We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Autumn View from Hotel Room”
Review of Choyo Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Choyo Resort Hotel
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful Autumn View from Hotel Room”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Choyo Resort Hotel in the evening after completing the day's tour of Biei, Shikisai Noka and Furano. Our hotel booking was organised by our Tour Operator, so this time round, we had a more modern Japanese style Tatami bedroom with a much more comfortable cushioned bed (unlike the thin mattresses used in a typical Tatami bedroom). The room decor is simple but neat with all essential amenities in the bathroom and electric thermo-pot for that cup of hot tea.

Dinner is buffet style with a very wide selection of Japanese food and western cuisine...the main highlight of the dinner was the popular Hokkaido crab. After dinner, it was time to get into the Onsen (Japanese hot spring spa) for a good warm soaking to relax the tired muscles from the day's walking.

As we have left our hotel room windows slightly open to let in some fresh air, we can hear in the quiet of the night the sound of rushing water and the slight smell of sulphur in the air; guessing there is a river and hot sulphur spring nearby.

What a wonderful sight that greet us at day break, when we looked outside from our hotel room window, the splendid Autumn view of the surrounding nearby area (red and golden flora and trees on the hill slopes) and the rushing stream just a stone throw away. View attached photo to appreciate this awesome view from our hotel room.

From the hotel, we continued our tour of the Sounkyo Gorge which was a short distance away at the foot of Mount Daisetsu-zan. The gorge has lots of waterfalls of which we viewed the magnificient Shooting Star Falls (Ryusei-no-taki Falls) and Milky Way Falls (Ginga-no-taki Falls) and the Obako and Kobako rock formations.

Overall, a delightful hotel to spend the night at Sounkyo valley.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resort-info, 予約センター at Choyo Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your wondeful review. We glad to know that you had a gerat time at our hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Choyo Resort Hotel in Sounkyo.

Choyo Resort Hotel Reservation Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    147
    49
    15
    12
See reviews for
139
78
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Joined a tour group so can't comment about the price. We had a Japanese styled room which is spacious enough for 3 persons but the bathroom with toilet was pretty cramp. It looked like a prefabricated cubicle which has just enough room for a middle size man to turn. We had buffet dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and the food was average japanese fare even though they served crab legs. The restaurant was probably shorthanded as we had to clear the plates ourselves. What we liked was the view from our room window which looked right into a cliff with multi-colored autumn trees and a river flowing through. The window also has wire gauzes to prevent insect penetration, so that we could open the window and enjoyed the cool breeze through the night.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resort-info, 予約センター at Choyo Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review.

I was very delighted to read you have enjoyed the scenary in Sounkyo. We are blessed with the location since we are surrounded by mountains and forests.

On the other hand, I would like to apologize for our service at the restaurant altough it's our mission to provide our guests with the best hospitality. I thank your valuable feedback and I hope you can give us another try.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards,

Choyo Resort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is the first resort out of four we stayed for the 7 nights covered three NPs at east Hokkaido. This is also the most expensive rooms (probably due to location?) among all 4. But I am disappointed after looking back at the photos and memories. It is a nice facility but, after experiencing the orther three, the room and facility condition is just not up to the price tag. I doubt other hotels at this Sounkyo area is any better judging form the exterior condition.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLi1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resort-info, 予約センター at Choyo Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your valuable review. Customer satisfaction is our first priority and I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I and another staff shared your review and we hope you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel is located in the Sounkyo Gorge area, close to the Milky Way Falls (120 meters in height) and the Shooting Star Falls (90 meters). The hotel has both Japanese and Western style rooms and our group stayed in the Japanese style rooms. In early evening, the staff set up the tatami for us. That was my first time staying in a Japanese style hotel room. As expected, the room is neat and clean but the bathroom/toilet is very small. Our 12-dish set dinner was excellent. I did not try the onsen pools in the hotel, but those who tried it had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suathong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resort-info, 予約センター at Choyo Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your review! I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed Japanese cuisine and your first stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Location of this resort is unbeatable. Onsen is "in" the forest I keep thinking if there's wild animal would show up any minute while we are soaking in the hot spring. Breakfast at the cafe has great view of the valley filled with green in summer time. Room is nice too. Even though it's not futons but thick mattress on tatami, we still find it comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnisaTong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 1 night. The size of the room was alright for our family of 4. There was a balcony and overlooking it was the river. We could hear the water flowing down the river.

They served buffet breakfast and dinner. We enjoyed the dinner tremendously! They even served crab legs free flow for our dinner. We also enjoyed the beef very much! The buffet dinner was just so satisfying!

The onsen was nice as well. They have both indoor and outdoor onsens. They also swapped the onsens for the male and female so that you get to enjoy different view.

Overall we have a great experience in Choyo Resort Hotel and wished we had stayed more nights there,

Room Tip: Book through the Japanese website 3 months or less in advance to get a better rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaySing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stay there yesterday, got free shuttle back to Sapporo today.
The room was pretty good in western style. Overlooking the river behind.
Buffet food was nice, many choices.
Hot spring is decent, even with two hot spring outdoor.
Price is very valuable for the service and the hotel. You get JPY2100. cash back when you check in and coupon to redeem 2kg of potatoes.
Free shuttle during 7pm to 9pm to the winter festival nearly by. But the festival can be reacj=hed by walk in 10 mins in the snow.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamikawa-cho
Sounkyo Onsen
Sounkaku Grand Hotel
Sounkaku Grand Hotel
#6 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
127 reviews
Sounkyo Onsen
Sounkyo Choyotei
Sounkyo Choyotei
#4 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
265 reviews
Sounkyo Onsen
Hotel Taisetsu
Hotel Taisetsu
#1 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sounkyo Onsen
Sounkyo Kanko Hotel
Sounkyo Kanko Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
151 reviews
Asahidake Onsen
La Vista Daisetsuzan
La Vista Daisetsuzan
#1 of 9 in Higashikawa-cho
268 reviews
Sounkyo Onsen
Mt. View Hotel
Mt. View Hotel
#5 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Choyo Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Choyo Resort Hotel

Property: Choyo Resort Hotel
Address: Sounkyo Onsen, Kamikawa-gun, Kamikawa-cho 078-1701, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Kamikawa-gun > Kamikawa-cho > Sounkyo Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels / Ryokan in Kamikawa-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Choyo Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Choyo Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Choyo Hotel Kamikawa Cho
Choyo Resort Hotel Hokkaido, Japan - Kamikawa-Gun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing