We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family place”
Review of Bay View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in San Carlos
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Very nice resort. Rooms are ok - in need of an upgrade. Food is good, service is good. They try their best to do what they can for you. Many local families having fun. Very little English but the Manager tries.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2307Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Bay View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012

We did not stay here, but we had drinks, dessert and breakfast here. The view is outstanding!
The owner, hector was very personable and helpful. The food was good, prices very reasonable! Lemon pie was soooooo good ! The hotel has a cute, funky vibe to it. I did not see the rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sidney7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Have visited many restaurants during the first visit to Panama. A new friend suggested dinner at Bay View restaurant. The table was shabby, view outstanding and food average. The lobster salad was $30.00 USD alone! Way too expensive, drinks were weak and tasted as though they did not use the quality brand requested. Expect big city US prices, not Panama prices. Waay disappointed.

Room Tip: avoid this place.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We were tired of staying at low budget places with nothing but a bed and walls, so we decided to check this place out and it was very nice. Certainly not a 5-star resort, but the beds were comfy, the food was great, and it had a very nice view on a point. Compared to many of the beaches on the central pacific coast, the beach was clean and the water was nice for swimming. There are some rocks in the water, but less than most of the beaches nearby. For the most part the restaurant service was very good, except there was one or two waitresses that acted as if you were keeping them from doing something else. Almost nobody spoke English, so keep that in mind if you don't hablas el espanol.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyskank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

I went on trip to visit my extended family in Panama City and we found this place to stay for a few days on the beach. The hotel is right in front of the beach, the rooms affordable, food was diverse and the prices were reasonable. The rooms were clean and the staff service was good. This is not a very fancy hotel but it was comfortable for the price. Definitely will consider staying there on my next visit to Panama!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sury19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

If you're looking for the Ritz Carlton, don't go here. But Bay View was a great stop for us as we bopped along Panama's Pacific coast. It's one of the few restaurants directly on the beach (or sand, as the area has huge tide swings) and the food is quite good. And for just $10 more, we were able to stay in one of four large, comfortable rooms just across the parking lot from the older motel-type rooms. We definitely recommend asking about these!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deebee29494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

The hotel is located in the sleepy surf beach residential area of San Carlos. It is located on a very clean beach where you can walk for miles when the tide goes out. The room was small, but perfect. It had the only balcony over looking the beach, adjacent river and the entire coastline! Precious. The seafood was excellent with a nice balcony dining area overlooking the ocean, with helpful staff. There is a pool too. A new new addition opeing in January in the back section of the proeprty by the parking lot offering a few modern rooms with a bar below. The rooms are well appointed though we personally enjoy the unpretentious, traditional panamanian style rooms since we had no plans to stay in the room all day at this lovely beach location. The balcony made the experience Super Bien!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
0.0 mi away
Manglar Lodge
Manglar Lodge
#1 of 2 in San Carlos
159 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort - An All Inclusive Resort
15.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Hotel Restaurant
Los Mandarinos Boutique Spa & Ho...
#1 of 5 in El Valle de Anton
417 reviews
13.9 mi away
Royal Decameron Golf, Beach Resort & Villas
15.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Blanca Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Hotel

Address: Calle 1A Norte | El Palmar Beach, San Carlos 1017, Panama (Formerly Bay View Resort)
Region: Panama > Panama Province > San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range: £44 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay View Hotel; is a welcoming place, located in the bay of San Carlos, Panama. We are at the mouth of the River Matahogado and waterfront where the rising and setting of the sun and moon, it's a wonderful thing. * Trading for national and international tourism, since 2002. We have been the scene of major sporting events of scientific interest, located in the interior, the solar eclipse in 2005, visit astrologers, technicians Nikon and other companies from Japan,documented in our guestbook. * Living rooms, capacity 70 people. Air conditioning, wifi, podium and sound. Additional equipment projector, data / etc show. * Corporate events - Spend Days - Day use * Weddings and Fifteen-years * Adventures in beach - Volley Ball - Fishing day * Tours to tourist sites, located at 30 and 50 minutes away. Regards tourism... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Bay View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View Hotel San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing