We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cyoyou Resort Hotel, Hokkaido”
Review of Choyo Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Choyo Resort Hotel
kuala lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cyoyou Resort Hotel, Hokkaido”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel in mid February, 2014. We stayed in a tatami room and it was equipped and decorated in Japanese style. Very clean and comfortable except for the strong sulphur smell coming from the onsen. There is a balcony in our room, a simple dressing room with 2 chairs along side the balcony. As the mountain view were so beautiful during winter, it is worthwhile to just site there and relax. We have a bathtub in our bathroom that can be filled with the volcanic water if anyone is too shy to go to the onsen. In this hotel, the onsen was the best. Never leave the hotel without trying the onsen. They have few pools with different water temperature, an outdoor pool right under the snow. Our buffet dinner in this hotel was good. They have varieties of Japanese food including snow crabs. If I were to go back to Hokkaido, I would want to stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: room with mountain view is best and chose a tatami room instead of a modern western room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resort-info, 予約センター at Choyo Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for staying with you.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our onsen.
We also look forward to welcoming you at Choyo Resort Hotel again soon.

Regards,

Choyo Resort Hotel Reservation Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    151
    52
    15
    12
See reviews for
141
83
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This hotel is located approximately 25-30 minutes from JR Kamikawa station and caters to quite a large number of tourists from neighbouring Asian countries. The local public bus costs 800 Yen one way to Sounkyo (the last stop) where the hotel is located though you have to walk another 8-10 minutes or so to the hotel. If you are lugging your bags through the snow covered sidewalks then it may be wiser to take a taxi to the hotel. The cost is ¥550. The taxi costs considerably more at ¥8200 one way from the hotel to JR Kamikawa, and the cost is more or less the same if you are taking a taxi to the hotel from the train station.

The entrance to Daisetsuzan National Park is 10 minutes walking distance from the hotel and if you are walking to the waterfalls, it'll take around 40-45 minutes in winter.

Our twin sized Western room is fairly small with separate shower and toilet facilities. A negative aspect of the shower is the low volume of water coming out from the shower head though water pressure is adequate. Another major drawback in the design of the shower and sink enclosure is the independent vertical piece of glass jutting out right next to the bed. At night without the lights turned on it can be quite hazardous as one can easily walk into or bang against the glass. A really bad and impractical design.

Half board consisting of breakfast and dinner is included in the room rate and the hotel offers a choice of a packed lunch (bento box) for ¥525 per person.

Breakfast is served at 6:45AM daily though the restaurant always tend to open 5 minutes later probably due to food not being put out in time. There are a number of different dishes served and the egg congee with condiments and freshly made tofu taste good.

Dinner is served at varying times daily, sometimes at 5pm and other times at 5:30pm depending on the number of tourists arriving on that particular day. Again the restaurant opens 5 minutes later due to food not put out in time.

There is a hotpot where you choose your ingredients as well a choice of soup stock but the soup base is too salty for our liking. There are also boiled crab legs and claws which tasted quite fresh but the tempura prawns were bland, probably due to being frozen too long. Tuna and salmon sashimi quality were also not up to standard and restaurant management should look into bringing in fresh and better quality seafood.

Front desk staff were often short handed and one had to wait quite a long while to obtain the room key which was dropped off earlier.

Overall, we had a decent stay at Choyo Resort in Sounkyo which gets a 3 1/2 star rating.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlobeTrekker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resort-info, 予約センター at Choyo Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy dinner as you would expect we apologise for inconvenience at the restaurant.

Please know that providing the possible best service has been our mission.
We will adress the issue at the restaurant to serve best Japanese cuisine in Sounkyom Hokkaido.

I hope we have another opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Choyo Resort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Choyo Resort Hotel in the evening after completing the day's tour of Biei, Shikisai Noka and Furano. Our hotel booking was organised by our Tour Operator, so this time round, we had a more modern Japanese style Tatami bedroom with a much more comfortable cushioned bed (unlike the thin mattresses used in a typical Tatami bedroom). The room decor is simple but neat with all essential amenities in the bathroom and electric thermo-pot for that cup of hot tea.

Dinner is buffet style with a very wide selection of Japanese food and western cuisine...the main highlight of the dinner was the popular Hokkaido crab. After dinner, it was time to get into the Onsen (Japanese hot spring spa) for a good warm soaking to relax the tired muscles from the day's walking.

As we have left our hotel room windows slightly open to let in some fresh air, we can hear in the quiet of the night the sound of rushing water and the slight smell of sulphur in the air; guessing there is a river and hot sulphur spring nearby.

What a wonderful sight that greet us at day break, when we looked outside from our hotel room window, the splendid Autumn view of the surrounding nearby area (red and golden flora and trees on the hill slopes) and the rushing stream just a stone throw away. View attached photo to appreciate this awesome view from our hotel room.

From the hotel, we continued our tour of the Sounkyo Gorge which was a short distance away at the foot of Mount Daisetsu-zan. The gorge has lots of waterfalls of which we viewed the magnificient Shooting Star Falls (Ryusei-no-taki Falls) and Milky Way Falls (Ginga-no-taki Falls) and the Obako and Kobako rock formations.

Overall, a delightful hotel to spend the night at Sounkyo valley.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resort-info, 予約センター at Choyo Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your wondeful review. We glad to know that you had a gerat time at our hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Choyo Resort Hotel in Sounkyo.

Choyo Resort Hotel Reservation Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Joined a tour group so can't comment about the price. We had a Japanese styled room which is spacious enough for 3 persons but the bathroom with toilet was pretty cramp. It looked like a prefabricated cubicle which has just enough room for a middle size man to turn. We had buffet dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and the food was average japanese fare even though they served crab legs. The restaurant was probably shorthanded as we had to clear the plates ourselves. What we liked was the view from our room window which looked right into a cliff with multi-colored autumn trees and a river flowing through. The window also has wire gauzes to prevent insect penetration, so that we could open the window and enjoyed the cool breeze through the night.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resort-info, 予約センター at Choyo Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review.

I was very delighted to read you have enjoyed the scenary in Sounkyo. We are blessed with the location since we are surrounded by mountains and forests.

On the other hand, I would like to apologize for our service at the restaurant altough it's our mission to provide our guests with the best hospitality. I thank your valuable feedback and I hope you can give us another try.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards,

Choyo Resort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is the first resort out of four we stayed for the 7 nights covered three NPs at east Hokkaido. This is also the most expensive rooms (probably due to location?) among all 4. But I am disappointed after looking back at the photos and memories. It is a nice facility but, after experiencing the orther three, the room and facility condition is just not up to the price tag. I doubt other hotels at this Sounkyo area is any better judging form the exterior condition.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLi1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resort-info, 予約センター at Choyo Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your valuable review. Customer satisfaction is our first priority and I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I and another staff shared your review and we hope you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel is located in the Sounkyo Gorge area, close to the Milky Way Falls (120 meters in height) and the Shooting Star Falls (90 meters). The hotel has both Japanese and Western style rooms and our group stayed in the Japanese style rooms. In early evening, the staff set up the tatami for us. That was my first time staying in a Japanese style hotel room. As expected, the room is neat and clean but the bathroom/toilet is very small. Our 12-dish set dinner was excellent. I did not try the onsen pools in the hotel, but those who tried it had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suathong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resort-info, 予約センター at Choyo Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your review! I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed Japanese cuisine and your first stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Location of this resort is unbeatable. Onsen is "in" the forest I keep thinking if there's wild animal would show up any minute while we are soaking in the hot spring. Breakfast at the cafe has great view of the valley filled with green in summer time. Room is nice too. Even though it's not futons but thick mattress on tatami, we still find it comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnisaTong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamikawa-cho
Sounkyo Onsen
Sounkaku Grand Hotel
Sounkaku Grand Hotel
#6 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
130 reviews
Sounkyo Onsen
Sounkyo Choyotei
Sounkyo Choyotei
#3 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
271 reviews
Sounkyo Onsen
Hotel Taisetsu
Hotel Taisetsu
#2 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sounkyo Onsen
Sounkyo Kanko Hotel
Sounkyo Kanko Hotel
#4 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
156 reviews
Asahidake Onsen
La Vista Daisetsuzan
La Vista Daisetsuzan
#1 of 9 in Higashikawa-cho
280 reviews
Sounkyo Onsen
Mt. View Hotel
Mt. View Hotel
#5 of 8 in Kamikawa-cho
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Choyo Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Choyo Resort Hotel

Property: Choyo Resort Hotel
Address: Sounkyo Onsen, Kamikawa-gun, Kamikawa-cho 078-1701, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Kamikawa-gun > Kamikawa-cho > Sounkyo Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels / Ryokan in Kamikawa-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Choyo Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Choyo Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Choyo Hotel Kamikawa Cho
Choyo Resort Hotel Hokkaido, Japan - Kamikawa-Gun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing