We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay for a quiet weekend”
Review of Manglar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manglar Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Carlos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at Manglar Lodge over the Easter Holiday - we were worried that it would be busy and noisy but found that though it was busy during the day, at night it was wonderfully quiet. Ivan and his staff are fantastic. Great food, friendly service. Fantastic wifi connectivity and the satellite tv was a plus given that it rained one afternoon. Clean rooms with comfy beds. Very glad we didn't stay across the street at the Sea View or whatever it was called - very tired looking.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms in the lodge, so you really can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catalytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Manglar Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

Great rooms, good food and a minute to the beach - what could be better?

I stayed at Manglar Lodge for two nights back in February and found it to be a great place, just a small, quiet type of hotel that knows how to treat international travelers.

I have to admit I was a bit frazzled from traveling a few days in Panama (ok, so learning Spanish would certainly help) found my way Manglar and instantly started to feel comfortable and relax. The rooms are large and clean, beds comfortable and the area quiet.

There are lots of large scale condo construction project being being built along the coast - but that's not my style. I like small and quaint - and this was perfect. There is on premise food which was really good. I highly recommend and would go back anytime.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seaoutdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed at Manglar for 2 nights and proved to be a great location to use as a base to drive to the surrounding areas of El Valle, Coronado, Farallon and Playa Blanca. Very safe and clean hotel with just 4 rooms, located right off the beach at Playa El Palmar. Staff was very friendly, but somewhat English challenged. The food served was good, however a little overpriced. Don't feel guilty if you have to stop for directions. Signage on the Pan American Highway for the turn-off to Playa El Palmar is not very visible.

Room Tip: If you like to have morning sun in the room, pick #2.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at Manglar for two nights and it was great! We had a great room - very large an dclean. We enjoyed lunch, breakfast, and dinner at their restaurant and the food is great - some of the best we had in the area. A short walk to the beach - its a great location. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Savery_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Along with some friends we spent 4 nights here...had a great time. Took day trips and enjoyed meals at the lodge. Manager Omar was very accommodating, spoke very good English, and put up with our lively group with a smile. Rooms were clean and spacious...Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorleyR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

While not easy to find if you are a tourist and driving (which is insanity in Panama in general), Manglar Lodge is a LOVELY respite....VERY CLEAN, GREAT breakfast (only meal we ate there but we did eat across the street at the Bay Hotel for dinner and it was very nice); good air conditioning that took the edge off of the heat...very nice staff... would absolutely return!

Room Tip: Had a front side room and could hear some goings on downstairs but overall, not disturbing.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The Manglar Lodge was the nicest place we stayed in Panama. The room was lovely, beds were terrific, rooms clean and nicely decorated, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The Lodge was less than half a block from the ocean. The restaurant served the best food we had on our trip -- pesto was my favorite. And the prices were reasonable.
We've been to many beaches in the Caribbean and Latin America, and this one is now my favorite. When we chose it, I was concerned it was mostly a surfers beach not
suitable for swimming. Was I wrong. January and February are the calm months. The water temperature was perfect, the black sand amazing, and just past the wave break the water was chest high and perfect for swimming or just bobbing with the waves. In the morning we often had the beach to ourselves. In the afternoon there would be a few families or surf students in the water, but it was never crowded (weekdays). There is not much to do but enjoy the beach and relax -- only one other restaurant in town, and no shops. San Carlos is a 20 minute walk or a $2 taxi drive (well worth it). If we return to Panama, we'll definately book again.

Room Tip: Three of the four rooms had a balcony with a bench -- ask for one of them.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
9.4 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort - An All Inclusive Resort
15.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
0.0 mi away
Bay View Hotel
Bay View Hotel
#2 of 2 in San Carlos
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort & Villas
15.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
PSA RioMar
PSA RioMar
#2 of 11 in San Carlos
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manglar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manglar Lodge

Address: Calle 1 Norte | El Palmar, San Carlos 1017, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range: £52 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manglar Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you like nature and comfort, you'll enjoy your stay at Manglar Lodge. Located at El Palmar beach on the Pacific coast of the Republic of Panama, Manglar Lodge offers the visitor four cozy and clean rooms, WiFi, a lounge terrace and gardens where you can relax on the sun, read and watch birds and butterflies. Sometimes you can also see iguanas, squirrels and opossums. The high tides will bring you nice sunsets next to the mangrove and, depending on the river and swell conditions, you can also try surfing or bodyboarding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Manglar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing