We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosted Chalet: Everything we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chalets L'Ours Brun
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Les Arcs
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hosted Chalet: Everything we needed”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Got back yesterday (30/03/2014) from a week at L'Ours Brun with extended family. 6 children, 1 baby, 6 adults (2 OAP non-skiers). Our Host was Abigail (Abbie) and could not fault her. Although young and this was her first season, she was calm and controlled throughout our stay. No hint of inexperience at all. We were all thoroughly impressed with her.

Only thing I could say is: there was too much food for us to eat, and we didn't do enough justice to the lovely cakes that Abbie made everyday. We also noticed that she ended up throwing food away that we didn't eat. Might be best to mention it to the hosts to SAVE any food that you think you might be able to eat later. (E.g. sausages/bacon uneaten from breakfast time saved to eat with bread at lunchtime!) Not really sure if they're allowed to do it - but surely better than being thrown in the bin.,..

The rooms are small, but we didn't spend any time in them except sleeping - so perfectly adequate, Single wardrobe with 4 shelves, hanging space inside and another large shelf above that that I dumped several pieces of hand luggage on. Had to hoist the suitcases on top of the wardrobe itself after unpacking, as no viable space elsewhere to store them - but no big deal. Plenty of space in the wardrobe for a week's stay for 2 people.

We spent most of our time when not skiing sitting around reading, playing on tablets and chatting. We never turned the TV on once, although if anyone was an avid TV fan - they might find it a little small. You need to get usernames/passwords for the available WiFi from your Rep.

The Internet speed via Wifi is pretty poor. (No good for online gaming, if you're into that!). However general web surfing shouldn't be a problem. We had about 15 devices connected at once and there wasn't much (if any) grumbling.

If you have beginners in your group. DON'T be pressured into buying Lift Passes for everyone from day one. My wife and kids didn't really need lift passes until Day 3-4. They spent those in the Nursery area, and running down the "free" carpetlift runs around Arcs 2000.

I believe the Lanchettes lift in 2000 is free, and takes you to Black,Red,Blue runs. The St. Jacques lift is free on Saturday/Sunday and takes you to Blues I think (my wife was most at home on the runs that took her to). You can buy a separate pass for the St. Jacques I think.

My advice: check with Instructors for anyone taking lessons, so you can be assured to buy the right pass at the right time. Our rep. would have had us buy passes for EVERYONE on the way to the resort from the airport and this would have been a waste of money.

Those of us without equipment booked in advance through "Intersport" and found their service fantastic. My wife had to change her boots to a slightly different size later (being an over pronator), but the rest of us had no problems: and would recommend their friendly professional service. Would use them without hesitation.

The ski shop in Chalet de L'Ours itself seemed to have less equipment variety when we popped in. Not sure what their rental side is like though. I'd prefer the walk to Intersport rather than the shop "on the doorstep" because of that. Their online price was also cheaper - once you included everything you wanted (helmets).

If you need to shop for food oddments e.g. for lunch: don't use the shops in Arcs 2000. They are over-priced. Go to the Spar in Arcs1950 (quick, free trip down the Cabriolet Gondola from Arcs2000).

We only ate out a couple of times. Once at the Savoy in Arcs2000 - which was friendly; but seemed pricey and some of us commented on it being "pretentious" (although I personally didn't notice). Other time we tried Chez Eux, which we really liked and seemed good food and reasonably priced. Some of our party went back there.

We intended to try Los Chicanos and Kilimanjaro, as these sounded good "on paper". I believe these were checked on TripAdvisor with horrendous reviews - so we didn't go. I recall something about Los Chicanos as being rated "the worst mexican restaurant on the planet".... So.. worth checking.

We accessed the Swimming Pool over in Chalet Altitude via the underground car park. (There will be a sheet of paper in the Chalet giving the current "access code" for the lock.) It has a communal changing room, although there are a couple of showers/toilet with a lockable door that you can use to dry/change in privacy where required.

None of us tried the sauna. There are 3 "lounger" style chairs and 3 regular chairs for spectators.

It feels a bit of a "trek" to/from the Chalet to the slopes if you are "new" to skiing and need to go up the lift instead of the small "button" drag lift. Not so bad if there is snow and you can ski down the road to the lift instead of walking.

During this last week Snow was fantastic. Big snowfalls happening when we arrived, and persisting the next 2 days. Then brightened up and was VERY sunny. Weather forecasts said even more Snow was due - but it never arrived. Consequently, the slopes were getting icy towards the end of the week, and turning to slush on the lower slopes. We spent Friday/Saturday as high up as possible and were not disappointed. If we were JUST arriving, we would be somewhat concerned about the snow and slope quality. :-o

Our group was mixed ability and we found runs that were enjoyable for all - either for individuals or everyone going together (including the beginners from mid-week onwards).

I missed partaking of the Aiguille Rouge run (apparently the 3rd longest ski-run in the world). It runs for around 8 km all the way down: changing from Black to Red. Apparently the "black" part isn't too challenging - for anyone concerned. Those of our group that did it did so at the end of the week when snow quality was deteriorating and said it was "nice". The "Black" rated part at the top seemed to have derived from the "narrowness" of the slope more than anything else.

Can't think of anything else much to say...

Oh:

We travelled to Les Arcs from Geneva and didn't find the journey too gruelling. They used to do a "stop" on the way at a horrible truck-stop with very expensive food/drinks apparently. My sister says she once spent £50 on a round of sandwiches for the kids - and they looked "dodgy" too! This time we didn't make any stops at all on either leg of the journey.

If you don't like heights too... don't look out of the window of the coach as you climb further into the mountains. it's a loooong way down, and the edge of the roads don't always have strong looking barriers!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Antony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelplan, Guest Relations Manager at Chalets L'Ours Brun, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Antony W,
Many thanks for this incredibly thorough and detailed review. Very useful for others who may be considering Les Arcs 2000! We are delighted that you were so impressed by Abbie and had such a great holiday.
It's unusual for guests to not be able to polish off all the food, so we'll certainly bear your concerns in mind for next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    18
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
distroff
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The chalet de l'ours is a nice residence with confortable apartments. We spent a week with friends a in spacious appartment of 135 M2, with a bathroom and WC in each bedroom. The furnitures are correct in the spirit of a chalet. The flat screen could be bigger for a luxury residence. The ski room was very cramped with a small rack for 10 people. The access to the slope are very close (100 meter) and a ski shop is in the residence.The swimming pool is in the other residence "chalet l'altitude" but accessible via the underground.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thierry-hirtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We were a group of 16 with 8 children and have just spent a a great week at Chalet Yogi in Les Arc 2000. There has been enough said about the rooms: adequate, warm, bit on the small side but absolutely fine. The resort is great for a mixed group of snow boarders and skiers and for beginners and advanced. The location of the chalet is very convenient for the slopes and for ski hire if needed. We travelled with Ski Total and we're very well looked after. Our chalet hosts Zac and Mike couldn't do enough for us and were great with the children. The food was of a high standard and there was plenty of it. Would we go again - Yes and definitely if we had the same hosts.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAHANNANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelplan, Guest Relations Manager at Chalets L'Ours Brun, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear lahannant,
Thanks for letting us know what a great job Zac & Mike did during your week's holiday with us in Chalet Yogi. We shall certainly ensure that they read your lovely review and we do hope you will choose Ski Total for your next ski holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Not a 4 star chalet, in fact I have stayed in better 3 starred chalets. Clearly the inexperience of the chalet "hosts" shone through, as we has to constantly ask for more cups, water, glasses, coffee etc etc I was also horrified to see that the same coffee filter paper was used over and over again !!!! The sitting area was very cold at times, we spent a lot of time in our rooms as it was warmer there, what's the point of having an open fire without any wood.... Pointless.
The worst ski break I have ever had and I have been skiing over 20 years

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank porsche911lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelplan, Guest Relations Manager at Chalets L'Ours Brun, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Porsche911lover,
We are really sorry to read that you were disappointed by your stay with us and that our Host was seemingly not consistently providing the service that we, or you, would expect from them.
We were advised for safety reasons not to light the fires in this building due to high winds during the period of your holiday, which posed a fire risk, and we are sorry if this affected your enjoyment of the communal areas as a result. If there is anything we can do to persuade you to travel with us to a different chalet next time, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Les Arcs hotels

Kent, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had a week at Chalet Winnie at the end of January. It is some years since we have stayed in a catered chalet and we couldn't fault it. Spotlessly clean, delicious food cooked by our hostess Charlotte. It was hard to believe she could produce such ambitious menus in such an effortless manner. She ate with us, and we really enjoyed her company. Holly the rep (and Susie on the bus) put us all at our ease and organised all our passes and lessons and advised me as a non skier on the best way to get round the mountain so I could meet everyone for lunch. The chalet has the use of a very nice swimming pool. The transfers were easy and comfortable as the Ski Total team took care of us, and our luggage. Thank you !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicolaDDinKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Had a excellent holiday staying in chalet Winnie. Lovely comfortable rooms kept immaculately clean by our chalet host Charlotte. The quality, presentation and selection of the food was perfect. I would love to thank Charlotte for making our stay such a success, always on had to answer any questions and never failed to prepare a delicious evening meal.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ski468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Chalet yogi looked promising but turned out average.
The bedroom is tiny, as are my friend and I, you struggle to get around the room and in the wardrobe.
The wood fire didn't work so had to go to bed in the afternoons to keep warm.
Food was ok but not enough of it, went to bed hungry lots of days.
Sauna wasn't hot enough

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelplan, Guest Relations Manager at Chalets L'Ours Brun, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
This review is linked to a formal complaint received at our UK office to which we will replying in full. We were advised for safety reasons not to light the fires in this building due to extremely high winds in the second week of February which posed a genuine fire risk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Arcs hotels
0.0 mi away
Chalet Altitude
Chalet Altitude
#10 of 17 in Les Arcs
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Arc 1950
0.0 mi away
Hotel Taj-I Mah
Hotel Taj-I Mah
#1 of 17 in Les Arcs
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Arc 1950 Le Village
0.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Belmont
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#8 of 17 in Les Arcs
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets L'Ours Brun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets L'Ours Brun

Property: Chalets L'Ours Brun
Address: Centre Station | Arc 2000, 73700 Les Arcs, Bourg Saint Maurice, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Bourg Saint Maurice > Les Arcs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Les Arcs
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Les Arcs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chalets L'Ours Brun 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet L'Ours Brun, in this excellent residence, which offers the finest chalet apartments anywhere in Arc 2000 is furnished and fitted in a high quality, comfortable style. The chalet has satellite TV and a fireplaceAll Total guests have free use of the indoor swimming-pool in the adjacent Altitude Residence.Access to the slopes could not be simpler, with the pistes and nearest ski-lift just 250m from the residence's front door, for swift and easy access to and from the slopes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chalets L'Ours Brun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalets l`Ours Brun Hotel Les Arcs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing