We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great seaside pub.”
Review of Y Llong The Ship

Y Llong The Ship
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great seaside pub.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have kept coming back to this lovely place for around 20 years. I have visited both with my family during holidays and also in my role as an entertainer (folk music). Whenever we come up to y llong we always have a lovely welcome from staff and guests alike. The staff look after us and the atmosphere on their music nights is something to be seen... believe me, unmissable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AIDAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    45
    23
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberaeron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I ate here on a Sunday evening, and the setting is beautiful. The decor is lovely and the member of staff behind the bar was pleasant. We decided to sit upstairs. Othe menu it stated that we had to order at the bar, so down we went to order. We had the tempura prawns and pate to start which was nice. However, the waitress stood and watched us finish our starters as it was clear that she wanted to clear our dishes quickly. Our mains came out in less than five minutes of her clearing our starters, which didn't allow enough time for our food to settle before the mains came out. I ordered the thai red curry as my main - this is not what I call a thai red curry. It was more like a normal chicken curry with chillies and coriander sprinkled on top. Needed more seasoning, more fish sauce and lemongrass (as I couldn't taste any) and more chilies. Luckily, I ordered chips and onion rings also, so ended up eating those alone and hardly touched my curry. No one at any point came over to check if any of our courses were ok so they were only told about the disappointing curry when I paid - which I paid in full, and as I only had about five mouthfuls. Also, whilst eating the mains someone decided to switch the lights off so we sat there in darkness - what is going on?? My friend had to go back downstairs to ask them to switch the lights on. In the meantime someone popped out of the kitchen and noticed me sat in darkness with the torch on my phone on trying to eat my onion rings and turned the lights back on and apologised.

My friend had gammon which was nice and the onion rings were lovely. Would only go back for a drink only.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevbrown, Owner at Y Llong The Ship, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I note that your tempura prawns, your pate, and your friends gammon was nice, and also your onion rings were lovely. Unfortunately your thai red curry was bland. I have informed the cook, who will look into the seasoning, but until now, we have had no complaints. The lights being turned off was entirely my fault, for which I apologised profusely, my colleague behind the bar also apologised, and light heartedly suggested we were trying to create an ambience, unfortunately his apology and humour fell on stony ground. Once again though, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandeilo, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Staying at Penbontbren 5* Bed and Breakfast nearby, we ventured down to Llangrannog, such a beautiful place. Called in to The Ship / y Llong and had a wonderful evening meal here, the Sirloin steak was excellent as was the rest of the meal, would definitely call again. a real gem. we were very lucky to arrive at a time when there was a good table available, the staff were great and the service was very good. a lovely place with a lovely atmosphere, and very reasonably priced cant wait to visit again

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really friendly, value for money”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Nice modern interior, the bar man was very friendly and extremely helpful, the menu had a good varied choice and the when the food came out wow the portion size was fantastic and was delicious, the pudding was also fantastic, brilliant value for money would definately return if we were in the area again

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hickers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super food , friendly staff , nice place ”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place , well kept , lovely staff , and good value food for the price ( would have been a 5 star but fir my cod being a Birdseye out of the box type )
Overall lovely place

Helpful?
4 Thank Wardy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Y Llong The Ship also viewed

Llangrannog, Ceredigion
Penbryn, Ceredigion
 
Llangrannog, Ceredigion
Tresaith, Cardigan
 
Llangrannog, Ceredigion
 

Been to Y Llong The Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing