We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Les Arcs de Triumph!”

Maeva Residence Charmettoger
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maeva Residence Charmettoger
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Les Arcs
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Our stay in Les Arc was brilliant. We had sun and snow and a fabulous meal out at the Mountain Bar. Our accommodation was just what we wanted, clean and well equipped. Sleeping arrangements meant the three children slept in the lounge but we knew this and in my mind you get what you pay for.
This accommodation was excellent value for a ski resort with a ski locker room and being close to the slopes (five minute walk from the telekabin).
The staff were brillianta and extremely helpful. We had booked a five person studio which they suggested may be too small. For a small charge we upgraded to the next size which suited us much better.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pierre & Vacances Center Parcs
Thank Tessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Maeva Residence Charmettoger
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Like previous reviewers, my friends and I were shocked at the state of these apartments. Travelling with Crystal, we where asked on arrival if we wanted to pay 125 euros to upgrade. On viewing the 'upgraded' apartment, we found mould, rotting wood,broken tiles, a dirty bathroom etc. Heaven knows what the 'downgraded' one looked like! After 5 hours of arguing with the Crystal rep (who, incidentally, tried his very best to help) we were offered a third option. This was in Aguille grieve, which must be the nicest block. Even then, the mattress covers were covered in stains and hairs. As we were all exhausted by this time, we agreed to stay overnight, fully clothed, and have a deep clean the next day. Eventually, we were able to start enjoying our holiday. This is a good location, but all the apartments need to be thoroughly and regularly cleaned.

Room Tip: Insist on going into Aguille Grieve.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NotdunroaminLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Not what we expected, difficult to check in. staff friendly when you could find them. Apartment was in very poor condition broken and cracked toilet and sink.

We were a family of 6 and did not mind the cramped conditions. very dark and depressing building.

Room Tip: Ask for pictures of apartment and get them to confirm that all is worging and nothing broken in the...
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rockhill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

I’d think twice about booking an apartment here, particularly if you don’t book direct. I booked mine through ifyouski.com who (so I found out) use a Dutch firm TravelHorizon as the middle man. Finding the place in Les Arcs 1800 was a nightmare and once we did we had to change apartments because the first one offered to us was in such poor condition.

This is what the joining instructions said in the travel document ".......Once arrived in the resort: follow the signs of the prereception MAEVA village de Carmetogger. You will be informed how to get to your residence". In reality, the process on the ground was intended to work something like 'find the rep in his office under the Residence Arandelieres, collect keys from the rep and leave a deposit, pick up bedding from the Maeva reception located in the Le Thuria.'. All separated by considerable distance. And dragging suitcases around a freezing cold Arcs 1800 is not fun.......!!

Having found the Reception du Thuria we were told the TravelHorizen rep would by then have closed his office but they had a key to our apartment they could let us have. We found the apartment but it was in very poor condition. In particular it was unsafe. A mal-functioning electric heater had set fire to the curtains: have a look at the photos.

After tracking down the TravelHorizen rep, with the help of the Reception du Thuria [they were helpful], and pressing him hard for satisfactory accommodation we were eventually housed in Aiguille Grive. This though was after several stressful hours following our initial arrival in Les Arcs and well after shops and restaurants had shut which meant that we had nothing to eat. This was an appalling way to start a holiday.

Fairly typical of the service offered by TravelHorizon was the advice in the pack supplied by the local TravelHorizon rep which said "Before leaving please contact your guides TravelHorizon at our desk in Residence Arandlieres every day from 17h to 19hr about your checkout...". On our last evening we made a special trip to Residence Arandlieres to advise of our departure arrangements. We arrived at shortly after 17h. The office was shut with the notice on the door saying it was open 18h to 19h. Brilliant!

As a postscript, I complained when I got back home. ifyouski.com seem totally uninterested and this was the response from TravelHorizen. I won’t be using either company again.

”We follow your complain regarding your trip from the 21/03/2009 until the 28/03/2009 at Les Arcs 1800. which draws all our attention. We would like you to know that we regret the problems you went through because this situation is not representative of the quality we use to give to our customers. We are very sorry about the fact that you could’nt find easy your accommodation when you arrived in the resort.

It is with great regret that we learn from you that you saw the apartment in a poor condition and it seems that you are not so happy with the TravelHorizon rep.. We apologize for that. As fare as we know you did’nt contacted the technical agent in order to fix the problem with the electric heater? Because of these facts why we’ll not refund you. [I hadn’t asked for a refund but it might have been nice.]. The team SkiHorizon thanks you and hope to see you shortly for your next holidays. Thank you for your loyalty. “

My ratings are on the apartment we stayed in (and include Maeva’s response to a leaking kitchen sink). It was handily located for the ski hire shop, excellent little bakery and lift, and just about ski in. The accommodation was basic but OK and not too far from the centre of Les Arcs 1800. Scores for the apartment we refused to take would have been ‘nil points’.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank miniboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pv_customer_liaison, Site Manager for Residence Maeva Charmettoger at Maeva Residence Charmettoger, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2009

Hello minboomer,

Although most of your complaint lies with the company you booked with and their representative, I felt that I should address points you have made about your accommodation.

Firstly, the location and services available at our residences are listed in-depth on our company website. We encourage our partners to list as much information as possible on their websites and pass information onto their customers.

I would like to apologise that you had to change your rooms on arrival. I can assure you the faulty radiator is a very rare occurrence, in one of our most popular locations.

I've passed on your comments to head office and have listed the events that gave rise to your comments. In addition to ensuring that all rooms are spotlessly clean for new guests, it is our policy to check that all facilities work correctly. We apologise that, in this instance, the situation was not resolved to your satisfaction.

We sincerely hope you choose to stay at one of our Maeva residences again soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

Stayed here in February 2009 - half term. Got a last minute holiday with Crystal, booked on the Thursday and flew out on the Saturday for one week.

Flight delayed on way out so by the time we got to the apartments, it was the middle of the night. There was only one member of staff on the reception desk and approximately 50 people to check in - he did his best but would have been much quicker with more staff. Rather confusing, had to put a deposit down with credit card, pay for towels and remote control for French TV - we had bought along our PS2 for our young boys to play and watch films, so had to hire the remote - came to £45 at end of stay with towels.

Apartments very small and had to make own beds, blankets dirty, our friend's apartment smelt of smoke for the entire stay, despite purchasing air freshener, our apartment the extractor fan was on constantly. We never saw the reception desk open for the rest of our stay only the day of departure - so any issues with the rooms would never have been addressed....

Great base for skiing though, very close to the lifts and shops but wouldn't want to stay in the apartments again - also no internet access.....

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappydaysBillericay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pv_customer_liaison, Maeva Charmettoger site manager at Maeva Residence Charmettoger, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2009

To happydaysbillericay,
I'd like to thank you for your recent view and would like to apologise with the inconvenience you incurred when checking in. I'm pleased to say that check in to P&V properties is normally very swift and easy. Due to your delayed flight and arrival in the early hours of the morning, we had a smaller amount of staff on reception, hence the delay. We do endeavor to keep a member of staff on the premises at all times, and will post a contact number for an on-site member of staff.

We advise customers to contact reception with any requests or concerns they may have an encourage them to use this number.

Maeva endeavor to keep prices so affordable by giving customers "choice" options. This way, the customer chooses from a range of services and products they can purchase in addition to the room to enjoy their stay to their own specifications. This explains your extra fees- and this is something Crystal should have explained to you in advance.

Thank you for your comments regarding the furnishings, these have been noted and passed onto our head office.

We hope you will choose to stay at one of our apartments again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2007

We booked our stay at the Residence Charmetogger as part of a "snow train" package. We got the snow train from Ashford and arrived in Bourg St Maurice the next morning. Had we been to Les Arcs before, or had the booking agent given us a bit more info, then the first day would not have been such a confusing nightmare!! First the funicular from the train station, then a free shuttle bus that took us round and round, we got off at what we thought was the right stop but we were not sure cos the residence isn't really adequately sign posted. The staff at check in were really rude and unhelpful and were not willing to store our luggage until we could get access to our room. The point of the snow train is so you can get 8 days on the slopes but if you have no place to store your luggage then it's a bit troublesome. Then back on the bus into the centre again to leave our luggage at a pub called the black pearl, storage we had to pay for. There are no public toilets(or they aren't open more to the point - ever!) for changing into your gear and the Black Pearl won't let you use theirs. Anyway it's a long and convoluted process and not until the second day do you actually discover that all the areas are linked by nice paths and there is in fact no need for the bus. So do yourself a favour and look on google maps or something and familiarise yourself with the resort before you get there, it will make your life so much easier!
The Residence Charmetogger itself is ok. There are 6 buildings that all fall under this name. Luckily we were in the same building as the reception, otherwise it would've been a trek up the road. We were 4 in the room, one bathroom/wc, kitchen area, living/dining area where the seating turned into two single beds and in the hallway, by the front door and toilet, were two pull down bunks. Typical ski resort shoebox. Nice enough, well stocked kitchenette, decor fine, ample cupboard/drawer space for 4 adults. Located close to the bubble so straight out and onto the slopes in the mornings, no faffing about with buses. Also located close to bars, restaurants, supermarket and shops. As I mentioned previously, once you discover that the areas are all linked you can get to even more bars, restaurants etc. There is also a recycling point right outside the building we stayed in.
The hotel got a tad noisy on some nights, it is essentially for the budget conscious traveller so you will get quite a few younger people, but it is far enough away that you don't get any noise from pubs/clubs.
If you come to stay here then don't expect too much and you'll be just fine. It is a fairly decent place to stay. Les Arcs itself was fab and the slopes brilliant, just have to overcome the confusing separate but yet all linked areas, it's remarkably simple really, just wish someone had told us before we arrived!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank TRB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivier_PV, Responsable de la communication en ligne at Maeva Residence Charmettoger, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2008

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments via Tripadvisor.
We have carefully considered your feedback on the Maeva Residence Charmetogger. This Maeva residence is part of P&V Holidays, the leading provider of self-catering accommodation in France.

Maeva pays particular attention to the quality of check-in guests receive in these residences and has carefully selected staff who are friendly, helpful, welcoming and able to give individual advice to their customers.

Maeva check-in quality is rated very highly and over 90% of customers said they were happy with it in 2007.

We are sorry that your stay was not entirely satisfactory and hope that you will choose to holiday in one of our residences or villages again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2007

Me and my partner stayed at one of the Charmettoger Maeva apartment blocks for the 1st week of March 2007. We booked 10 days in advance, paid around £900 for flights and accom for both of us. The exact apartment is allocated on arrival I think, as there are at least 8 similar blocks.
The apartment we stayed in was advertised as suitable for 5-6, I would not advise to stay there with that many, particularly if you are with other couples. For two is was great - as long as you can ski, and do not expect to spend all your time inside. There was enough snow to ski, and all the lifts were open. If there is enough snow around the apartment you can ski to skilift Jardin connecting to the Charmettoger lift.
The kitchenette is suitable for making basic meals, there was an elec hob, oven, fridge, utensils, pans etc. All apartments bathrooms have a bath with a hand shower. Take own towel, teatowel and cleaning stuff if you don't want to pay 15 Euro for a cleaner at the end of the week.
There is a very steep staircase to mezzanine where there are 4 beds - 2 in a seperate room, but do not expect much privacy.
The balcony had a great view over the valley, and the town centre was 5 mins walk away. There is a lift in the building, great when you are all kitted out for skiiing.
The town has everything you need: supermarket with quite a wide range. (v busy on Sat. when people first arrive). Bars, restaurants, trendy skiing shops, creperies. Beers expensive at bars, stick to happy hours or wine if you are on a budget. Sunday v busy at skipass place, 30 min wait at least. Then found out Sat/ Sun is free use of skilifts in La Plagne 1800 area: for example Chantel and Vagere. So check this first.
All in all had a fab time, skiing was excellent, food great, weather sunny most days. Can't wait to go again.

Stayed: March 2007
5  Thank AgPag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Arcs hotels
0.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Belmont
0.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Arc 1950 Le Village
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#8 of 17 in Les Arcs
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
#1 of 17 in Les Arcs
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mercure - Les Arcs 1800
0.0 mi away
Hotel Taj-I Mah
Hotel Taj-I Mah
#2 of 17 in Les Arcs
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maeva Residence Charmettoger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maeva Residence Charmettoger

Address: Village de Charmettoger | Arc 1800, 73700 Les Arcs, Bourg Saint Maurice, France (Formerly Résidence Maeva Charmettoger)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Bourg Saint Maurice > Les Arcs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Les Arcs
Price Range: £48 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maeva Residence Charmettoger 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Maeva Residence Charmettoger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maeva Residence Charmettoger Hotel Bourg Saint Maurice
Pv Holidays Residence Maeva Charmettoger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing