We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of heaven!”
Review of Pentre Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llangrannog
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pentre Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Llangrannog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Long Eaton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven!”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay right next to the sea, beautiful setting, excellent food, friendly staff, not overly expensive and tranquil then this is the place for you. The front bedroom windows overlook the sea and in Winter at high tide the sea sometimes invites itself in! Honestly! Llangrannog is one of the hidden gems of Wales, unspoilt, ideal for walking or just relaxing on the beach. A perfect location for a day or two at the seaside with young children. No fun fairs or amuzement archades. Also a great place from which to visit New Quay, Aberaeron, Cardigan, Mwnt, Aberporth,Cenarth Falls and a host of other fanfastic places of beauty and interset in Ceredigion. If I ever win the lottery, this would be the place for me to retire.

Room Tip: Request a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrickyTrevLongEaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    24
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
79
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We only stopped very briefly at this pub for a drink at lunch time. I find it incredible that bar staff and owners cannot even have the courtesy to smile or even give a welcome to their customers. It is highly possible that we would have stayed for lunch if the staff/owners had been more friendly....however that wasn't going to happen. Disappointing, as with the wonderful setting that the pub is in.....they could do so much better.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Stayed here on the 3rd November for Bonfire and firework display plus family birthday celebration . Very nice location, spitting distance from the sea as the pub is right on the sea front . Set in a quiet cove in Wales it ticks all the boxes for a very laid back trip. Very hilly, so if you have trouble with steep hills this might be a problem if you want to go walking any distance . Everything is uphill but the views are stunning .Typical pub facilities , our room had an en suite shower/loo and the room was ok but very cold when we arrived as the radiator had not been switched on but for a one nighter it was fine. Cooked breakfast in the morning was really good and the meal we had the night before in the dining room was excellent , very good varied menu and my fillet steak was excellent. Would definitely recommend this nice little hostelry.

Room Tip: Bit more expensive but get the sea view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank normajean77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I have been coming to LLangrannog all my life and as soon as I come down the hill and can see the bay all my trouble go away. Mike is so accommodating and the breakfasts are fabulous and the rooms clean and inviting and very reasonably priced. I will return here very other year until I can no longer travel and I am only 44 so that's a long time. Mike keep up the good work and don;t ever sell! Helen Bod from the Midlands.

Room Tip: The twin room above the porch at the side does not state sea view but you can sit in the window and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenbc68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Llangrannog has to be one of the loveliest coastal places in Wales and it was a pleasure to return there after a gap of far too many years. Having looked at all the possibilities for lunch (there were only four alternatives in the village), we opted for the Pentre ArmsIt could not have been more welcoming. Dog allowed? No problem. The barman and the cook were both charming and pleasant and we all had a decent lunck. My Madras Curry was very tasty and well-cooked. The ales on offer were well kept and our table had a grand view.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2012

my wife and I were on holiday with family,not knowing the area we went to a pub close to where we were staying on Sunday evening but unfortunately they did not serve food at this time.We were so pleased that they did not, as we travelled a little further and found the Pentre Arms.Lovely setting with a very welcoming atmosphere.Four of the Five in our party had the Sirloin steak and we all agreed it was some of the best steak we had ever had.The remaining member had an aromatic lamb dish which she said was lovely.
On the Friday it was My Daughter -in-Law`s Birthday so for this special occasion we decided to return.Again we were not disapointed, there was a slight problem with what we wanted but on hearing of our problem the proprieter came and saw us and wihin a couple of minutes problem solved and a very generous bottle of Bubbly for the Birthday Girl.Again lovely food,Great Staff,
Thank you again Mike and your Staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLAMORGAN
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Together with wife and friends had an enjoyable evening meal over the last weekend. My wife enjoyed her steak meal but 3 of us had fresh sea bass. The various soups / chowder as starters were perfect appetisers. My friend had suggested location having spent night b&b here recently and being very impressed by host and staff. as were we on our visit. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlamorganRubicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangrannog
9.6 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 2 in Tresaith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Penwig
The Penwig
#3 of 19 in New Quay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
3.7 mi away
Highcliffe Hotel
Highcliffe Hotel
#1 of 3 in Aberporth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
3.0 mi away
Penbontbren Luxury Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pentre Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentre Arms Hotel

Property: Pentre Arms Hotel
Address: Llandysul, SA44, Llangrannog SA44 6SP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Llangrannog
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llangrannog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Pentre Arms Hotel Llangrannog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing