We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place!”
Review of Manglar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Manglar Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Carlos
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

While not easy to find if you are a tourist and driving (which is insanity in Panama in general), Manglar Lodge is a LOVELY respite....VERY CLEAN, GREAT breakfast (only meal we ate there but we did eat across the street at the Bay Hotel for dinner and it was very nice); good air conditioning that took the edge off of the heat...very nice staff... would absolutely return!

Room Tip: Had a front side room and could hear some goings on downstairs but overall, not disturbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    47
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
76
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The Manglar Lodge was the nicest place we stayed in Panama. The room was lovely, beds were terrific, rooms clean and nicely decorated, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The Lodge was less than half a block from the ocean. The restaurant served the best food we had on our trip -- pesto was my favorite. And the prices were reasonable.
We've been to many beaches in the Caribbean and Latin America, and this one is now my favorite. When we chose it, I was concerned it was mostly a surfers beach not
suitable for swimming. Was I wrong. January and February are the calm months. The water temperature was perfect, the black sand amazing, and just past the wave break the water was chest high and perfect for swimming or just bobbing with the waves. In the morning we often had the beach to ourselves. In the afternoon there would be a few families or surf students in the water, but it was never crowded (weekdays). There is not much to do but enjoy the beach and relax -- only one other restaurant in town, and no shops. San Carlos is a 20 minute walk or a $2 taxi drive (well worth it). If we return to Panama, we'll definately book again.

Room Tip: Three of the four rooms had a balcony with a bench -- ask for one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Our reception was friendly, the room was was spacious and clean, the air conditioner worked well and not too noisily, the washroom was clean and just right, and the shower was wonderful! We could have eaten every meal here, but chose instead to eat mostly at the Bay Hotel opposite because of the wide sea view. The manager was very helpful and friendly, and spoke English too. It's not the hotel's fault, but visitors should know that there are no shops in the resort and no bus service, so without a car it's not too easy. But the walk up to San Carlos on the Panamerica Highway, where there are shops and buses, is HOT but quite short and very nice. The beach is either very small or extremely long, depending on the tide.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear_Tyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

The staff was very nice. Rooms were clean with big screen tv, air conditioner, spacious bathroom and comfortable beds. We spent 99 dollars a night. Dinner and breakfast were cheap and really tasty. So nice to come here after a surfing lesson.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I was there in November2013.
I was in San Carlos to have a surfing lesson with Flor (ynumber one Surfing School abd Number One surf instructor)
I choosed this hotel because it looked clean and beautiful and as well near to the surfing school.
The room was so clean, great and perfect!
The restaurant is good. The had very very good food and...not it was expensive!
The room price is high..but after spending great time at The Manglar Lodge, I did not regret.
Maybe they could offer one breakfast for this price. (90$ Per night).
If you havent book a room with them, you can have food in their restaurant.
Everything was so perfect! They have a cute gardent eat or to relax.
Plus the staff was so helpfull and very friendly. One lady was a foreigner. She was so helpfull and very friendly. I think she was from Australia...
Honestly...I would recommend 101% the Manglar Lodge.
For honeymooners...I revommend it as well.
I

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariewed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel has great clean rooms, wonderful food is served during the day and evenings. Omar the hotel manager goes out of his way to ensure your stay is comfortable. In El Palmar beach area it is one of the best hotels around.
Our shower head keeps leaking water...is the only down side during our 4 night stay. Omar when we arrived from Panama City arranged to provide us a Hertz rental . Again good customer service, friendly and speaks English which helps.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Naumanns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights (Christmas Eve and Christmas Day) with my mom and a friend. All three of us loved this place. The rooms are spacious, modern and clean. The owner speaks perfect English, is helpful and very friendly. We ate breakfast both mornings and dinner one night and the food was great. The only reason we didn't eat dinner there twice was because the owner closed the restaurant early. Unfortunately he didn't tell us this in advance and we had to eat at the hotel across the street (the only other option) and the food was just average. The location
of the hotel is perfect if you are looking for something tranquil. It is just across the street from the beach, which stretches far. San Carlos is made up of only a few residential houses and a few hotels so it is definitely quiet, relaxing place!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingNatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
9.4 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
15.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
15.1 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Royal Decameron Beach Resort, Golf & Casino
0.1 mi away
Bay View Hotel
Bay View Hotel
#2 of 2 in San Carlos
82 reviews
1.5 mi away
PSA RioMar
PSA RioMar
#2 of 9 in San Carlos
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manglar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manglar Lodge

Property: Manglar Lodge
Address: Calle 1 Norte | El Palmar, San Carlos 1017, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Manglar Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like nature and comfort, you'll enjoy your stay at Manglar Lodge. Located at El Palmar beach on the Pacific coast of the Republic of Panama, Manglar Lodge offers the visitor four cozy and clean rooms, WiFi, a lounge terrace and gardens where you can relax on the sun, read and watch birds and butterflies. Sometimes you can also see iguanas, squirrels and opossums. The high tides will bring you nice sunsets next to the mangrove and, depending on the river and swell conditions, you can also try surfing or bodyboarding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manglar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing