We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best pub”
Review of Pentre Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llangrannog
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pentre Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Llangrannog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best pub”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here at the end of June 2014,found it in the good beer guide.
I have been in a lot of pubs in my time and the Pentre Arms is without doubt the best pub I have been to.The rooms are smallish but clean and tidy,if you are lucky to have a sea view it's even better.
The food is mainly pub food,but cooked to a very high standard,prices are on average £9.00 with plenty of choice on the menu,we ate here twice between the four of us had 7 different meals with zero complaints and clean plates.As on bonus as we were eating dolphins were playing in the bay.
Breakfast was another highlight,full English cooked again to a high standard.
And the reason I looked up the pub was the beer,again the real ales were excellent.
All in all the owner Mike has to be commended,this place really ticks all the boxes

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RegBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    28
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
30
83
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Spent 4 days here last week. We went with friends and when we arrived we had one sea view room and one rear view room. We tossed for who got the sea view and we lost unfortunately. Our rear view room was small with only one small winder which looked out of the back of the hotel into a wall. This said the room was comfortable scrupulously clean and did us fine for the time we were there. Our friends who had the sea view room were equally pleased although they said the noise from the sea was quite loud but lot a problem. Breakfast was excellent and always hot. We ate at the hotel one night and this also was very good. Would recommend to anyone, and have done already to some friends going down in August.

Room Tip: Sea view is best if you can get one, if not others are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herefordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A very fine stay in this beautiful location, with a warm welcome, a good room, good meals and beers. Lovely little village with a great beach; next time I'd like to be there when families are enjoying the beach and the surf. Wonderful walks on the cliffs, filled with bluebells.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquesotoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

... but what a great pub and beach. We found this place in the Good Beer Guide and seeing some very positive reviews on Trip Advisor decided to book. Nicely furnished, clean and comfortable rooms with good sea view (Room 3). Pleasant bar with great picture window looking over the beach. Beer was good. Seeing a blackboard outside advertising sea bass, we reserved two for dinner in the restaurant. Excellent fish, well cooked, great value. Staff all efficient and friendly. Can't ask for more. Love to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swanseaexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This place is pretty Damn brilliant. Waking up virtually on the beach, great rooms (the site photos really don't do it justice, nearly missed staying here due to this), great staff, great food, great beer.
Will be back again.

Room Tip: Must get a room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sij_20140llandeilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Turned up here after a long slog hiking from Cardigan, aching all over, but couldn't have found a more pleasant cozy place to rest. My friend and I were told we were the first ones to stay in our newly-decorated ensuite double room, excellent. Clean, well furnished, very comfortable beds, satellite TV and a little bathroom with a warm shower. Great comfortable dining room (away from bar area) with food to rival the nouveau-cuisine type places up the road in Aberaeron, but at a fraction of the price! Obviously a widely-loved place, with a very friendly owner who was keen to chat give us advice about our walk.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pulborough
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in March. This pub/hotel was recommended to us and we weren't disappointed.

This is a great place situated in a lovely cove on the Heritage coast.

Mike, the owner, was a friendly an efficient host who would make time to chat with you even when the pub was busy. He is also a very good cook! The pub is a mix of locals and holiday makers and works well.The ales are well kept and there is an excellent pub grub menu with plenty of choice, including veggie. We ate there twice and the food was very good plentiful and good value.

We had room 3 overlooking the sea, well more accurately on the sea! it is literally 5m from the sea and it is wonderful to hear the waves crashing in.The room had no bath but a great shower, very clean and nicely decorated. Also extremely good value for this quality.

We will be staying again as soon as possible and would recommend to anyone.

Overall a great place.

Room Tip: Go fore a sea view. More than worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snafuPulborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangrannog
9.6 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
804 reviews
8.3 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
557 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
223 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
443 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 2 in Tresaith
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pentre Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentre Arms Hotel

Property: Pentre Arms Hotel
Address: Llandysul, SA44, Llangrannog SA44 6SP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Llangrannog
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llangrannog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Pentre Arms Hotel Llangrannog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing