We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel great location”
Review of Hotel du Golf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Golf
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Les Arcs
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel great location”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from another great week in arc1800 .Hotel is 1st class with ski in ski out facilities, south facing rooms are very spacious and comfortable, minor improvements could make it even better eg a shower screen / curtain !! Restaurant had a very good themed buffet selection every night, except on our last night when it was fisherman night which I loved but my wife could not as there was no veggie option .The bar is modern but cozy with very tasty cocktails and great entertainment .The hotel has introduced a ski concierge service in the boot room which may get ok but still a bit erratic trying to get gear in and out despite the young assistants that try hard.Overall a great hotel in a superb location.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    183
    70
    27
    19
See reviews for
149
138
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Positives:
- can't beat the location, very close to the lifts and ski schools
- comfortable bed
- ski locker room on the way to the piste

Negatives:
- they had no recollection of our booking on arrival and had to wait ages to get it sorted (second year in a row, with no explanation)
- kids running up and down the corridors at all hours
- no take away food allowed in the room (get stopped at reception)
- no shower in the room (only a bath)
- do not disturb sign disregarded on the door and cleaners came in anyway while we were asleep
- no tea and coffee facilities
- wifi signal unusable
- tv is locked down to not allowed external hdmi input
- ski concierge service busy/a bit flaky
- spa is very tiny, you have to queue for the jacuzzi and the swimming pool is not big enough to swim in. Would be acceptable if it was free but for 15 euros it wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank insano10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel several years ago and I must say that recent improvements and refurbishments have been impressive . We had a superior , south facing room with balcony and lovely big bathroom. Worth the extra. Staff were so friendly and welcoming. The Manager was always about checking on his guests. He took a real pride in his job and was charming . There is a choice of 3 restaurants. The buffet was plentiful with a large range of salads , cheeses, hot and cold dishes and an excellent desserts buffet . Special childrens buffet upstairs .The Mont Blanc restaurant wasexcellent with wonderful staff. Again , plentiful helpings of raclette , pierrade or fondue . Need to book in advance . Petit Zinc restaurant offered lighter but classy meals most of which we enjoyed . Breakfast buffet was the best we had known . Crispy bacon , eggs of all sorts , sausage , fruits, yoghurt s , breads, croissants etc it set us up for the day and we never needed much lunch !
Cosy lounge and bar with music in the evening . Great cocktails . Cooking competition for children and cooking demonstration classes . Excellent ski concierge service with boots heated for you and equipment looked after . Staff very friendly . Great location. Easy access to the vanoise express link to La Plagne. Had a fab day on the Bellecote glacier in glorious sunshine . A must -do ! ! Hotel is less than a minutes walk from shops and bar . Easy ski in ski out . Was a very expensive week but due to Half Term mainly. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone !

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-katelijne-waver, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Really enjoyed my stay, the location was effect for skiing an certainly with the ski service together with the store next door.always dry shoes :)
We stayed half board. The food was great and the choice between the 3 different type of restaurants was ideal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank J03N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Just left this morning after a five night stay in hotel Du golf. Ok, arrival at hotel is a bit wierd, van picks luggage up, was a mystery of what exactly was going on and how to get into the hotel but eventually we parked car and found our way to the hotel, via the main shops, probably needs a little more explanation to any new guests to make life easier. Check in was easy, rooms available earlier than normal 4pm, man from van brought luggage back without even asking him, pretty good and he was a little tired out with the amount of luggage we have but the tip made him feel better for it! Rooms - yes its a 3 star hotel and pretty basic for sure, even with superior rooms, which i could only deduce were different from standard room in that they had a better view. Nevertheless, comfortable enough, nice bath rooms, bath with shower head was cosy if you are little but boy those bathrooms need a shower screen as it hurts at my age to have a shower while crouched down squatting. With kids with us over a couple of rooms, we went to buffet each night and for breakfast, evening buffet had different presentation each night and staff usually pretty good and efficient. Food was slightly limited but had a nice kids section and overall okay, similar for breakfast. Bar area and reception nice and comfortable, some staff very very polite indeed.
Good set up with ski locker/ski room and hotel can certainly be ski in ski out, almost to the door.
Kids club enjoyable and well set up. Check out with the same luggage is not as easy even with us being hardened travellers, we started the luggage move to the long drag to the car the day before and was hard work to say the least, with a roof box you are unable to use indoor car park for resort so have to find any other space which can be quite a way out. We were lucky and parked next to the main indoor park but still a five minute walk to hotel door! if we had left until the morning of departure, it would be chaotic with one van and a lot of people checking out before the unusually early hotel departure time of 10am as pinned up on a number of notices to guests. The ski resort itself has about the right number of shops and eateries for what is actually quite a small resort. The ski slopes are pretty good and the main lifts are a couple of minutes from hotel door so very handy. Half term as you would expect was busy but actually in the hotel you were not kept waiting at all. The lifts were very busy at different times, usually around the childrens starting and ending ski school sessions. The one thing i would definitely want people to know is that ski lessons require booking well in advance due to limited amount of instructors but most importantly for any potential visitor, the ski runs are not for beginners, there are no green runs and you need to have been skiing a few times before appreciating this resort as the blue runs were quite hard in areas. Overall though the whole of les arcs ski areas was very nice, maybe a few more hill top cafes dotted around was needed but not much more than that, good variety of ski stuff to do in the area. Recommended for the more experienced skiers, probably could have done with a couple more days for sure!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton Bradstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
541 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The Hotel is genuinely ski in ski out and there are lifts close enough to the Hotel to get into the Paradiski area easily.

The rooms are adequate. I don't understand the wisdom of not having showers in the rooms and this is a definite downside.
There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms so maybe bring your own travel kettle.

The food is plentiful with a huge variety to cater for all tastes and dietary needs. Service is very good with Fabien efficiently running the show.


Eric the general manager is very good and sorted out the few problems we had when we found the staff on the Reception desk rude disdainful incompetent and unhelpful.

The ski room system is fabulous. There were always had staff to take your skis and boots boots from you at the end of the day and put them on boot warmers for the morning. In the morning your warn dry boots were brought out.

The bar is great with the bar manager Regis presiding over everything efficiently creating great ambiance.


There are no stairs in the Hotel - it is built on a slope. Try to get a room numbered 300 or 400 and something so you are not low down. Alternatively it is possible to use a lift rather than stop up and down the slopes.

The spa is OK but not really worth taking into account. The indoor pool is tiny, Jacuzzi takes 4 comfortably - six if you're thin. Its very busy and best to book.

Chambery airport is a bit of a zoo on busy Saturdays. Its facilities are poor and it gets very crowded. Consider Geneva as an option.

Stayed February 2014

Room Tip: Avoid room numbered 100 as they are a long way down and have no view. Go for 300 or 400 if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Decent hotel overall, but room not cleaned on day three at all, which is very poor. Don't mind if hotel is one or two stars, but in a three star hotel this is not acceptable. Fantastic live music in the evening. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bolty1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Arcs hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure - Les Arcs 1800
0.5 mi away
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
#2 of 17 in Les Arcs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Taj-I Mah
Hotel Taj-I Mah
#1 of 17 in Les Arcs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Arc 1950 Le Village
1.6 mi away
Arcadien Hotel & Spa
Arcadien Hotel & Spa
#11 of 17 in Les Arcs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Belmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Golf

Property: Hotel du Golf
Address: Village du Charvet | Arc 1800, 73700 Les Arcs, Bourg Saint Maurice, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Bourg Saint Maurice > Les Arcs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Les Arcs
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Les Arcs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Golf 3*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right in the centre of Arc 1800 and at the foot of the slopes, the Hotel du Golf is one of the most renowed in the region. The views on the forest, the slopes and the Mont-Blanc will charm any mountain lover.- The Grand Domaine des Arcs" and "Paradiski" ski areas - Altitude: 1,200 - 3,250 m.- One of the largest ski centres in the Alps with 3700 ha of skiing domain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel du Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pv Holidays Hotel Latitudes Du

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing