We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad with very low key management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Carlos Beach Inn
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We arrived a little earlier than the owner expected. As these apartments are attached to a building that also currently houses an Italian restaurant, there is no onsite management. The owners of the restaurant are Italian and are friends of the inn owner. They had to call him and we had to wait over an hour before he could get to the inn. While we waited, we had coffee at the restaurant which was very good. Once the owner arrived we were shown to our intended room which was the surfers studio. It was behind the inn and down a narrow dark walkway. I did not like its location and we asked to be moved to one of the 2 upstairs rooms. Luckily one was open. The room was actually 2 rooms, one with a futon and one with a double bed. Also ther was a small kitchenette that seemed well appointed and a small bath. I decided not to take a shower as I am not a fan of the suicide shower. All in all they were decent accommodations but as we were 2 single women I just didn't feel as safe as I desired. I found a few dead bugs in the rooms but the bedding seemed clean. I think this place would be best suited to men or couples looking for no frills. The owner is a very nice man and was as accommodating as possible.

Room Tip: I would select a room on the upper level. I do not remember seeing an AC, but it did have ceiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glj60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

Pulled into San Carlos, on our way to Chitre, to have lunch and ended up staying a week. What a great place! Our apartment had a lovely sitting/dining room, bedroom, kitchen, and bath. Our patio faced the town plaza and was a great place to spend early mornings. The hotel has this wonderful palapa, on the third floor, complete with large gas BBQ, wet bar, sitting areas, and a hammock. It gets the breezes off the ocean and is a great place to spend lazy afternoons. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, and the little town is charming. Easy walking distance to the ocean. We enjoyed it so much that we went back for another three days after spending several weeks in the western part of Panama. Felt like going home. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westerly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The apartments and the whole building of San Carlos Beach Inn were very beautiful. It's a short drive to the beach, which isn't really pretty though. Also the beaches in the surroundings were not the most beautiful of Panamá.
First we had a room at ground level which was really big and beautiful, but it was so close to the road that it seemed like the cars were driving through our room. Next day we got another room where we didn't here the cars this loud. The owner was very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

My wife and I stayed here from Jan. 17th to the 21st. We actually left a day earlier. It was almost a disaster when we found out that the new manager had quit and the owner could not find our reservation. All he had was the lower floor to give us. We had reserved a room above with a kitchen Etc. There is not much to do or eat here (unless you get a room with a kitchen) so you must go to Coronado. Plenty of shopping and restaurants there. The owner needs to really pay attention to this property. We cut our stay short because on the lower level there are shutters with locks on them that appear to be secure but they are not. You can just push them open. We came home one night late and a shutter was swung open, and it appeared someone had broken in. No one did but I spent all night trying to keep it shut and the windows were missing some rinky dink sort of bolts to keep them from being opened even from the outside.
I said something to the new manager whom was very nice and had just taken over. I think he was embarrassed by the fact it was so unsecured. There are plenty of break ins in this area so that did not help the fact that someone could just walk right in (through a window).

Room Tip: Stay in an upper room only until the lower units are improved. And if you are looking for shopping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ucatchme25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

The apartments are clean, are located in the center of town, but still very quiet, with beautiful views and some shops within walking distance. All this for a very good price. The owner was really helpful, friendly and give us some great advice.

Room Tip: Apartments upstairs, there are larger and with a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank algisdorit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Perfect location, perfect accomodations, close to beach ,clean, comfortable, modern, free Wi Fi, wonderful English speaking owner, whats not to love ??!!
Oh, and the best Panama coffee around :)
I will be back !

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandiegogirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Happened onto the Inn because I was having issues with the WiFi connection in my original apartment. Very glad I did. Stayed in the one bedroom 3 nights. It was clean, comfortable, charming and had everything I needed. It's nestled at the end of the San Carlos town square has great owner and staff, a bohio with a grill and very comfy hammack. Also really reasonably priced! ext time this will be my first choice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelonlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
0.4 mi away
Manglar Lodge
Manglar Lodge
#1 of 2 in San Carlos
166 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort - An All Inclusive Resort
14.9 mi away
Hotel Residencial El Valle
Hotel Residencial El Valle
#3 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Gorgona Beach hotel
Gorgona Beach hotel
#2 of 2 in Nueva Gorgona
4 reviews
1.4 mi away
PSA RioMar
PSA RioMar
#2 of 13 in San Carlos
11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay View Hotel
Bay View Hotel
#2 of 2 in San Carlos
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Carlos Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Carlos Beach Inn

Address: Carlos Mendoza 10406, San Carlos 507, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in San Carlos
Price Range: £28 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Carlos Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Carlos Beach Inn is located on the park in San Carlos just up from the beach and river. A small Inn in a quiet traditional fishing "pueblo" Open market, stores, 24hr hospital, church, bakery and restaurants all in short walking distance Golf and good surfing within 5 minutes. El Valle with waterfalls, Zoo, gardens and hot springs 45 min. Coronado 10 min. Good local public transportation to all We are located 1 1/2 hr. from Panama city. San Carlos bus ($3) from city stops at park. Clean, secure well priced apts with complete kitchens and hotel rooms all with AC, some with refridge and cable TV. Wifi on site. Day, week or month rentals. Surfboards, Boogie boards, fishing poles and bicycles for guests to use. 3rd story ocean and mountain view mirador with BBQ area. Owner from San Diego Calif been in area 12 years, always happy to share info. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your San Carlos Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing