We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable week at the Hotel du Golf”
Review of Hotel du Golf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Golf
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Les Arcs
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable week at the Hotel du Golf”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Just had a great week of skiing at Les Arc and arrived back to the UK today. We stayed at the Hotel du Golf and really enjoyed the friendliness and excellent service there. The General Manager, Eric, and his staff at the hotel were very friendly and made our holiday a very enjoyable one. Initially the room assigned to us was right next to an external staircase but Rafik, at the reception was very helpful and took time to change the room for us - which demonstrated a high quality of customer service.

The food at the three restaurants was fine and we particularly enjoyed the evening dinners at the Le Petit Zinc. As previous reviewers have already highlighted, the location of the hotel at Les Arc 1800 is very close to the ski lifts - so after a good day of skiing, it was great that we were able to simply just ski back to the hotel and no need to carry the ski equipment!

We have been skiing at different places in Europe in the past few years and would say that the past week of skiing at Les Arc was the most delightful of experience that we have had so far. The nice and relax atmosphere of the ski resort and the variety of ski runs had obviously played an important role. However, we feel that the hotel and its friendly staff were also a major contributing factor to our enjoyable week there. As such, Eric and his team should be commended for their excellent customer service.

We plan to return to Les Arc 1800 and this lovely hotel next year.

J&THo, Guildford

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ASHJHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    183
    70
    27
    19
See reviews for
149
140
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is a good hotel which is located a 2- 3 minutes shuffle on skiis to 3 different lifts up the hills. Except for the initial surprise of the small (though modern, warm and well-appointed) rooms, and the startlingly frosty reception from reception on arrival, everything else was just the ticket. We knew to expect no showers, rather a hand-held shower head in a bathtub; we had heard of the M.C. Esher-esque sloping corridor "walkways" which follow the main sleeping wing of the hotel as it slopes off northwards down the hill. Except for blonde bespectacled receptionist at start, every other staff member was smiley and cheerfully helpful. We recommend the in-hotel Petit Zinc restaurant not only for dinner, but for smashing (and not-too-expensive for slope dining) lunch: this area can be entered from outside avec ski-gear. Every night there seemed to be a birthday, including one of our party, and despite no one knowing about our pre-arrangements for a surprise cake, a delicious chocolate one was whistled up by the lovely manageress of Zinc. The excellent French bar manager has a great Scottish accent, and a bespoke kilt. The hotel was busy in New Year week, hence ski store rooms a bit chaotic at busy times, but the cheerful ski concierges were doing their best. Beds supremely comfy, food good and lots of it. Remember to book ahead for either of the other 2 in-hotel restaurants if you don't want to eat in the main one at night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porteye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I stayed in the first week of the 2013/14 ski season. The hotel looked as though it had just been renovated. My room was comfortable, but short of luxurious, with plenty of hot water for a bath though no shower curtain, and plenty of space to hang ski clothing to air. It had a fabulous view of the mountains.

The hotel is large and has an unusual layout, with most rooms below the reception and off long, intersecting, sloping corridors - difficult to find your room until you get used to it. It is very well situated for the pistes (basically ski-in-ski-out) and the Charvet village at Arc 1800. Arriving by bus as a group, we all had to carry our bags quite a long way, though it turned out that the hotel would have sent a shuttle bus to meet us had we known to ask - when we left, our bags went on the shuttle bus while we walked.

Breakfast and dinner were buffet only. A good selection of fruit, cereals, breads, cold meat, cheese, and cooked eggs, sausage and bacon for breakfast. Dinner buffet had very good salads, cold meats and cold fish selections, but the cooked food, all presented in bains-marie, was no more than OK - it should have been better, frankly. The wine list was uninspiring and expensive relative to the quality of the food. The bar had a good jazz band playing before and after dinner, but the drinks were not cheap.

Perhaps because it was the beginning of the season, service was friendly, keen and generally good. I wonder whether the enthusiasm will last out the season!

New this season is a concierge ski and boot service. This service had not bedded down. It gets busy as most skiers tend to want to start off at the same time in the morning and return at the same time in the afternoon. Queues built up, despite a fairly low number of skiers staying at the hotel at the time, and it was annoying to have to wait for someone to hand you/take back skis and boots when you could perfectly readily do it yourself.

Having stayed for a week as part of a package, I do not know how much the hotel would cost if booked separately. If the price was right I would be happy to stay there again. I did not try the spa/pool, for which extra is charged. Wi-fi is free - I always had a strong signal, though others in the group had problems.

Room Tip: higher floors probably involve less walking to and from the reception/bar/restaurant/ski room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UlyssePT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
Level Contributor
330 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Just back from a 4 day trip to this lovely hotel. It is situated in the middle of Arc 1800 with convenient access to all the shops, bars, restaurants and slopes.
The room I had was on the north side of the building with no view on the slopes but with a lovely view of the maintain range across the valley. The twin room is spacious enough and has a lot of closets to store all your skiing stuff. The bathroom is rather small but has everything you need (mine had a bath tub and no shower) and the toilet is located in a different separate area. The bed is of generous dimensions and the mattress is outstanding. The room was quite. The heating worked fine and the water was hot as it should be.
Free wifi reception in the room is excellent, I think that a router was placed in each room.
The breakfast buffet is generously laid out and a selection of local cheeses and cured meats are proposed. The dinner buffet is also well laid out but with a majority of cold dishes I would qualify as entrees. About 4 hot dishes are proposed and one dish is prepared by a show cook.
The dessert buffet is a treat.
Before or after dinner, it is worthwhile to spend some time in the bar close to the fire place. The bar tender makes some pretty good cocktails and to try to local white Savoie wine. There is also a fine local band that performs twice a night in the bar.
Skis and boots can be safely stored in a shop about 25 m away from the lobby.
There is also a lovely wellness area in the hotel (access is 62 euros for 3 days, including a 25 minute massage) and it has a pool, hamman and sauna.
Staff was outstanding, always available, cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenaipas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Perfectly located on the edge but centered of the area. Facing the mountains and at literally 200 meters from the skiing tracks. Rooms are confortable and well equiped, even if some are very "far" from the receptionist.

Hotel is huge and make think of a huge cruise ship. Good breakfast. 2 restaurants inside not really amazing but quite ok. Very happening jazz lounge bars. Swimming pool and spa are way too small for the size of the hotel.

Still the best hotel for the 1800 "level".

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliviachic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Had a great time at Hotel du Golf, met some lovely people in a absolutely fantastic setting.
As the hotel is in a ski resort, the hotel is geared up for this, so the summer is really the hotel's down time. Therefore, the hotel was pretty quiet- perhaps only a few rooms taken- which did mean the atmosphere was a little low! However the hotel itself is fine- the communal areas are smart and look recently jazzed up. The rooms are rather 1970's style but the bed was very comfy, we had an amazing view of the Alps and it was all very clean. Only downsides to the room were there was no coffee or tea facilities, and the shower had a small low mount so you would have to either sit down in the bath or hold the shower itself, not always the most easy or comfortable! Also, there was no jacuzzi or sauna as I had hoped- they were there but only switched on in the winter!
All the staff were wonderful- we came across Matthieus, David and Pierre- all completely charming and very helpful. The hotel is easy to find and is well situated in Les Arcs as all the main activities are here for winter and summer, plus cable cars, ski lifts, shops, bars and restaurants. Food was not great to begin with- we went for the half board option (so breakfast and dinners) breakfast is mostly bread, boiled eggs, fruit, croissants, cereal and some bacon/scrambled eggs- plenty to go round. The evening meals were ambitious and thoughtful but didn't always quite hit the mark- however as the holiday went on the food got much better and was presented beautifully. There is a smart bar for drinks and cocktails by this restaurant and also a large fire for the cold nights!
Overall we were happy with our stay and would certainly recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashyberries10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Arcs hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
#2 of 17 in Les Arcs
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure - Les Arcs 1800
2.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Arc 1950 Le Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Belmont
1.6 mi away
Arcadien Hotel & Spa
Arcadien Hotel & Spa
#10 of 17 in Les Arcs
95 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Taj-I Mah
Hotel Taj-I Mah
#1 of 17 in Les Arcs
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Golf

Property: Hotel du Golf
Address: Village du Charvet | Arc 1800, 73700 Les Arcs, Bourg Saint Maurice, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Bourg Saint Maurice > Les Arcs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Les Arcs
#4 Spa Hotel in Les Arcs
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Les Arcs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Golf 3*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right in the centre of Arc 1800 and at the foot of the slopes, the Hotel du Golf is one of the most renowed in the region. The views on the forest, the slopes and the Mont-Blanc will charm any mountain lover.- The Grand Domaine des Arcs" and "Paradiski" ski areas - Altitude: 1,200 - 3,250 m.- One of the largest ski centres in the Alps with 3700 ha of skiing domain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pv Holidays Hotel Latitudes Du

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing