We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nudger is right” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Springfield Hotel Marple

Springfield Hotel Marple
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marple
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Springfield Hotel Marple
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marple
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nudger is right”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Just catching up as an antidote to post Christmas idleness. Stayed several months ago (late summer), but Nudger is right, the center of Marple seems to be dying but only like many rural areas, the number of charity shops seems to be an indicator. The hotel is average and despite Kevin's forceful opinions and the fact that he is now a member of the local council, he seemed unable to do anything about the persistent barking from next door.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dilligent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    17
    5
    4
    8
See reviews for
24
27
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Great place to stay, had a very good time with the owner Kevin. Food was very good, Marple is a great place to visit. Go see for yourself.

Room Tip: Room 6 big bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Marple is ideally located for road and rail into Manchester and the Peak district. Marple is surrounded by very attractive scenery and is close to Lyme Hall. Marple itself is a drab place - Pound Stores, charity shops, empty shops, poor restuarants and unwelcoming pubs. The local Regent cinema is a single screen gem and well worth visiting. The Springfield Hotel is spotlessly clean, comfortable well-furnished rooms, super traditional breakfast and is really good value for money. Traffic noise at night was a problem for us. The owner Kevin clearly has strong views on many topics and does not feel under any constraint in expressing them - we found this aspect of our stay rather tedious.
Nudger Manchester

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nudgermanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

This is the second time we've stayed at the Springfield, and I'm amazed at the bad reviews! We stayed with our 2 children and Kevin and Elaine couldn't have done anything more to make us feel welcome and at home. The generously-sized rooms are spotless and comfortable, breakfast would be hard to beat even in a bigger hotel, and the value for money is second to none. We've stayed in many hotels over the years and this is one of our favourites, small, welcoming and immaculate. A real home from home. We will definitely be staying again when we visit this beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthD007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

The noise was more than prominent, however, rather overseeable as the small room was filthy. Not only were there hairs in the shower, limescale was obvious and grime was evident in the sink. The lock to the bedroom door was broken and the milk was off on the tea tray. As if the stay was not unpleasent enough, the host was dreary, dull and hardly welcoming.

Room Tip: No good rooms.... unfortunately!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
38 Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Place is fine. Town is just dull (we stayed over night here as a stop over). Very old fashioned bad and breakfast, which was spoilt by the owner who thinks he is funny, but in fact he is a miserable grump. Its clean enough, but bed was uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
60 Thank seasoned_traveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Stayed for one night here just for somewhere to stay whilst visiting a friend. Its a small family run hotel, friendly atmosphere, and I was left to come and go as I pleased. The room was clean and comfortable. It's nothing luxurious but I would not have expected this for the price which was good value. Plenty of choice offered at breakfast. There is a car park to the rear of the hotel.
The only thing I would say is that there was some road noise. This is not the hotel's fault though and I am a light sleeper, but it might put me off staying there again as I didn't sleep very well because of it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippa_Cra_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marple
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport South Hotel
3.5 mi away
Alma Lodge Hotel
Alma Lodge Hotel
#5 of 15 in Stockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#7 of 15 in Stockport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stockport Central Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Davenport
The Davenport
#14 of 15 in Stockport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
4.8 mi away
Wycliffe Hotel
Wycliffe Hotel
#4 of 15 in Stockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Hotel Marple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Hotel Marple

Property: Springfield Hotel Marple
Address: 99 Station Road | Marple, Marple, Stockport SK6 6PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport > Marple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marple
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Springfield Hotel Marple Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing