do with upgrading.
The view from the rooms are beautiful and the cleaners cleaned every morning,so nothing really negative bar the look of the hotel itself,very child friendly although the walks to the slopes are a good 10 min downhill and then 20 min uphill with skis if your lucky,it has a good kids club the outside pool was closed but the jacuzzi was open and that was fine.
Would stay here again,but pricey for what it is.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the lifts you can hear the lift area music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anaher5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We loved our week at the Mercure 1800! The staff were friendly and helpful, with great language skills so were more than happy to speak English when my French failed. The room was spacious and it was lovely having a balcony to dry kit on after a day on the slopes. We were half-board and found the food was great. The buffet breakfast and evening meal was perfect for our needs and we didn't go hungry. During the week there was a set menu, which was also very tasty but if you didn't like what was on offer then you had an a la carte menu of local delicacies to choose from (if willing to pay for them). We will certainly be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAmKatM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Arcs hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
#1 of 17 in Les Arcs
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#8 of 17 in Les Arcs
421 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Arc 1950 Le Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Arcadien Hotel & Spa
Arcadien Hotel & Spa
#12 of 17 in Les Arcs
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Belmont
2.7 mi away
Hotel Taj-I Mah
Hotel Taj-I Mah
#2 of 17 in Les Arcs
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercure - Les Arcs 1800? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure - Les Arcs 1800

Property: Hotel Mercure - Les Arcs 1800
Address: Village de Charmettoger | Arc 1800, 73700 Les Arcs, Bourg Saint Maurice, France (Formerly Grand Hotel Paradiso - Les Arcs)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Bourg Saint Maurice > Les Arcs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Les Arcs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mercure - Les Arcs 1800 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the resort "Les Arcs 1800" and easily accessible for guests returning from the slopes on skis, The Grand Hotel Paradiso offers its 81 spacious and comfortable rooms in a unique setting.The panoramic restaurant is open morning, noon & night (in winter). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mercure - Les Arcs 1800 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing