We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveller rating
57
169
71
17
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
169
71
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tour group the river sister hotel private onsen free shuttle daisetsuzan national park buffet breakfast and dinner comfortable stay japanese dishes room facing both sides great buffet asahiyama zoo ice festival jr station free flow half board
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 327 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Quiet, comfortable and friendly. Great buffet meals. Private hot tubs fed by natural hot springs. Great views, we had snow. Well located. Very good value. Try to stay here and you will be assure a wonderful time.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Walter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Had a comfortable stay there, and enjoyed their hot spring onsen. Although not very grand nor quaint, but acceptable.

Do expect many tour groups staying at this hotel.

This hotel is at the roadside; they have a sister hotel on hillside, which seems to be in better condition.

The meals include were average buffets, but if you stayed more than one night, they let you din at their sister hotel also -- still buffets, but provided a different selection of foods.

There are some beautiful places nearby to view autumn leafs if you come at the right timing; some locations are within walking distance; of course much more convenience if you have wheels.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank TT_at_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

We usually don't like large scale hotels that mainly cater for big tour groups but Sounkyo Onsen has very limited choices in terms of smaller accommodation. This hotel turns out to be quite decent.
Sounkyo is so small so all hotels are centrally located, the Japanese room we had is large by Japanese standard and offers mountain views, the onsuite is small but I guess most guests use the onsen so it's not an issue, buffet style dinner and breakfast are not top notch but fairly decent in terms of variety and taste, the indoor onsen (3 separate pools) is adequate while the semi outddor rotenboro is quite small. Overall a nice place to stay.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank pchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Good resort nestled in Sounkyo. Great views all around and the food is yummy. They provide free flow of the very popular Hokkaido melon as fruits during dinner! Service is good all around. Very good value for money.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Caravaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Hotels offers free pick up from Sapporo. We didn't know about this until we got to the hotel. When we tried to make reservation on the return they said it is already full. We took JR from Sapporo to Ashikawa station and then bus to Sounkyo. Staff spoke very little English. Make sure to get a room facing the canyon. Room included breakfast and dinner buffet. We only had the dinner as we were out early morning for hikes. Dinner buffet had a variety of dishes but none of them tasted good. My husband had food poising from the food. Hotel needs some updating. They have two onsens alternating male and female. The outdoor Onsen is very nice, looks out to trees.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Agnes032715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews